Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic 4 Episode I PS3 prototype - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 

Sonic 4 Episode I PS3 prototype

#1 User is offline Techokami 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 09:36 AM

  • For use only on NTSC Genesis systems
  • Posts: 1051
  • Joined: 19-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HoleNet!
  • Project:Sonic Edge
  • Wiki edits:63
RADIES AND GENTERMON
Here is a new Japanese prototype of Sonic 4 Episode 1. This time, it's on the PS3!


EDIT: For people who don't know how to read video descriptions, I did not obtain this proto. A friend of mine with a debug PS3 did, and he was the one that made the video. DON'T ASK FOR THE PROTO YOU CHUCKLEFUCKS, I DON'T HAVE IT
This post has been edited by Techokami: 13 February 2011 - 09:48 AM

#2 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 09:44 AM

  • Mako Retro
  • Posts: 2813
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest, Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:2,193
Wow, this is fucking hilarious yet bad at the same time. If you are able to answer this question, how were you able to get this?

EDIT: Didn't read the YouTube description. A video is good enough.
This post has been edited by SOTI: 13 February 2011 - 09:45 AM

#3 User is offline Afti 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:17 AM

  • ORIGINAL MACHINE
  • Posts: 3521
  • Joined: 08-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:336
Oh wow.

Sega is so dumb. They are really dumb. For real.

Could your friend dump this, or would that lead to Bad Things?

to clarify: I know he can't release it, but can you use the debug consoles to dump an executable, for data preservation?
This post has been edited by Afti: 13 February 2011 - 10:19 AM

#4 User is offline MathUser 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:19 AM

  • 3rd top wiki contributor
  • Posts: 1877
  • Joined: 09-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:14,865
QUOTE (Techokami @ Feb 13 2011, 08:36 AM)
RADIES AND GENTERMON
Here is a new Japanese prototype of Sonic 4 Episode 1. This time, it's on the PS3!


EDIT: For people who don't know how to read video descriptions, I did not obtain this proto. A friend of mine with a debug PS3 did, and he was the one that made the video. DON'T ASK FOR THE PROTO YOU CHUCKLEFUCKS, I DON'T HAVE IT

This post has been edited by MathUser: 13 February 2011 - 10:20 AM

#5 User is offline evilhamwizard 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:21 AM

  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:109
If he has a debug PS3, he probably has access to some kind of PartnerNet equivalent on PSN (I wouldn't know). Chances are they still have the old version up there, so there's one possibility.

Leaking it would be difficult because I'm sure they tag the PKG with evidence of the user who downloaded the file. That, and I'm not sure anyone's ever leaked anything from Sony's PartnerNet equivalent if it exists.

But I'm sure that it's not that much different from the two prototypes we have now.

#6 User is offline JaxTH 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:23 AM

  • Pudding Deity
  • Posts: 5872
  • Joined: 29-March 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles
  • Project:Jack shit.
  • Wiki edits:2
So now we have footage of the protos for every system.

Cool.
This post has been edited by JaxTH: 13 February 2011 - 10:24 AM

#7 User is offline Skyler 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:34 AM

  • Posts: 2925
  • Joined: 26-January 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sacramento, CA
  • Wiki edits:136
That's awesome, we now have 3 prototypes in such a short amount of time.

LOL CAN YOU GIMME THIS ONE specialed.png
This post has been edited by Overlord: 13 February 2011 - 01:27 PM

#8 User is offline Techokami 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 11:24 AM

  • For use only on NTSC Genesis systems
  • Posts: 1051
  • Joined: 19-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HoleNet!
  • Project:Sonic Edge
  • Wiki edits:63
He won't release it, because doing so would get many other people (including himself) in deep trouble not just with SEGA, but with Sony.

Be glad we at least got a video.

#9 User is offline Afti 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 11:52 AM

  • ORIGINAL MACHINE
  • Posts: 3521
  • Joined: 08-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:336
My question was a practical one- can the debug consoles dump an executable which could be run on retail machines, or is this effectively lost when this guy's debug console dies? I understand he can't release it; I'm wondering if any kind of data preservation measure is viable and won't get anyone sued.

#10 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 01:26 PM

  • Что, вы ожидали что-то остроумное?
  • Posts: 13698
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
I've merged in the PS3 posts from the Wii thread and trashed the irrelevant posts from this one.

#11 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 01:47 PM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 5056
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (Techokami @ Feb 13 2011, 08:24 AM)
He won't release it, because doing so would get many other people (including himself) in deep trouble not just with SEGA, but with Sony.

Be glad we at least got a video.


Bah, I'm sure SONY has got other problems to worry about then some guy with an outdated prototype. SEGA may make a big deal...but then again, after the hordes of leaks that came out for this game they seem to care more about getting feedback then issuing C&Ds everywhere.

Can other people still get this through certain means? or is this guy the only one left with this?

#12 User is offline Techokami 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 01:58 PM

  • For use only on NTSC Genesis systems
  • Posts: 1051
  • Joined: 19-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HoleNet!
  • Project:Sonic Edge
  • Wiki edits:63
QUOTE (Afti @ Feb 13 2011, 09:52 AM)
My question was a practical one- can the debug consoles dump an executable which could be run on retail machines, or is this effectively lost when this guy's debug console dies? I understand he can't release it; I'm wondering if any kind of data preservation measure is viable and won't get anyone sued.

Oh, he has the binary backed up. But it still requires a debugger console to run. It IS possible to convert a retail PS3 into a debugger PS3... but that requires necromancy, I hear.

#13 User is offline Sparks 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 02:00 PM

  • Posts: 2495
  • Joined: 27-June 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Gold's Curse
  • Wiki edits:21
This is interesting; is there a list of differences in this proto, or is the only difference the console?

(the description said it's mostly the same, just curious if there -is- some difference)
This post has been edited by Sparks: 13 February 2011 - 02:01 PM

#14 User is offline Afti 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 02:01 PM

  • ORIGINAL MACHINE
  • Posts: 3521
  • Joined: 08-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:336
Hmm...

Can debug executables be run if the signature check is disabled on a retail machine?

#15 User is offline SegaLoco 

Posted 13 February 2011 - 02:11 PM

  • W)(at did you say?
  • Posts: 999
  • Joined: 16-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Corpus Christi, TX
  • Wiki edits:79
QUOTE (Afti @ Feb 13 2011, 01:01 PM)
Hmm...

Can debug executables be run if the signature check is disabled on a retail machine?

I'm sure the best place for info like this would be ASSEMblerGames as they trade test and debug PS3 units around there all the time. Personally, all I have for PS3 is three versions of the debugger, some internal docs about JIG IDs, and other miscellaneous documents. It'd be cool if we could get this out in some form (even if it's a butchered form like Zelda OoT debug's conversion to the "Legend of Debug" 32MB version :P)

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users