Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Best Sonic Generations Settings for 2009 Laptop? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 

Best Sonic Generations Settings for 2009 Laptop? Right Now, It Plays Like a Slideshow

#1 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:00 PM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
So, I took advantage of the sale on Steam and bought Sonic Generations for my PC for ten bucks. It took forever to actually download, but it finally finished. Now I hit a problem.

My computer was a present from when I graduated high school, back in 2009. It's a laptop that worked fairly well playing Portal 2 a while ago, so I figured it would be able to handle Sonic Generations. I'm currently getting about 10 frames per second, it seems like. The animation is insanely choppy, like watching a fairly quick slideshow presentation rather than a video game. I already have the shadow and reflection detail set to low, and antialiasing turned off.

Will turning down the resolution of the game speed things up any? Also, what is VSync and would the game run better with it on or off. When I turned down the detail and antialiasing, I also turned it off, so that might be an issue as well. I don't see a way to play the game in windowed mode, I'm only given widescreen and letterbox for options, and I don't think changing it to letterbox will make a difference. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I've really been looking forward to playing this game. I don't have a PS3/360, and cannot afford buying a new gaming system along with another copy of the game. I would really like for this one to work. Please help me with this.

#2 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:04 PM

  • Mako Retro
  • Posts: 2813
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest, Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:2,193
Could you provide the specifications of your laptop on here? Are you sure it meets the minimum specifications?
Generations is a lot heavier on things compared to Portal 2, so basing that it would work because of another different game entirely isn't a good idea.

#3 User is offline SeanieB 

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:12 PM

  • errno -1 (Not system error)
  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: 26-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Project:Fixing Sonic Retro
  • Wiki edits:12

View PostKharen, on 28 December 2011 - 08:00 PM, said:

So, I took advantage of the sale on Steam and bought Sonic Generations for my PC for ten bucks. It took forever to actually download, but it finally finished. Now I hit a problem.

My computer was a present from when I graduated high school, back in 2009. It's a laptop that worked fairly well playing Portal 2 a while ago, so I figured it would be able to handle Sonic Generations. I'm currently getting about 10 frames per second, it seems like. The animation is insanely choppy, like watching a fairly quick slideshow presentation rather than a video game. I already have the shadow and reflection detail set to low, and antialiasing turned off.

Will turning down the resolution of the game speed things up any? Also, what is VSync and would the game run better with it on or off. When I turned down the detail and antialiasing, I also turned it off, so that might be an issue as well. I don't see a way to play the game in windowed mode, I'm only given widescreen and letterbox for options, and I don't think changing it to letterbox will make a difference. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I've really been looking forward to playing this game. I don't have a PS3/360, and cannot afford buying a new gaming system along with another copy of the game. I would really like for this one to work. Please help me with this.

Turning the resolution down will indeed help.

VSync is a feature that synchronizes the game to your computer's screen refresh rate. Turn it off if you're experiencing slowdown, it's an intensive feature.

I would play in whatever aspect ratio your screen is.

#4 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:18 PM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
Here's what I've got...

Processor: AMD Athlon Dual Core QL-62
Memory (RAM): 2 GB
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G
Gaming Graphics: 895 Available Graphics Memory
Primary Hard Disk: 94 GB Free (222 GB Total)

Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
Model: Compaq Presario CQ60 Notebook PC
Total Amount System Memory: 2.00 GB RAM
System Type: 32-Bit Operating System
Number of Processor Cores: 2
64-Bit Capable: Yes

Display Adaptor Type: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G
Total available Graphics Memory: 895 MB
Dedicated Graphics Memory: 256 MB
Dedicated System Memory: 0 MB
Shared System Memory: 639 MB
Primary Monitor Resolution: 1366x768
DirectX Version: DirectX 10

Any information I'm missing? It took a little bit to figure out where this information was.

#5 User is offline Josh 

Posted 28 December 2011 - 10:26 PM

  • YRG Warrior
  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: 22-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Wiki edits:1
I haven't heard of any way to mod Generations' settings beyond what the config allows you to do. I was able to turn on antiscopic filtering in my Catalyst settings, so maybe you could go through a similar tool and try to force some things off? Turn everything down as low as it goes, try playing in a smaller resolution... that's about the best you can do.

And since people always seem to recommend this (though I've always noticed very little difference), try turning the processes' priority up to highest in the task manager. Couldn't hurt,I s'pose.

Generations is VERY graphics-intensive. It's the only game I've been able to throw at my new computer that DOESN'T run perfectly at the highest settings, so I can only imagine what it must be like on a laptop.

#6 User is offline Sonicandtails 

Posted 29 December 2011 - 12:40 AM

  • Posts: 244
  • Joined: 05-December 07
  • Gender:Male
Game runs fine for me until the shader effects start to happen from gaining speed. It's not a huge fps drop, but then when it's happening near waterfalls I absolutely plummet to 5fps range until I get out of the area or stop moving fast.

#7 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 29 December 2011 - 05:01 PM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
Well, I have absolutely everything on the lowest possible settings under the Video tab, and I don't know if it's wishful thinking to the point to a placebo effect or not, but turning off the setting for the data-gathering upload thing seemed to get me just enough of an FPS that it's not so much a rapid slideshow as much as a slow guided tour of the levels. You know the level design is really good when you're still enjoying a casual stroll through the levels instead of blazing through them like normal. My first Sonic game was Sonic CD for the computer, and it didn't run at the correct speed. I never noticed this because I had never played a Sonic game before and didn't know how fast he was supposed to be running. I had thought the game just played like an unbelievably massive Mario clone, and enjoyed it as such. This game is nostalgic now for more reasons than the developers intended. The "bad" graphics aren't even a turn-off either. I don't have a system more advanced than a Wii or PlayStation 2, and this is still better than anything they can play (for the most part.)

