Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic CD (2011) Post-Release Bugs/Fixes/Suggestions - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 34 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic CD (2011) Post-Release Bugs/Fixes/Suggestions

#301 User is offline gold lightning 

Posted 06 February 2012 - 12:21 AM

  • Posts: 425
  • Joined: 23-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
103

View PostSonict, on 05 February 2012 - 10:37 PM, said:

View PostTets, on 24 January 2012 - 02:44 PM, said:

So the game is perfectly playable on my PC, but I'm still bothered by hideous scaling errors in some places. It's most noticeable in the pause menu, but also happens with all of the splash screens before the game starts proper as well as the leaderboard screen (in addition to the achievements, which I have captured at the above link). I'm assuming it's a case of outdated graphics hardware or drivers (or both), but it really annoys me because everything else renders perfectly, right down to the pixels! I'm assuming this is an inconsistency introduced by the PC port team, what I want to know is if I can fix it. Since I'm running such outdated hardware I can't reasonably hope for a patch, so I'm hoping I can do something myself.


This is exactly my issue with the game. I'm on an ASUS W3V laptop here and it has a Mobility Radeon X600 graphics card. I can't see how this issue can't be fixed.

I also have a severe issue when I try to beat the game... The video decides to play at 1 FPS and the Sonic CD process eats up all of the CPU at a super high priority and thus takes a long long time to open up task manager to close it. Otherwise, the port is pretty nice for me.


I have this same issue. However it doesn't bother me because I know my graphics card sucks ass. I kind of expected things to not be at their best on my pc. How I get through the intro and ending is to constantly press enter until it finally registers it (which usually takes just a few seconds).

One unrelated thing I found might possibly be an oversight. When in Time Attack mode, water does not effect time at all in the Special Stages. It might be intentional, but I don't see why it would be. That is, unless the original game did the same thing.
This post has been edited by gold lightning: 06 February 2012 - 12:23 AM

#302 User is offline RedMetallix 

Posted 06 February 2012 - 02:41 AM

  • Supreme Thunder
  • Posts: 630
  • Joined: 22-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A desk.
  • Project:What? Don't be silly.
  • Wiki edits:7
Thats how it worked in the original game, so yes, its intentional.

#303 User is offline Beedlee 

Posted 06 February 2012 - 12:10 PM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 29-January 12
I recently found this (completely useless) glitch on my first playthrough of the PC version, which traps you in the middle of the level. It's easy enough to pull off, and I couldn't find any other examples of it. No idea if it's doable same in the original version either.



#304 User is offline Samba-boy 

Posted 06 February 2012 - 05:08 PM

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 03-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Den Bosch, The Netherlands

View Postashthedragon, on 17 December 2011 - 12:28 PM, said:

I play the android version, on my father's Samsung Galaxy 2. This happens:

Posted Image

Posted Image

The game is unplayable since tidal tempest. The water has no transparency at all. Also, when you stay underwater and don't move for a few seconds, the level restarts itself, making you lose a life ( but no drowning or death sound, it just restarts itself) The photos are from past zones, but this happens everywhere, not just in past, even in the main screen ( I cant't see CW logo! :( )

Posted Image

Also, at first, there was sound only in videos, like Infiniti said, but I fixed that turning silence mode on (as strange that sounds).

I'm very glad to see that I'm not the only one having this issue with the game.

May I ask: Have you pirated the game? Because yes, I have actually pirated the Android version of the game for my Samsung Galaxy S Plus. I bought it already for PSN, 360, PC etcetera, but because of the downloading-problems on Android I thought to save myself a lot of trouble and cursing, downloading the files I needed via 4shared. I made up to it though, by getting another copy to give away via Steam. However, after downloading all the extra data on my SGS+ and starting up the game, the splash screens didn't work (Not even the SEGA-logo, although I did hear the sound of it and saw some animated star(?)). The title screen and basically EVERYTHING in the menus and ingame using graphics is visually messed up, and yes, I can't play further than Tidal Tempest either, since the water isn't transparent, as you already said.

Is this all because I haven't bought the game officially? If so, that's one hell of a good copy-protector. If not... Then here are some caps that may help out with developing this otherwise wonderful game. Oh sh... My apologies already for the size of these images, these are screengrabs coming directly from my smartphone.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#305 User is offline HEDGESMFG 

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:30 AM

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 15-January 12
  • Gender:Male
So while I hate to be "That guy" and ask, is there any given timetable for when we might get a patch? I certainly appreciate that taxman has been taking the time to take our feedback into account, but I hope this means SEGA's going to seriously patch this game in the not too distant future. It's borderline perfection, but fixing a few kinks would still be nice.

