Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Who Can Test On Hardware? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 7 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Who Can Test On Hardware?

#46 User is offline Eric Wright 

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:22 PM

  • Born into this.
  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: 20-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newtrogic High Zone
  • Wiki edits:12
I have:
24Mbit Super Magic Drive
64Mbit ToToTek flash cart (no 32x support ;_; )

I have mutliple different version NTSC USA Genesis consoles (models 1, 2, and 3, plus nomad). My Sega CD2 can read CDRs, as well as my Saturn (also modded for NTSC and PAL, USA/EUR/JAP)

I also have a Super UFO 8 for SNES, though I can't imagine there's much snes coding done here ;)

I'm sure there are enough people here who frequent the forum more than I, but feel free to contact me on AIM or email if necessary

#47 User is offline Chilly Willy 

Posted 22 October 2011 - 01:53 AM

  • Posts: 746
  • Joined: 10-April 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Doom 32X

View PostEric Wright, on 19 October 2011 - 08:22 PM, said:

64Mbit ToToTek flash cart (no 32x support ;_; )


Is that the MD-Pro 64? If so, it works fine with the 32X. I use ucon64 to write to my MD-Pro 64, and have played all kinds of 32X games on it.

#48 User is offline Tamkis 

Posted 22 October 2011 - 11:03 AM

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 19-November 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Megaman 2: The Robotnik Wars, Unnamed S3&K hack
  • Wiki edits:16
I have all three Sega Mega Family consoles, all which are US NTSC. Specifically, I have a Model 2 Genesis, a 32x (FW unknown), and a Model 2 Sega CD with FW 2.00. Since I don't have a flashcart yet, currently, I can only test Sega CD hacks/homebrew and Sega CD-32x hacks/homebrew, since I know how to and can burn playable CD-Rs. I also have a Sega CD BRAM cart, which is extremely rare, and which is in working condition. Email me if you would like me to test your Sega CD/Sega CD-32x hack/homebrew on US NTSC hardware.

Posted Image

#49 User is offline The Game Collector 

Posted 05 February 2012 - 12:30 AM

  • Posts: 829
  • Joined: 24-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State, USA
  • Project:Being Ted Narcotic's bass player; working on Kelly Kristjanson's tape archive; collecting video games
The Everdrive MD has been out for quite a while now and I realized that Sonic 3 & Knuckles will not save data because something in the header of each rom is supposed to tell the Everdrive that the game saves data. Almost all Genesis games already have that flag in the header, so nothing usually has to be done. Since Sonic 3 & Knuckles uses Sonic & Knuckles for the header rather than Sonic 3, this flag is not there to tell the Everdrive MD to access its save function. What has to be done to hack the header to make it notice this? What kind of program would we need to use to make a fixed rom for everyone who is buying this particular flash cart? Many, many people would be thankful if one of us at Sonic Retro could provide a fixed rom for them so either giving me instructions on how to do it or somebody else just going "oh that's easy" and doing it really quick would be great.

#50 User is offline Chilly Willy 

Posted 06 February 2012 - 01:55 AM

  • Posts: 746
  • Joined: 10-April 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Doom 32X

View PostThe Game Collector, on 05 February 2012 - 12:30 AM, said:

The Everdrive MD has been out for quite a while now and I realized that Sonic 3 & Knuckles will not save data because something in the header of each rom is supposed to tell the Everdrive that the game saves data. Almost all Genesis games already have that flag in the header, so nothing usually has to be done. Since Sonic 3 & Knuckles uses Sonic & Knuckles for the header rather than Sonic 3, this flag is not there to tell the Everdrive MD to access its save function. What has to be done to hack the header to make it notice this? What kind of program would we need to use to make a fixed rom for everyone who is buying this particular flash cart? Many, many people would be thankful if one of us at Sonic Retro could provide a fixed rom for them so either giving me instructions on how to do it or somebody else just going "oh that's easy" and doing it really quick would be great.


Well, you can either go into the ED options and override the automatic sram controls, or you can use a hex editor and copy the data at offset $1B0 to $1BB from the Sonic 3 rom into the same place in the S3&K rom. That's the fields related to the save ram. You'll notice the S3 rom starts with "RA" there while S3&K has spaces.

#51 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 07 February 2012 - 05:29 PM

  • The architect of the universe, didn't build a stairway, leading nowhere.
  • Posts: 1829
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16
While I'm here and the thread is bumped, I got a Mega Mouse about a month ago, USA region, so if you happen to have Mouse support on your game/hack then I can check it over.

