Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Linux networking and Windows pretending a file is corrupt - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 
Page 1 of 1

Linux networking and Windows pretending a file is corrupt siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh

#1 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:17 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
This morning Windows woke up to complain that C:\windows\system32\pci.sys was missing or corrupt. I confirmed with Oerg and Treeki that it wasn't by doing the md5sum on Linux, and Linux's SMART verifier is saying the drive is healthy (a few bad sectors but I guess that's normal?). I won't be able to try restoring from CD until later tonight, but I think my drive is busted... What's going on here?

This wouldn't really be a problem except for some reason, Linux won't connect to anything on my BCM4312-based wireless unless I successfully boot into Windows and reboot. With the OpenWRT drivers it shows connections but fails to connect; with the official Broadcom drivers it shows no connections. What's going on?

Thanks.
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 26 April 2012 - 09:32 AM

#2 User is offline TmEE 

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:37 AM

  • Watermelons are good stuff
  • Posts: 1701
  • Joined: 06-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Estonia, Rapla City
  • Project:Mélodie, WaveMelon Träkker, bunch o other stahv.
  • Wiki edits:11
bad sectors are never normal... and if one happens to be inside file system you're going to have all kind of fun things happen.
Have you done CHKDSK C: /F /X /R (from some live CD, such as Hiren's Boot CD) ?

#3 User is offline Sik 

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:05 PM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11
I think he meant what SMART reports as bad sectors, I.e. sectors which data was moved to the spare area, not damaged sectors which data has been rendered unrecoverable. Even in a good state hard disk a few sectors (under 10, much less generally) are bound to be bad, simply because the manufacturing process isn't perfect. The problem is when the bad sector count starts increasing =P

#4 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 26 April 2012 - 04:01 PM

  • High fidelity since 1993
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt East-side, Germany
  • Project:MDEM, demoscene stuff, music, coding ...
  • Wiki edits:3
Actually no, a disk verifier never says the drive is "healthy" when at least one bit is not good anymore (I mean the crucial SMART data such as pending sectors, unrecoverable sectors, etc.) ... I think?!

You should post a screenshot of that.
This post has been edited by Oerg866: 26 April 2012 - 04:02 PM

#5 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:12 PM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
ok wtf wired internet doesn't work at all? o_O Oh right I forgot to mention this is a laptop... (Dell Precision M6400)

And the CD drive is busted so I can't run any recovery disks off it... can I run the Windows XP recovery disk from an external drive?

I'll get a new wireless card in the next few days as well, as per GerbilSoft's suggestion in IRC.

It appears I only get a few seconds-a few minutes of wireless on a cold boot directly to Linux.

I can post a screenshot of the SMART status when I figure out how to work with Ubuntu's tool :/

Thanks again.
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 26 April 2012 - 10:13 PM

#6 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 27 April 2012 - 02:57 AM

  • High fidelity since 1993
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt East-side, Germany
  • Project:MDEM, demoscene stuff, music, coding ...
  • Wiki edits:3

View PostAndlabs, on 26 April 2012 - 10:12 PM, said:

And the CD drive is busted so I can't run any recovery disks off it... can I run the Windows XP recovery disk from an external drive?



Depends. Check if your BIOS supports booting from USB-CDROM.

#7 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:17 PM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
...it appears to be magically working again? I don't understand o_O

EDIT ...only for two hours; when I left the room I was in it stopped working :|
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 01 May 2012 - 05:28 PM

#8 User is offline LocalH 

Posted 01 May 2012 - 09:41 PM

  • roxoring your soxors
  • Posts: 3104
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wouldn't you like to know
  • Project:MDEM - Genesis programming stufz
  • Wiki edits:3
Possible power supply/battery issues? I know that's always a thought if I've been dealing with a problem for a while and nothing I throw at it works. A bad power supply can cause weird shit that might even seem like it would be caused by something else.
This post has been edited by LocalH: 01 May 2012 - 09:42 PM

#9 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 02 May 2012 - 12:03 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
I don't know. I did switch power adapters and tried without plugging in to no avail, unless the issue is whatever's wrong with my battery (it sticks out somewhat? IDK). The magic two hours where it did work happened when I booted off battery.

#10 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 02 May 2012 - 06:18 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
It seems to be working again. Cold boot after a few hours of no power from a battery... maybe a cold boot from battery power after several minutes/hours is the ticket? I'm not entirely sure but I'd much like a permanent fix.

Before I leave to get to class I could try installing the Broadcom drivers again...
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 02 May 2012 - 06:18 AM

#11 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 10 May 2012 - 11:47 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
I ordered the card. Until then it looks like wifi will work if I boot on battery at my school, which right now needs a wifi login screen...
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 10 May 2012 - 11:49 AM

#12 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 12 May 2012 - 12:30 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
Installed the Intel card, and now everything works again :)

Now I just need to see if I can fix Windows with an external CD drive... or should I just pay for a new internal one?

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users