Losing some of the good methods I had for time travel (especially the conveyor belt bouncing in Quartz Quadrant) hurts. It'd be great to see this amoung the things that's fixed.

I felt like there were a few other points where time travel didn't work as easily as it did in previous versions. Obviously, this version is using the slightly longer time required to activate it (like on the Mega CD), rather than the shortened PC/Gems collection version, but still...

Also, why is it not possible to insert a "change music" option in the pause menu? This would mean we could just pause and switch whenever we wanted our custom soundtrack. Not quite a full customizable feature, but it'd work well enough. I know the US soundtrack was added at the very last minute (and I am eternally greatful it not only made it in, but that you guys mixed the old tracks with parts from the superb Sonic Boom version of the ost!) I would believe this is something a patch could help.

#306 User is offline Machenstein 

Posted 29 February 2012 - 10:31 PM

  • Posts: 816
  • Joined: 17-August 07
  • Gender:Male
Sorry for the huge bump, but I was just playing Sonic CD tonight when I came up with an idea that would allow the player to play through the game without worrying about time travel.

Sonic 3's data select feature.

Here's how it would work. You would start a new data which gives you all bad futures by default unless you collect the Time Stones. If you beat the game with all of the Time Stones, however, your save data will allow you to play through the entire game again with the Time Stones you previously collected, giving you all good futures on your second playthrough. It would work exactly the same as the Chaos Emeralds did in Sonic 3 which allowed you to go Super at the beginning of the game after getting the Emeralds on your first playthrough.
This post has been edited by Machenstein: 29 February 2012 - 10:31 PM

#307 User is offline Master Emerald 

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:14 PM

  • Posts: 2870
  • Joined: 14-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
  • Project:College
  • Wiki edits:22
Thats a nice idea! As if the person used that save on the Time Attack we could play GF zones on the time attack!

#308 User is offline Puto 

Posted 02 March 2012 - 05:14 PM

  • Shin'ichi Kudō, detective.
  • Posts: 2002
  • Joined: 31-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal, Oeiras
  • Project:Part of Team Megamix, but haven't done any actual work in ages.
  • Wiki edits:51

View PostMachenstein, on 29 February 2012 - 10:31 PM, said:

Sorry for the huge bump, but I was just playing Sonic CD tonight when I came up with an idea that would allow the player to play through the game without worrying about time travel.

Sonic 3's data select feature.

Here's how it would work. You would start a new data which gives you all bad futures by default unless you collect the Time Stones. If you beat the game with all of the Time Stones, however, your save data will allow you to play through the entire game again with the Time Stones you previously collected, giving you all good futures on your second playthrough. It would work exactly the same as the Chaos Emeralds did in Sonic 3 which allowed you to go Super at the beginning of the game after getting the Emeralds on your first playthrough.

You can pretty much do this already if you start your saved game with all time stones, exit, go to the level select, and start on any zone. You'll keep all the time stones you had.

#309 User is offline ToxicAtom 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:35 PM

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 20-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:that wierd town in florida that sounds like a first level: spring hill
  • Project:Something Crappy You Probably Don't Care About.
a few minor things with the Mobile version
- the Game Over screen lasts roughly 8 seconds AFTER the Game Over music ends, for a total of 20 seconds of staring faliure in the face.
- the "skip warp" option is not present
- the "running out of oxygen!" theme won't play, insted, the bubbles make the "underwater reminder" chime.
- at the very opening (the part where sonic is half-covered in shadow) the shadow is the same "navy blue-esque" color of the sky on the title screen
- the spotlights of stardust speedway don't flash between white and yellow while moving, instead, they remain yellow while moving
- if you answer a call/message/whatever alert, the game will do one of two things:
a. close the game without pausing it, so when I open it again I don't have much time to react to whatever I was previously doing
b. continue running during the message/whatever, although automaticallly pausing. when the game comes back up, it takes ~5 seconds to respond to input.

and for the few of us with the Sony Xperia Play phone (fuck yeah), we'd like to see an option to use physical button controls, and hide the touch-screen ones. it sorta defeats the purpouse of a full slide-out gamepad.

EDIT: Appears I put "iOS" inn there. changed to "Mobile", since both builds have these glitches. also, I added a few new ones I've noticed
This post has been edited by ToxicAtom: 03 March 2012 - 04:45 PM

#310 User is offline Mystical Ninja 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 12:36 PM

  • For old time's sake.
  • Posts: 3320
  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Castle, Delaware
  • Project:Nothing that concerns this place in the least.
  • Wiki edits:282

View PostToxicAtom, on 03 March 2012 - 04:35 PM, said:

- the "running out of oxygen!" theme won't play

I don't think there was ever one to begin with. At least not in Sonic CD.