#52 User is offline The Game Collector 

Posted 12 February 2012 - 06:59 AM

  • Posts: 829
  • Joined: 24-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State, USA
  • Project:Being Ted Narcotic's bass player; working on Kelly Kristjanson's tape archive; collecting video games

View PostChilly Willy, on 06 February 2012 - 01:55 AM, said:

View PostThe Game Collector, on 05 February 2012 - 12:30 AM, said:

The Everdrive MD has been out for quite a while now and I realized that Sonic 3 & Knuckles will not save data because something in the header of each rom is supposed to tell the Everdrive that the game saves data. Almost all Genesis games already have that flag in the header, so nothing usually has to be done. Since Sonic 3 & Knuckles uses Sonic & Knuckles for the header rather than Sonic 3, this flag is not there to tell the Everdrive MD to access its save function. What has to be done to hack the header to make it notice this? What kind of program would we need to use to make a fixed rom for everyone who is buying this particular flash cart? Many, many people would be thankful if one of us at Sonic Retro could provide a fixed rom for them so either giving me instructions on how to do it or somebody else just going "oh that's easy" and doing it really quick would be great.


Well, you can either go into the ED options and override the automatic sram controls, or you can use a hex editor and copy the data at offset $1B0 to $1BB from the Sonic 3 rom into the same place in the S3&K rom. That's the fields related to the save ram. You'll notice the S3 rom starts with "RA" there while S3&K has spaces.


Thank you very much, the ED option trick didn't do anything, but the hex editing worked perfectly. Since I have successfully done this small task, this is giving me more interest in trying out some possible Sonic hacking. It proved that I could actually do something right as long as I have a guide with the hex value definitions, and this site has plenty of those for Sonic 1 & Sonic 2 to start with.

Now I don't have to worry about my copy of Sonic 3's FRAM maxing out its write cycles like my old copy did, and sell my CIB copies of the games if I need to. I've been scanning all the contents and selling my games as I complete them.
This post has been edited by The Game Collector: 12 February 2012 - 07:01 AM

#53 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 03 April 2012 - 04:57 AM

  • Posts: 3437
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2
I now have an Everdrive and can test on the following systems.

Original Genesis Model 1 US - The one with the link port 60hz
Genesis Model 1 US - no link port 60hz
Genesis 2 + MegaCD US 50hz
Megadrive 1 AU/EU 50hz
Megadrive 2 AU/EU 50hz

#54 User is offline dsrb 

Posted 03 April 2012 - 11:34 AM

  • Posts: 3150
  • Joined: 10-June 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:196

View PostVangar, on 03 April 2012 - 04:57 AM, said:

US 50hz
Is this modded to 50 Hz or something?

#55 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 03 April 2012 - 02:33 PM

  • Posts: 1760
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany
  • Wiki edits:3
I have a Model 1 MD with a flash cartridge and can potentially troubleshoot, should any problems arise.

#56 User is offline Alriightyman 

Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:57 AM

  • !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: 27-November 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Largo, Fl
  • Project:0101001101101111011011100110100101100011 00000010: 0101001100000011 01000101011001000110100101110100011010010110111101101110
  • Wiki edits:5
Ordered an Everdrive MD. Should have it soon. Also have a Genesise/Mega Drive 3 model.

I'll edit this post when it arrives.

EDIT: Just received it in the mail. Works great!!!!
This post has been edited by Alriightyman: 27 July 2012 - 12:03 PM

#57 User is offline djdocsonic 

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:37 AM

  • Testing YOUR Hacks Since 2005...
  • Posts: 374
  • Joined: 12-December 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Emerald Hill Zone
  • Project:Looking for a Rom Hack to Test.
I have got EverDrive for MegaDrive and Genesis. I can test Rom Hacks for anyone who wants them tested on Real Hardware.

I also have a region switch so PAL/NTSC is no problem either :)

#58 User is offline Ravenfreak 

Posted 07 September 2012 - 04:07 PM

  • Sonic 3's sprites are way better than Mania's!
  • Posts: 2626
  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:O'Fallon Mo
  • Project:Hacking some 8-bit Sonic game
  • Wiki edits:112
I have a Model 2 Sega CD, so if you ever need me to test your Sega CD related stuff, I can. I also bought a Everdrive a week ago so I should be getting that soon. ^_^

#59 User is offline LocalH 

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:54 AM

  • roxoring your soxors
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wouldn't you like to know
  • Project:Guitar Hero II: Rhythm Games Community Edition aka Pizza Hero II: Electric Pizza
  • Wiki edits:3
I no longer have my Genesis and SMD setup running because it's a PITA to keep an old 9x box running to send ROMs to it. If anyone wants to send me an ED I'll be glad to hook my shit back up, my computer does have the ability to capture SD NTSC video, and I have tested it with the US C64 DTV so it should be capable of capturing other 240p shit, although if anyone seriously considers sending me an ED I'll want to test capturing from my Genesis to be sure.

#60 User is offline 87th 

Posted 01 February 2013 - 06:28 PM

  • FOX HOUNDER
  • Posts: 627
  • Joined: 21-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundee, Scotland
I got a Mega Everdrive for Christmas to use on my PAL Mega Drive II/Mega CD II/32X set-up, so I can test ROMs on that. The 32X's region lock prevents me from playing some US and Japanese 32X ROMs.

  • 7 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users