Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic: Eastern Coast Adventures - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic: Eastern Coast Adventures insertfunnydescription

#1 User is offline Master3k 

  Posted 04 April 2009 - 04:59 PM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27
Yeah. I canceled my old S1 hack because it was all messy and ugly, and I simply hated the way it was going. So, copy-paste from Retrohack.

Quote

Been working on this for 5 months or so, and it is finally time to release.

WHAT'S NEW?
—Music
-New Z80 driver (By HPZMan)
-New music ports and XM4SMPS ports
—ASM
-Air stop (by Hitaxas)
-Jump Dash (code by Psychosk8r and Hitaxas)
-Some minor ASM edits (e.g Spike bug fix, timer that stops after boss defeat)
—General
-Layouts for GHZ
-Art for GHZ, MZ(took me 10 hours to get this thing all done) and SLZ (placeholder)
-Other stuff...!

Posted Image
And link.
C&C. And please, no posts like "I liek ur hacksorz" or "UR HACK SOCKS GTFO".


As I said above, C&C. And all the help for this hack is welcome. :colbert:
This post has been edited by Master3k: 17 March 2010 - 08:15 PM

#2 User is offline NoNameAtAll 

Posted 04 April 2009 - 06:19 PM

  • ALWAYS watching. ALWAYS.
  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: 05-March 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:12
I have only really played through Green Hill Zone (Since that's the only one with a new layout. I'll get to the other stuff later). I must say, it's pretty good overall. I like the simple art: Very reminiscent of GHZ, yet new in its own way.

I'd say my only real complaint is the boss. A bottomless pit and the wrecking ball don't mix. As I..err...Sonic learned painfully.

Regardless, that's my only real qualm. I'm not going to complain about other layouts because, as you said, all that's done so far is GHZ.

I do like Marble Zone's art though. Very classy.

Keep up the good work. Just please...no bottomless pits on bosses. I don't mean that as a suggestion though. Just my opinion. Take it or leave it as you will. :colbert:
This post has been edited by NoNameAtAll: 04 April 2009 - 06:20 PM

#3 User is offline Master3k 

Posted 04 April 2009 - 06:33 PM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27
Thanks for your comment! About the boss pit, it was already changed. But I won't post a screenshot. I will keep that for the next release :colbert:

#4 User is offline BlackHole 

Posted 04 April 2009 - 06:46 PM

  • You're going to need MORE than help.
  • Posts: 2049
  • Joined: 29-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Project:Sprites for Cybernetic Outbreak
UR HAX SUKS!!!1! GTFO!

I jest, I jest, The artwork is good, and I liked the bottomless pit thing with the boss. More of a challenge.

#5 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 04 April 2009 - 09:44 PM

  • Driving The Last Spike
  • Posts: 1535
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16

View PostBlackHole, on Apr 4 2009, 06:46 PM, said:

The artwork is good, and I liked the bottomless pit thing with the boss. More of a challenge.

although I did die the first time on your boss unexpectedly falling into that pit, It's a pretty neat idea, I think the music ports are more or less perfect and did enjoy the variety, and I love the pallet selections on MZ & SYZ as they have a nice contrast and colour to them, I can see the art is in production and know that with the colours selected it'll turn out great, keep up the good work.

#6 User is offline Master3k 

Posted 05 April 2009 - 10:04 AM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27

Quote

music ports are more or less perfect


Also changed.

Quote

I can see the art is in production and know that with the colours selected it'll turn out great,


Thanks for the positive comment! The art for MZ under-grass blocks was slightly changed, though.

This topic, on at Retrohack, said:

New MZ Under-grass blocks!

Posted Image

A lot better, IMO. Seems more ruin-like, which is the style of the level.


^A lot better.

That, and this:

This topic at RH - should have gone there! =P said:

Posted Image


^This monitor sends Sonic to special stage, in a similar way from Sonic Triple Trouble (except that mine doesn't need 50 rings and doesn't open up a star-portal).

EDIT:Tags
This post has been edited by Master3k: 05 October 2009 - 07:54 AM

#7 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:04 AM

  • Driving The Last Spike
  • Posts: 1535
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16
QUOTE (Master3k @ Apr 5 2009, 10:04 AM) [post="297655"]Posted Image[/quote]

^This monitor sends Sonic to special stage, in a similar way from Sonic Triple Trouble (except that mine doesn't need 50 rings and doesn't open up a star-portal).