#311 User is offline SpeedStarTMQ 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 12:39 PM

  • Posts: 2154
  • Joined: 20-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, England
  • Project:Playing Wii U - ADD ME.
  • Wiki edits:5

View PostMystical Ninja, on 05 March 2012 - 12:36 PM, said:

View PostToxicAtom, on 03 March 2012 - 04:35 PM, said:

- the "running out of oxygen!" theme won't play

I don't think there was ever one to begin with. At least not in Sonic CD.

Bang on. There wasn't ever one. Saddened, because they should have made a new one for the rerelease. Drowning just isn't as scary!

#312 User is offline Dan Lioneye 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 01:32 PM

  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

View PostSpeedStarTMQ, on 05 March 2012 - 12:39 PM, said:

View PostMystical Ninja, on 05 March 2012 - 12:36 PM, said:

View PostToxicAtom, on 03 March 2012 - 04:35 PM, said:

- the "running out of oxygen!" theme won't play

I don't think there was ever one to begin with. At least not in Sonic CD.

Bang on. There wasn't ever one. Saddened, because they should have made a new one for the rerelease. Drowning just isn't as scary!


True, there wasn't the classic impending drowning music, but there was however a "countdown" sfx in the original Sonic CD that would play as you were about to drown.

#313 User is offline SpeedStarTMQ 

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:18 PM

  • Posts: 2154
  • Joined: 20-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, England
  • Project:Playing Wii U - ADD ME.
  • Wiki edits:5
Yeah that's rght, it makes a ticking sound when the number counts down... I suppose silent impending death can be as hitting, but even now when I'm drowning in a Sonic game I feel the urge to get straight out the water. It's not enough for Sonic team that drowning is an incredibly scary and horrible way to go in real life. I'd much rather be shot or something.

Anyway, a bit more on topic- does anyone complete the game and the ending credits to get a black screen with music playing in the background on the iPod version? Me and my brother both randomly experience it- you just need to exit and open up again, but it's very annoying.
This post has been edited by SpeedStarTMQ: 05 March 2012 - 03:19 PM

#314 User is offline NioZero 

Posted 16 April 2012 - 08:25 PM

  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 21-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chile
  • Project:Tornado Sky Fighters
  • Wiki edits:5
Hello

A friend of mine bought the game on steam and cannot run it in his notebook. The game showed this image.

Posted Image

This is the full error
Spoiler


By the error I suppose is something related to DirectX or something missing. Are there something that need to be installed before?
This post has been edited by NioZero: 16 April 2012 - 08:25 PM

#315 User is offline ashthedragon 

Posted 16 April 2012 - 08:50 PM

  • Dragon Team
  • Posts: 1113
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Spain
  • Project:Sonic Paradise & Sonic Ages

View PostSamba-boy, on 06 February 2012 - 05:08 PM, said:

View Postashthedragon, on 17 December 2011 - 12:28 PM, said:

I play the android version, on my father's Samsung Galaxy 2. This happens:

Posted Image

Posted Image

The game is unplayable since tidal tempest. The water has no transparency at all. Also, when you stay underwater and don't move for a few seconds, the level restarts itself, making you lose a life ( but no drowning or death sound, it just restarts itself) The photos are from past zones, but this happens everywhere, not just in past, even in the main screen ( I cant't see CW logo! :( )

Posted Image

Also, at first, there was sound only in videos, like Infiniti said, but I fixed that turning silence mode on (as strange that sounds).

I'm very glad to see that I'm not the only one having this issue with the game.

May I ask: Have you pirated the game? Because yes, I have actually pirated the Android version of the game for my Samsung Galaxy S Plus. I bought it already for PSN, 360, PC etcetera, but because of the downloading-problems on Android I thought to save myself a lot of trouble and cursing, downloading the files I needed via 4shared. I made up to it though, by getting another copy to give away via Steam. However, after downloading all the extra data on my SGS+ and starting up the game, the splash screens didn't work (Not even the SEGA-logo, although I did hear the sound of it and saw some animated star(?)). The title screen and basically EVERYTHING in the menus and ingame using graphics is visually messed up, and yes, I can't play further than Tidal Tempest either, since the water isn't transparent, as you already said.

Is this all because I haven't bought the game officially? If so, that's one hell of a good copy-protector. If not... Then here are some caps that may help out with developing this otherwise wonderful game. Oh sh... My apologies already for the size of these images, these are screengrabs coming directly from my smartphone.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


The graphics glitches are exactly the same as mine, but I did buy the game legally, so I hardly doubt it is a copy protection...

  • 34 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users