Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 321 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 319
  • 320
  • 321
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) Generations Cracked wide open (Custom Levels are an ongoing event!

#4801 User is offline Chaos Hedgie 

Posted 14 January 2018 - 05:37 AM

  • It ain't ever my business, though
  • Posts: 1801
  • Joined: 18-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flint, MI
  • Wiki edits:53
EDIT: Whoops forgot I posted this earlier...trash this
This post has been edited by Chaos Hedgie: 11 February 2018 - 08:44 AM

#4802 User is offline Caped Baldy 

Posted 02 February 2018 - 08:37 PM

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-January 18
Anyone know how to switch models i.e. swapping Classic Sonic out with Shadow?
This post has been edited by Caped Baldy: 02 February 2018 - 10:06 PM

#4803 User is offline QuirkyKirk 

Posted 05 February 2018 - 10:45 AM

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 14-June 17

View PostCaped Baldy, on 02 February 2018 - 08:37 PM, said:

Anyone know how to switch models i.e. swapping Classic Sonic out with Shadow?

The SCHG for Generations should help.
Though for your specific question and example, Shadow's model files are in the BB2 folder, stored in shadow.ar.00. Classic Sonic's are in BB3, stored in SonicClassic.ar.00 and SonicClassic.ar.01. It should be a matter of just swapping them out once you have them unpacked and put into a modloader folder.
Even as a fellow trial member, I can offer you some advice to avoid wasting any precious trial posts on questions that are easily answered.
Lurk more often, and remember to check the SCHG for the game you want to mod. Also, search the topic to see if your question's already answered.

#4804 User is offline Chaos Hedgie 

Posted 11 February 2018 - 06:04 AM

  • It ain't ever my business, though
  • Posts: 1801
  • Joined: 18-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flint, MI
  • Wiki edits:53


Any clue on how to do this? I've been searching the topic and I haven't found any luck. Any way to force the Super Sonic skill into boss fights?
This post has been edited by Overlord: 11 February 2018 - 01:17 PM
Reason for edit: Use plain URL, remove s from https, don't use media tags

#4805 User is offline Venom Snake 

Posted 09 May 2018 - 09:09 AM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 02-February 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey, USA
Hello, sorry if a bit of a bad bump, but I was wondering if there's anyway to uncap the framerate in Generations? I wanted to try seeing if the game could run 144fps without a whole lot of issues after being able to do it in Lost World. Has anyone even attempted it? All I found was one YouTube video that actually just has the game running at 72fps but doubled when video rendering.
Is there even anything that can be hex edited regarding the framerate?

#4806 User is offline Chris Highwind 

Posted 12 May 2018 - 01:59 PM

  • Posts: 2029
  • Joined: 30-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mooresville, NC
  • Project:Slacking
  • Wiki edits:13
So today I decided to try and see if I could port Unleashed's score/rank/HUD system into Generations, but looking into the exe file left me so lost and confused that I felt I was in over my head due to having no reverse engineering experience and minimal C++ experience. I'm not sure where to even begin with this because there's just so much code that I can't make heads or tails of.

#4807 User is offline Skyth 

Posted 15 May 2018 - 03:36 AM

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 09-October 14
  • Gender:Male

View PostVenom Snake, on 09 May 2018 - 09:09 AM, said:

Hello, sorry if a bit of a bad bump, but I was wondering if there's anyway to uncap the framerate in Generations? I wanted to try seeing if the game could run 144fps without a whole lot of issues after being able to do it in Lost World. Has anyone even attempted it? All I found was one YouTube video that actually just has the game running at 72fps but doubled when video rendering.
Is there even anything that can be hex edited regarding the framerate?

Yes, it is possible.

This is the address of FPS value in the executable: 0x12FA938 (19900728 in decimal)
It's a float, so for example, for 120 FPS you have to replace it with 00 00 F0 42
Be careful though, when you increase it to, like, 120 FPS, a ridiculous amount of input delay comes into play.

#4808 User is offline Venom Snake 

Posted 15 May 2018 - 11:06 AM

  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 02-February 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey, USA

View PostSkyth, on 15 May 2018 - 03:36 AM, said:

View PostVenom Snake, on 09 May 2018 - 09:09 AM, said:

Hello, sorry if a bit of a bad bump, but I was wondering if there's anyway to uncap the framerate in Generations? I wanted to try seeing if the game could run 144fps without a whole lot of issues after being able to do it in Lost World. Has anyone even attempted it? All I found was one YouTube video that actually just has the game running at 72fps but doubled when video rendering.
Is there even anything that can be hex edited regarding the framerate?

Yes, it is possible.

This is the address of FPS value in the executable: 0x12FA938 (19900728 in decimal)
It's a float, so for example, for 120 FPS you have to replace it with 00 00 F0 42
Be careful though, when you increase it to, like, 120 FPS, a ridiculous amount of input delay comes into play.

thank you! I tried this out and it worked, although I wouldn't really call it input delay (except for the menus, they are super laggy), it's more like the controller input is completely ignored at what seems to be random. I wonder what causes that issue?

  • 321 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 319
  • 320
  • 321
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users