Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Alternate debug menu activation for Sonic CD - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 
Page 1 of 1

Alternate debug menu activation for Sonic CD

#1 User is online Flygon 

Posted 20 January 2012 - 11:08 PM

  • Totally me irl
  • Posts: 2296
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:Cleavage
  • Wiki edits:10
The Jackel of Sega-16 requested I post this, due to still being in pending. I've got nothing to do with this, I ran this by GerbilSoft and others via IRC, and this shouldn't have been discovered yet.

Original Sega-16 topic here and a quote below.

Quote

Would love to take credit for this, but I found it on a site: I tested it on real hardware and it works. Debug mode normally can only be accessed via the Sound Test cheat, but this method (which isn't listed on GameFaqs, Sonic Retro or 99% of the web for that matter) allows you to access debug straight away. Plug a pad into the second port, wait for a demo to start playing and then press Start on pad 2 (this can only be done on normal stage demoes, NOT the Special Zone or Intro) - the score tally will turn into the debug digits. Press Start on pad 1 to return to the title screen and start the game - viola - instant and easy debug mode.

http://img834.images...34/5317/333.mp4

Someone Wikifying this would be great, because I'm quite dumb with my ability to shovel things into there without looking like a complete dumbass.

Edit: Media tags don't work on MP4 files, apparently.
This post has been edited by Flygon: 20 January 2012 - 11:15 PM

#2 User is offline Espyo 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:36 AM

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal, Porto, some street
  • Project:A rhythm game - PK Rhythm (https://sourceforge.net/projects/pkrhythm/)
  • Wiki edits:22
Just tried it with Gens, and it works like a charm! This is amazing! It only works in the PAL version though. I tried it in the US version, and it didn't work, though my US version ROM might be a bit broken. The demo for PPZ1 has Sonic moving slow at first, and after the... "3D loop", he just moves outright weirdly. Now, we need to test this on a better US version, if mine is really broken, and we need to test every single port. ...That allows for a 2nd controller, of course. Get to it, lads!
Anyway, if you're in a hurry to get debug mode, you should just use the sound test method, because having to wait for the main menu to timeout, having to cancel the intro video, having to wait for the menu again and finally getting a demo takes a lot longer than just typing it in the sound test. This is of course a preferred method, because one won't have to memorize the correct number sequence.
I'll add it to the wiki's article in a second: Cheat Codes:Sonic the Hedgehog CD

#3 User is offline Endri 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:57 AM

  • Officer I don't have my drivers license with me. Can I give you something else?
  • Posts: 1856
  • Joined: 18-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:São Paulo, Brazil
  • Wiki edits:7
I really wanted to say this is news to me but, after a long time trying to remember it, I think I figured where I read about this before; I had this "game secrets guide" booklet, and it listed this particular trick. Another thing that it listed but I've never seem documented anywhere is for the PC version of Sonic CD. You could write

[DEBUG]
Debug=1

(or something like that) in the .ini file on the main install directory of the game, and it would instantly enable the debug mode.

#4 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 11:23 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3162
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339

View PostEndri, on 21 January 2012 - 10:57 AM, said:

Another thing that it listed but I've never seem documented anywhere is for the PC version of Sonic CD. You could write

[DEBUG]
Debug=1

(or something like that) in the .ini file on the main install directory of the game, and it would instantly enable the debug mode.

It's on the wiki.

#5 User is offline Sik 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 01:50 PM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11

View PostEndri, on 21 January 2012 - 10:57 AM, said:

I really wanted to say this is news to me but, after a long time trying to remember it, I think I figured where I read about this before; I had this "game secrets guide" booklet, and it listed this particular trick.
The 510 proto has a similar way to enable debug mode actually.

#6 User is offline SegaLoco 

Posted 08 February 2012 - 12:09 AM

  • W)(at did you say?
  • Posts: 999
  • Joined: 16-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Corpus Christi, TX
  • Wiki edits:79

View PostSik, on 21 January 2012 - 01:50 PM, said:

View PostEndri, on 21 January 2012 - 10:57 AM, said:

I really wanted to say this is news to me but, after a long time trying to remember it, I think I figured where I read about this before; I had this "game secrets guide" booklet, and it listed this particular trick.
The 510 proto has a similar way to enable debug mode actually.

I was just about to say that actually. In the 510 it would pop a second sonic sprite onto the screen as well (was 2P mode considered at one point? A partner? Nobody knows) but anyway, this method might be a leftover from that early debug setting that sega didn't take out, whether on purpose or on accident remains a mystery :P

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users