EDIT:Tags
[/quote]
That's actually very clever and different to what is expected, I suppose these will be hard to find, yes?

#8 User is offline Ollie 

Posted 05 April 2009 - 12:04 PM

  • DIGGY DIGGY HOLE
  • Posts: 1251
  • Joined: 28-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK
  • Wiki edits:149

View PostDrXInsanity, on Apr 5 2009, 05:04 PM, said:

View PostMaster3k, on Apr 5 2009, 10:04 AM, said:

This monitor sends Sonic to special stage, in a similar way from Sonic Triple Trouble (except that mine doesn't need 50 rings and doesn't open up a star-portal).

That's actually very clever and different to what is expected, I suppose these will be hard to find, yes?


I suggest that there should only be 1 for every Zone, if you're good with layouts try and make it so it's a bit of a challenge as well like when you played Triple Trouble for the first time, the Monitor was out of the way so you had to focus on changing your route in order to get to the monitor.

#9 User is offline Master3k 

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:40 PM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27
There's already only 1 monitor per act. And it's out of the way, too. Thanks for all the comments people, that helps making my hack better. :)

EDIT:Grammar
This post has been edited by Master3k: 05 April 2009 - 05:44 PM

#10 User is offline Master3k 

Posted 08 April 2009 - 05:57 PM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27
Double post, my bad.

Just wanted to say that I expanded the sound slots, and...dynamic boss music FTW.
Boss music list:
GHZ boss: S3D boss 2
MZ: S3 boss 1
SLZ: S3D boss (Act 1)
SYZ: S2B boss
LZ: S3 boss 2

I'm also thinking of putting Dynamic SS music, but I'm afraid of being called a "OMG MEGAMIX COPYCAT LOLOLOLOL"
EDIT:Grammar
EDIT2:Mistyped few music. Also, added MZ boss music.
This post has been edited by Master3k: 09 April 2009 - 06:33 AM

#11 User is offline Namagem 

Posted 08 April 2009 - 06:24 PM

  • Posts: 388
  • Joined: 19-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Don't worry about it. If you want it in your hack, put it in. If people say that crap, they are idiots and deserve flogging, for they are stunting the growth of awesome hacks like this.

I can't wait for this, it's looking awesome.

#12 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 08 April 2009 - 10:08 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
There's nothing wrong with individual special stage music; the problem occurs when you copy everything that Megamix had verbatim. Then we'll have a problem. I don't think you will, though, so feel free to do whatever. :(

#13 User is offline Ayla 

Posted 08 April 2009 - 10:14 PM

  • I shat on your desk ^^
  • Posts: 1750
  • Joined: 13-January 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:A rave near you!
  • Project:Hacking Contest, S.H.I.T.
  • Wiki edits:67
Eh.. that was my first thought is the first act came straight out of megamix >.>

#14 User is offline Master3k 

Posted 11 April 2009 - 07:47 PM

  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 25-July 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27
Good news and bad news.

First, bad news is that for some reason my Motobug and Caterkiller enemies went glitched (they are moving on a rather strange way) , and the only way I founded to solve that is reseting my layouts. So yeah, next release will take a little longer to be released...
But, good news is:
Posted Image
Now that's some "not bad" GHZ art!. Also, thanks to Hitaxas for the Sonic 3 Sonic sprites.

EDIT:Syntax error.
EDIT2:Oh, DURR HURR I AM FUCKING RETARDED. Reseting the layouts didn't solved that much... luckily I had a backup of that folder. :(
This post has been edited by Master3k: 11 April 2009 - 08:01 PM

#15 User is offline Dark Sonic 

Posted 12 April 2009 - 07:17 AM

  • DYNAMIC SONIC! EXCITING SONIC! STYLISH SONIC! UNBELIEVABLE!
  • Posts: 7883
  • Joined: 21-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Making the world know that Lost World 3DS is terrible
  • Wiki edits:10
Oooh is that some Palmtree Panic art I see? Nice.

  • 12 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users