Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: The MODE button - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

The MODE button the oh so almighty one

#1 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 06:46 PM

  • Posts: 8993
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
I just got an Arcade Power Stick II and noticed that it has the START button on the left side, and the MODE button on its right.

While this initially seemed like a bit of an odd choice (since, in other systems, the START button is usually placed next to the face buttons, for easier access), I just remembered that Dragon Ball Z actually uses it in its gameplay, which hints that SEGA might have encouraged the devs to use it more like an R button rather than the normally useless SELECT.


Thing is, I can't remember any other games that even check for it anywhere. Perhaps you guys know of any examples, even if it's just internal checks for... anything?

#2 User is offline saxman 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:31 PM

  • S2HD Staff - Tools & Assistant Programmer
  • Posts: 2593
  • Joined: 08-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States of America
  • Project:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSkQoKRovEk
  • Wiki edits:136
DOOM uses it. Although it's not written in the manual, you can hold it and press A, B, C, X, Y, Z, or Start to select any one of the seven weapons in the game (assuming of course the player has the weapon of choice).

That's about all I have for you though.

#3 User is offline Meat Miracle 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:43 PM

  • Posts: 1534
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
... where does Dragonball use the Mode button? I've never heard of that. I knew it had a random character select with Y but that was all the 6-button support it had.

There was a game that used Mode button for a cheat code, but I'll be damned if I remember which one.

#4 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:51 PM

  • Posts: 8993
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostMeat Miracle, on 08 February 2012 - 07:43 PM, said:

... where does Dragonball use the Mode button? I've never heard of that.

It's the "run" button. No need to tap the direction twice with it. :)

#5 User is offline Neo Hazard 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 08:04 PM

  • Posts: 495
  • Joined: 04-August 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

View PostICEknight, on 08 February 2012 - 06:46 PM, said:

I just got an Arcade Power Stick II

I had no idea this existed. I have the first Power Stick, but I'll definitely look into getting that one!

As for the Mode button, I've always heard that it was supposed to alternate between having a 3 button and a 6 button setup for certain games that allowed it, but I'm not sure that's totally correct. It may be the case in some instances though.

#6 User is offline toguro max 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 08:22 PM

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location:São Vicente, SP
Fatal Fury 2 used it to taunt.
Some game had problems with the six-button controller, so you could press Mode at the Sega screen to "disable" the X, Y and Z buttons.

#7 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 08:23 PM

  • Posts: 8993
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostNeo Hazard, on 08 February 2012 - 08:04 PM, said:

As for the Mode button, I've always heard that it was supposed to alternate between having a 3 button and a 6 button setup for certain games that allowed it, but I'm not sure that's totally correct.

It always puts the controller in "3-button mode" when you hold it while turning the system on, but since it works with old games I'm guessing that's a hardware controlled feature.

#8 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:58 PM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
Nightmare Circus does; Sik can tell you more.

The issue is that with the way the six-button controllers work, some games read their controllers incorrectly and thus trigger the six button mechanism, or something.. I think David Crane's Amazing Tennis is one of those games, though someone would have to double-check.

#9 User is offline Meat Miracle 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:04 PM

  • Posts: 1534
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Yeah, I remember at least one game that had problems with the 6-button controller.

Also, wasn't it needed for SMS games?

#10 User is offline Sik 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:39 PM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11

View PostICEknight, on 08 February 2012 - 07:51 PM, said:

View PostMeat Miracle, on 08 February 2012 - 07:43 PM, said:

... where does Dragonball use the Mode button? I've never heard of that.

It's the "run" button. No need to tap the direction twice with it. :)
Oh, fuck you.

View PostAndlabs, on 08 February 2012 - 09:58 PM, said:

Nightmare Circus does; Sik can tell you more.
No, I don't, never played it, just saw playthroughs (though I recall the game having full 6-pad support anyways). Though that may be the game using the Mode button as part of a cheat.

View PostMeat Miracle, on 08 February 2012 - 10:04 PM, said:

Also, wasn't it needed for SMS games?
Um, no? The 3-pad itself was designed to be compatible with the SMS controller, after all, and the 6-pad is backwards compatible with the 3-pad, so in turn it's also compatible with the SMS. Though some SMS games fail to work properly even with the 3-pad, in which case you're screwed pretty much.

Back on-topic: Shadow Squadron uses it to switch between first and third person camera. Metal Head also switches the camera with it. UMK3 seems to respond to the Mode button in menus, but it does nothing in gameplay.

#11 User is online Black Squirrel 

Posted 09 February 2012 - 06:25 AM

  • 2 warps to Neptune
  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: 27-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumberland, England
  • Project:Blog Squirrel
  • Wiki edits:20,569
Forgotten Worlds needs it (apparently) because it can't cope with six button controllers.

But I think the clue is in the name - it's main purpose was to switch controller "modes".

#12 User is offline Sik 

Posted 09 February 2012 - 09:42 AM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11
I think this topic is about 6-pad games that use the Mode button for some function in-game, not for games that neeed the 3-pad compatibility mode.

#13 User is offline Meat Miracle 

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:46 AM

  • Posts: 1534
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

View PostSik, on 09 February 2012 - 09:42 AM, said:

I think this topic is about 6-pad games that use the Mode button for some function in-game, not for games that neeed the 3-pad compatibility mode.

I'd be interested in both actually.

#14 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:53 AM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
Never mind what this said before

One of the things I wanted to do was make a table of games by supported accessories; in the case of the six-button pad, there would be Yes, No, and Nonfunctional, and in the case of others it would be Yes and No (I wanted to go with a text list for ease of searching as well).
This post has been edited by Andlabs: 09 February 2012 - 11:55 AM

#15 User is online Black Squirrel 

Posted 09 February 2012 - 12:07 PM

  • 2 warps to Neptune
  • Posts: 2488
  • Joined: 27-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumberland, England
  • Project:Blog Squirrel
  • Wiki edits:20,569
We could definitely use a lot more lists these days for all sorts of accessories or sound drivers or whatever. But that being said, I think Sega Retro needs a system where it can read from the bob template and generate lists on the fly. Maybe creating results like this or something.

This information needs writing down but I'm reluctant to have 382903482103 tables and lists that all need to be manually maintained. I've a feeling they might go out of sync after a while.

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users