Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic R Hacking - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic R Hacking Because somebody should.

#1 User is online MainMemory 

  Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:42 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
So, I decided to mess around with Sonic R after Polygon Jim told me that the controls work if you run it from IDA.

Make it stop crashing on fast systems:
00070584 - 2e ff 15 8c 05 95 00	   - call cs:[0095058c]

000705A0 - 2e ff 15 8c 05 95 00	   - call cs:[0095058c]
----------------------------------------------------------
00070584 - b8 31 00 00 00			 - mov eax,00000031
00070589 - 90						 - nop
0007058A - 90						 - nop

000705A0 - b8 01 00 00 00			 - mov eax,00000001
000705A5 - 90						 - nop
000705A6 - 90						 - nop

Original on top, fix on bottom. Thanks to soundspark on YouTube.

Save File Format (INCOMPLETE):
04 - Resort Island
08 - Radical City
0C - Reactive Factory
10 - Regal Ruin
14 - Radiant Emerald
18 - Sonic
1C - Tails
20 - Knuckles
24 - Amy Rose
28 - Dr. Robotnik
2C - Metal Sonic
30 - Tails Doll
34 - Metal Knuckles
38 - Eggrobo
3C - Super Sonic
40 - Blue Emerald
44 - Green Emerald
48 - Purple Emerald
4C - Yellow Emerald
50 - Orange Emerald
54 - Red Emerald
58 - White Emerald
Stage:
0=Locked
1=Unlocked
2=First Place
Character:
0=Hidden
1=Locked
2=Unlocked
Emerald:
0=Not Collected
1=???
2=Collected
Thanks to saxman's save editor.

I replaced ai\aistuffr.bin with ai\aistuffi.bin, and the CPUs in Regal Ruin were running around like idiots.

I replaced city\city_b.bin with emerald\emrald_b.bin, and this happened:
Posted Image
It's using Radical City's textures, floor and solidity, but Radiant Emerald's model and object layout (including the start/finish line).

The biggest problem with this game is that I would need a second computer to do any RAM hacking, and you need to run it through IDA. :(
Unless there's a way to force it into a window?

#2 User is offline Jeztac 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:44 PM

  • Posts: 99
  • Joined: 06-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Sonic R-DX
  • Wiki edits:2
You can use this to run it in a forced windowed mode: http://www.filefront.com/5335168/DXWND---MS/

Has issues if you use Intel GMA though.

#3 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:45 PM

  • Not much I can do on here nowadays...
  • Posts: 2841
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest, Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:2,193
You might be able to circumvent the fullscreen issue by attaching a second monitor to your computer and setting it to act as a seperate screen. I'm unsure if that'll help you though.

#4 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:55 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (Jeztac @ Dec 1 2009, 04:44 PM)
You can use this to run it in a forced windowed mode: http://www.filefront.com/5335168/DXWND---MS/

Has issues if you use Intel GMA though.

No you can't. Cheat Engine's DirectX-mess doesn't work either, and I think it's because it doesn't start D3D until you select it in the menu.

#5 User is offline Jeztac 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 06:02 PM

  • Posts: 99
  • Joined: 06-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Sonic R-DX
  • Wiki edits:2
What exactly didn't work when you tried it? I've used it with no issues, though in DirectDraw mode.

#6 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 06:09 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (Jeztac @ Dec 1 2009, 05:02 PM)
What exactly didn't work when you tried it? I've used it with no issues, though in DirectDraw mode.

It still runs in fullscreen mode, in either setting. Also, I think it crashes Internet Explorer?

Edit: Also, every other time, Sonic R refuses to start, leaving me with a black screen. I have to Ctrl+Alt+Del and kill IDA.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 01 December 2009 - 06:17 PM

#7 User is offline Authur 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:15 PM

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 19-September 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lexington, SC
Heh, not a bad idea! Hacking Sonic R should be pretty interesting if it can be pulled off. Here's a question though, are you guys trying to do this through the PC version or an emulated Saturn rom of the game?

#8 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:18 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (Authur @ Dec 1 2009, 06:15 PM)
Heh, not a bad idea! Hacking Sonic R should be pretty interesting if it can be pulled off. Here's a question though, are you guys trying to do this through the PC version or an emulated Saturn rom of the game?

PC.

Edit: SCHG:Sonic R PC
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 01 December 2009 - 07:31 PM

#9 User is offline Ice God 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:51 PM

  • Earthbound Fanboy
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 26-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond VA
  • Wiki edits:1
I was talking to Jimmy while he did all of this over skype before you. Credit him where it's due.

#10 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:53 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
QUOTE (Ice God @ Dec 1 2009, 06:51 PM)
I was talking to Jimmy while he did all of this over skype before you. Credit him where it's due.

What? I said that he told me it worked with IDA.

#11 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:53 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
QUOTE (MainMemory @ Dec 1 2009, 07:53 PM)
QUOTE (Ice God @ Dec 1 2009, 06:51 PM)
I was talking to Jimmy while he did all of this over skype before you. Credit him where it's due.

What? I said that he told me it worked with IDA.



Yeah, but I already was working on the savegame, and already messing around with models.
This post has been edited by Polygon Jim: 01 December 2009 - 07:54 PM

#12 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:54 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
How am I supposed to know that? I did this myself.

#13 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:55 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
Unless he was stealing info from you—and from the looks of things, he didn't—there's nothing wrong with him posting his own findings. If you want to be first, then post before him—simple as that.

#14 User is offline Skeledroid 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:57 PM

  • Posts: 215
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Project:Platformer Engine
  • Wiki edits:1
I've always thought Sonic R should be hacked to make a full fledge 3D Sonic game. This would be a lot cooler if you hacked the Saturn version for the sake of having a 3D Sonic game on it.

#15 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:57 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3217
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
And if you don't want me to hack something, don't talk to me about it. You got me interested.

  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users