Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Wireless adapter help - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 
Page 1 of 1

Wireless adapter help hate these damn things

#1 User is offline Hez 

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:23 PM

  • Asshole
  • Posts: 2481
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
  • Project:Your mother
  • Wiki edits:27
Recently upgraded (hah...if you want to call it that) to fiber. This unfortunately required me to move my router to the basement so it was close to the panel. This forced me to make my desktop wireless. Now here's the problem. I bought a USB Linksys AE2500, and it installed fine. It will work for a random amout of time, and then all of the sudden quit, and jump my CPU usage up to 100%. I REALLY don't want to call customer support, so I figured I'd ask you guys first. Anyone have this problem? I fee like it's conflicting with something else on my system, but I cannot find what it is. THe wireless connection shows up as Connection 6, so maybe that has to do with it? Running 7 X64 bit if that helps too.

EDIT: This is how I've been rolling so far. Adapter works fine as long as I put it in the USB slot after it boots up. Works fine for a bit. Randomly disconnects. If I pull it out of the USB and wait 10 seconds right after the disconnect, it disconnects fine and I can reconnect and work on the internet. Rinse and repeat. Now if I don't pull the adapter out in time, it will still show up in devices, jump my CPU up to 100 percent, and force me to restart. Is this a junk adapter?
This post has been edited by Hez: 24 February 2012 - 10:22 PM

#2 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:58 PM

  • Totally me irl
  • Posts: 2302
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:Cleavage
  • Wiki edits:10
I suggest getting a PCI card. I find them far more reliable than USB adapters when using wireless networking.

#3 User is offline Hez 

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:11 PM

  • Asshole
  • Posts: 2481
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
  • Project:Your mother
  • Wiki edits:27

View PostFlygon, on 24 February 2012 - 10:58 PM, said:

I suggest getting a PCI card. I find them far more reliable than USB adapters when using wireless networking.

I'd love to, but it seems they aren't selling much of those anymore. I guess I could order one online, but I absolutely need the internet for my school work.

#4 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:20 PM

  • Totally me irl
  • Posts: 2302
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:Cleavage
  • Wiki edits:10
I can't see any other real solution that's in my skill set, then. I would recommend giving the local computing enthusiasts shop a call, though. I tend to pick up much of my necessary hardware from one, and they usually have whatever I require in stock (or happily point to stores that do have stock).

#5 User is offline PicklePower 

Posted 25 February 2012 - 01:04 AM

  • Posts: 556
  • Joined: 15-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2,809
Well a quick look at Amazon reviews for your adapter seem to agree that it has its problems. Have you considered just finding one with better reviews?

#6 User is offline Azu 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 06:08 AM

  • I must be stupid.
  • Posts: 1414
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Home
If you need a PCI adapter, Newegg has a few.

http://www.newegg.co...ireless+adapter

#7 User is offline Hez 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 11:27 AM

  • Asshole
  • Posts: 2481
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
  • Project:Your mother
  • Wiki edits:27
I ordered a PCI one. It just makes no sense that it randomly will quit working and just steal all my CPU usage.

#8 User is offline Hendricks 266 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 02:07 PM

  • Posts: 343
  • Joined: 01-June 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
  • Wiki edits:58
Since you are on a desktop, I would recommend getting an extra long Cat5e or Cat6 ethernet cable (100m max) and just running it to your router. It might not be the prettiest but it's worth it for performance for something like online gaming and it saves you the trouble of wireless.
This post has been edited by Hendricks 266: 26 February 2012 - 02:08 PM

#9 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 02:35 PM

  • Что, вы ожидали что-то остроумное?
  • Posts: 13744
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
He might not have the necessary clearance to do so. Lord knows I'd love to have a permanent connection between my Xbox 360 and the main router but with people in the house who are obsessed with surface wiring it ain't happening any time soon =P

#10 User is offline gummyworm 

Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:43 PM

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 01-November 11
  • Gender:Male
There's a solution here!

Hez, have you considered power-line networking? It's a relatively new system, but the connection is as reliable as cat-5 - and even better, there's no need to run long wires. Some adapters allow for gigabit connection speeds - it'd definitely allow you to take FULL advantage of your fiber connection.

If you proceed with this method though, put a password on your network (the included software usually allows for this). it's possible for the connection signal to escape your house's power lines, and move to the GRID O.o

#11 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 24 March 2012 - 01:03 AM

  • Totally me irl
  • Posts: 2302
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:Cleavage
  • Wiki edits:10
I'm skeptical over powerline networking. It's only really effective with newer housing. Older houses tend to have much worse quality cabling, whether due to aging or simply worse materials. This affects the qualify of your network, obviously.

#12 User is offline Hez 

Posted 26 March 2012 - 05:23 PM

  • Asshole
  • Posts: 2481
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
  • Project:Your mother
  • Wiki edits:27
I have not the slightest clue about powerline networking....but I'm interested

#13 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 27 March 2012 - 01:52 PM

  • Что, вы ожидали что-то остроумное?
  • Posts: 13744
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833118166

HomePlug & Powerline are two seperate standards for the same thing - HomePlug is by far the wider supported one.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HomePlug

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users