Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic R Hacking - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 18 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic R Hacking Because somebody should.

#46 User is offline SonicVaan 

Posted 02 December 2009 - 02:28 PM

  • The probably one and only cybergoth in this community. '_'
  • Posts: 385
  • Joined: 16-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany, Cologne
  • Project:Betatesting, Various hacking projects, programming synthesizers, music production
  • Wiki edits:52
QUOTE (MainMemory @ Dec 2 2009, 07:00 PM)


Heh, tried to edit the levels with hex a while ago without knowing which tile what was. Thanks, that'll be helpful! smile.png

#47 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 02 December 2009 - 02:41 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (olaf @ Dec 2 2009, 01:23 PM)
Wow, impressive. So, you could technically just do all that but byteswapped for the Saturn ISO (the tile editing for the floor, that is)?

I don't know if the byteswapping would apply to these files. It generally only makes a difference when dealing with values larger than one byte. The map files store tiles as one byte, and the ply files store colors in RGB format, but I would have to look at the files to know for sure.
If you have a cd/iso, try opening a map file (if there are any) with this.

Also, I was able to use Cheat Engine with this (not very well), and I found:
8FB8EC - Course
8FD50C - Rings
8FD5E6 - Character
8FD6D4 - Character Model+Animations
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 02 December 2009 - 02:50 PM

#48 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 02 December 2009 - 04:14 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Well, I can't see it psyduck.png, but apparently other people can, so here's Super Sonic as Amy.

#49 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 02 December 2009 - 04:30 PM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 16936
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
Amy's car's noises really are obnoxious, aren't they? =P

Nice work!

#50 User is offline Tidbit 

Posted 02 December 2009 - 05:27 PM

  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 04-November 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland
  • Wiki edits:4
This is really cool. I have a feeling that this is going to start something.

#51 User is offline Selbi 

Posted 03 December 2009 - 11:54 AM

  • Impaled with Extreme Prejudice
  • Posts: 1480
  • Joined: 12-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Germany
  • Project:Sonic ERaZor
  • Wiki edits:320
Kinda annoying to browse through all tiles with just seing one at a time. Make it more like SonED, so you can see a few of the next and the past tiles please. smile.png

Besides that, of course, awesome job!
This post has been edited by Selbi: 03 December 2009 - 11:55 AM

#52 User is offline Skeledroid 

Posted 03 December 2009 - 11:55 AM

  • Posts: 227
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (Selbi @ Dec 3 2009, 12:54 PM)
Kinda annoying to browse through all tiles with just seing one at a time. Make it more like SonED, so you can see a few of the next and the past tiles please. smile.png

Besides that, of course, awesome job!

I imagine he's going to do that, since that was only a day's worth of work :P

#53 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 December 2009 - 11:57 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (Selbi @ Dec 3 2009, 10:54 AM)
Kinda annoying to browse through all tiles with just seing one at a time. Make it more like SonED, so you can see a few of the next and the past tiles please. smile.png

Besides that, of course, awesome job!

Right click on the map to copy. Sorry I didn't mention it.

I might add a tile editor to this, maybe.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 03 December 2009 - 12:01 PM

#54 User is offline MainMemory 

  Posted 03 December 2009 - 04:18 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
New program! RAW2BMP is exactly what it sounds like, it converts raw files to bitmap files (only bmp files by design). However, it also converts bitmaps (png/gif/jpg should also work) to raw files.

Something important to note is that you can convert any size bitmap to a raw file (it will warn you if it doesn't match a known size), but you can only convert raw files to bitmaps if they match the sizes listed here or are a ply file. There are at least 20 different ways I could convert any given raw file to a bitmap, but only one way to convert a bitmap to raw.

You can download it here. This will save you from having to remember all the sizes and mess with the raw import dialog.

There's really no way to prove it works with a picture, but I converted ruin\parallax\_r.raw to a bmp and back to a raw and it was identical to the original.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 15 February 2010 - 10:14 PM
Reason for edit: Merged double post

#55 User is offline LordOfSquad 

Posted 06 December 2009 - 06:09 PM

  • Still waiting on Feel The Magic 3
  • Posts: 4609
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Project:Tunes for Sonic Panic, among other things
  • Wiki edits:1
So wait, hold on. What's IDA? Does it make it work in Vista/7 or something?

#56 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 06 December 2009 - 06:13 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
IDA is [The] Interactive DisAssembler, and for some reason, unless you run Sonic R with this as the debugger, it won't accept input.

#57 User is offline LordOfSquad 

Posted 06 December 2009 - 08:26 PM

  • Still waiting on Feel The Magic 3
  • Posts: 4609
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Project:Tunes for Sonic Panic, among other things
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (MainMemory @ Dec 6 2009, 04:13 PM)
IDA is [The] Interactive DisAssembler, and for some reason, unless you run Sonic R with this as the debugger, it won't accept input.


Awesome, thanks. =)

#58 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 06 December 2009 - 11:54 PM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7527
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
According to the video that I saw it's some sort of processor clock speed check; if your computer is too fast then it'll basically produce a divide-by-zero error because, if I have this correct, it keeps calling the time and checks the time difference between instruction calls for finding the processor speed -- divide the number of instructions by the time they took to be processed. Obviously if the time interval is too small that's how the divide-by-zero error comes up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baJhaDuJlZA

Using a breakpoint artificially changes the result for the time-check function so the game can run. Could easily be fixed by, say, adding one to the time before doing the division. :P

#59 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 07 December 2009 - 12:04 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4178
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
No, that is fixed by the code in the first post. Stop posting about it already.

#60 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 07 December 2009 - 01:44 AM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7527
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
You said "for some reason" and to my knowledge that is the reason -- the two errors seem to be tied to each other, considering that all that's been done is a breakpoint has been added in the machine code.

EDIT: I just tried running it with Fusion in turbo mode in the background. I got some sort of Direct3D Init error, something about the application not being able to use exclusive mode.

EDIT2: That might have been because S&K Collection was still running in the background?

EDIT3: The message is "Unable to create primary surface: Operation requires the application to have exclusive mode but the application does not have exclusive mode." This means I probably can't overdrive fusion as a processor instruction limiter. Bummer.
This post has been edited by muteKi: 07 December 2009 - 01:56 AM

  • 18 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users