So far, I've finished Sky Sanctuary, and need to get the challenges complete to obtain the boss key. The speed's nearly tolerable, so I'm still having a fairly good time. I haven't been replaying levels, though. I think I'll save that for when I get a better computer. (I'm a college student, and eternally broke, so fat chance on that happening anytime in the near future.) Steam lets you install the game on more than one computer, right? It would really suck to have to re-purchase the game just to be able to play it the correct way.

Still, if anybody knows any more settings I can set to squeeze a few more FPS out of this, whether it be from a 3rd party tool or anything, I would really appreciate it. I wouldn't mind getting a bit more excitement out of this rather than just nostalgia kicking in really hard. (God, I love Sky Sanctuary!) My only complaint is that there should have been more boss battles. I wouldn't mind a revisit on Eggman's normal mechs/weapons as boss battles for the individual Zones. It's weird having played through three of them and not getting to kick any ass yet.

#8 User is offline Josh 

Posted 29 December 2011 - 05:47 PM

  • YRG Warrior
  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: 22-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Wiki edits:1
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

Give that tool a try. I had some good luck with it on TF2 when I was on my old laptop.

And yes, you can install and play any game you've bought on any computer. Many, Generations included, have "Steam Cloud" synchronization, meaning in this case that your save file will automatically transfer over, too.

#9 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 30 December 2011 - 01:31 AM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
Um... Problem.

I downloaded the program you recommended, turned it on, and it didn't help at all. When I was done, it turned off, and then EVERY SINGLE background process it shut down for me came up, not as background processes anymore, but as a massive flood of windows. After turning them all off, I noticed that my WiFi connection was turned off as well, and (here's the issue), it wouldn't come back. I had to completely restart my computer, and even then, it took about three to four times longer to reconnect, to where all my typical programs that use the WiFi connection (Steam, Skype, etc.) started complaining that there was no internet.

I had downloaded the recommended computer-care package that came up when I downloaded the game booster, and ran that beforehand, so I'm not sure if it was one of the two or even which one. Has anybody else had the same problems with the program?


*NOTE TO MODERATORS*
I apologize that this topic is starting to turn into more of a computer care/maintenance topic rather than a Sonic one. I simply want to figure out a problem that came up from trying to get my Sonic Generations game to work. I swear, this is as far off-topic as this thread will go, so please don't get upset with me for this.

#10 User is offline Sonicandtails 

Posted 30 December 2011 - 05:16 AM

  • Posts: 244
  • Joined: 05-December 07
  • Gender:Male
Whoa. I can confirm that turning off the Analytics fixed my framerate issues when running past waterfalls. WHY THIS MAKES SENSE I DO NOT KNOW.

#11 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 30 December 2011 - 03:10 PM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
If I had to guess, I would have to say that it's sending information in real-time while you're playing the game, so having it turned off lets the computer focus that little bit more on actually working the game rather than dealing with additional information and sending it in. I am kind of curious as to what kind of information it's sending, though.

#12 User is offline Biofrost 

Posted 30 December 2011 - 10:37 PM

  • Environment artist at Sony Bend
  • Posts: 305
  • Joined: 27-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana
  • Project:Secret
There is not much else you can do with the FPS I'm afraid. The 8200M is very low end for laptop graphics card s and is not really meant for gaming but more for web browsing. My best suggestion(besides saving for a new pc or laptop) is just turn off as much stuff running in the background as possible.(When looking for a new laptop be sure the graphics card is in the 200m-500m as those are for gamning and other graphic intense programs)

#13 User is offline Kharen 

Posted 31 December 2011 - 01:42 AM

  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 29-October 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane Community College - Newport IEL
Well, it's playable at any rate. My only concern are brief periods when it gets so bad that it can't process some of my button presses. Sometimes, I'll try to use a Homing Attack, Sonic won't do it, and I'll fly right past my target into a bottomless pit. Honestly, the only really difficult time I had so far was the Perfect Chaos "boss fight" (At least, I didn't think of it as a boss battle so much an a glorified extra stage). I lost at least 7 lives just because Sonic wouldn't home in on the springs and launchers.

At least I have something to look forward to. Once I get something with a good enough graphics card that I can up the detail and the antialiasing, and still get good FPS, this game's going to feel brand new. Add in my DS's homebrew wireless PC controller program, and this is going to be absolute gold. Unfortunately, by then the next three or four Sonic games will have come out.

#14 User is offline Mad Echidna 

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:50 PM

  • Gone
  • Posts: 5217
  • Joined: 13-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
It runs brilliantly on my laptop, never dropped frames except for the well known CPZ lag. Weird thing is though, when I try to record my gameplay with FRAPS the video ends up being like 2 fps even though when I'm playing and recording it looks fine.

#15 User is offline SeanieB 

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:59 PM

  • errno -1 (Not system error)
  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: 26-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Project:Fixing Sonic Retro
  • Wiki edits:12

View PostMad Echidna, on 10 January 2012 - 10:50 PM, said:

It runs brilliantly on my laptop, never dropped frames except for the well known CPZ lag. Weird thing is though, when I try to record my gameplay with FRAPS the video ends up being like 2 fps even though when I'm playing and recording it looks fine.

Might have something to do with the laptop hard drive, Try turning on FRAPS' half resolution setting and scale it up in a video editor.

Also, FRAPS video takes a huge amount of horse power to play, the video might actually be harder on your machine than the game was if you play it back on something that doesn't use the GPU to play it.
This post has been edited by SeanieB: 10 January 2012 - 11:00 PM

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users