Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Basic Questions & Answers thread - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 404 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Basic Questions & Answers thread NEWBIES: Start here!

#61 User is offline Cinossu 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 02:59 AM

  • inverted with love~
  • Posts: 2805
  • Joined: 21-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Extended Edition
  • Wiki edits:474

View PostMason, on Jun 18 2008, 05:10 PM, said:

Hey, I have two questions. First off, anybody recommend any palette editors?

I recommend HivePal, if you're using a split disassembly. You can find it at the Sonic_Hacking_Utilities page of the wiki.


View PostMason, on Jun 18 2008, 05:10 PM, said:

Second, anybody have the link to the Sonic Compressed Art Archive? I've been looking for it for a week now, and I haven't found the page where all the art really is.

http://scaa.sonicretro.org


View PostDr. Kylstien, on Jun 18 2008, 10:25 PM, said:

Is there a way to make SonMapEd load all of the HUD graphics instead of just "SCOR RINGS TIME"? It's difficult to modify the HUD mappings without all the graphics present.

The best way I've found is to take a VRAM dump from an emulator, and move all the data previous to where "SCOR RINGS TIME" is to the end, and load that instead. I don't know about SonMapEd with this, but it works nicely in LOst Library.
This post has been edited by Cinossu ´Д`: 19 June 2008 - 03:03 AM

#62 User is offline Dark Sonic 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 10:11 AM

  • Posts: 11328
  • Joined: 21-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Working on my art!
  • Wiki edits:10
Ok so here's my problem. I'm trying to add some collision to this 256x256 chunk I've made:
Posted Image
Of course it doesn't work though but the odd thing is that it works some places
Posted Image
Posted Image

And here's what happens everywhere else:
Posted Image
Posted Image

How do I fix this? Also how do I get rid of the rotating palette (Also how to I port the Casino Night rotating palette from Sonic 2 to Sonic 1)

By the way, layout and stuff is temporary. I'm just testing how porting Casino Night over Spring Yard Zone will work out (I hate SYZ)
This post has been edited by Dark Sonic: 19 June 2008 - 10:12 AM

#63 User is offline Joaki 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 02:20 PM

  • AKA BombJack93
  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: 04-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nivaria Island, Spain
  • Project:Lots.
  • Wiki edits:15
QUOTE (Joaki @ Jun 17 2008, 07:13 PM) [post="201001"]Posted Image
EDIT: I wait to have been more explanatory
[/quote]

The locations will be, but still the problem persists. I have tried it often, but nothing...

#64 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 02:23 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
OH, I think I know the problem! Did you touch the animation scripts at all? If you changed the names of them or replaced them with the animations from another Sonic game, the labels will not be the same, and therefore the game cannot build without those labels defined.

#65 User is offline Joaki 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 02:34 PM

  • AKA BombJack93
  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: 04-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nivaria Island, Spain
  • Project:Lots.
  • Wiki edits:15

View PostTweaker, on Jun 19 2008, 08:23 PM, said:

OH, I think I know the problem! Did you touch the animation scripts at all? If you changed the names of them or replaced them with the animations from another Sonic game, the labels will not be the same, and therefore the game cannot build without those labels defined.

I do not believe it, only I modified other elements separated from this one. Though I distrust much what I did, for what here I put my dissassembly:
http://www.fileden.c...3595/sonic1.asm
Though I doubt much that has changed something, but the truth, I do not know it...
This post has been edited by Joaki: 19 June 2008 - 02:35 PM

#66 User is offline LordOfSquad 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:22 PM

  • Still waiting on Feel The Magic 3
  • Posts: 4581
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Project:Tunes for Sonic Panic, among other things
  • Wiki edits:1
Ok, total retard question here. How do I compile my Sonic 1 Split Dissasembly? I'm using Hivebrain's 2005 dissasembly. I'm completely new to these things, so any help would be appreciated.

#67 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:27 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
Double click "build.bat," assuming you've already split a ROM.

If you have, and it still gives you shit, create a blank file called "s1comb.asm" and try again. That should take care of it.

#68 User is offline LordOfSquad 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 04:39 PM

  • Still waiting on Feel The Magic 3
  • Posts: 4581
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Winnipeg, MB
  • Project:Tunes for Sonic Panic, among other things
  • Wiki edits:1
Excellent! Works like a charm. Many thanks!

#69 User is offline Mason 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 06:08 PM

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 15-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Under your bed
Hey, I have another question which may seem "HEY ADMIN PLEASE BAN ME"ish (inside joke), but, ok, here it is.

When I try putting compressed art into my Sonic 1 hack, using TSDC, it won't work. Anyone have a guide?

#70 User is offline iojnekns 

Posted 19 June 2008 - 06:37 PM

  • trouble keeps you runnin' faster
  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: 22-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:14
QUOTE (Dark Sonic @ Jun 19 2008, 04:11 PM) [post="201357"]Posted Image
Of course it doesn't work though but the odd thing is that it works some places

How do I fix this? Also how do I get rid of the rotating palette (Also how to I port the Casino Night rotating palette from Sonic 2 to Sonic 1)

By the way, layout and stuff is temporary. I'm just testing how porting Casino Night over Spring Yard Zone will work out (I hate SYZ)[/quote]

Your strip of top solid collision is set to use the wrong height map. Changing it is covered here.

The whitened blocks should be reading angle FF

#71 User is offline shobiz 

Posted 20 June 2008 - 12:05 AM

  • Posts: 863
  • Joined: 27-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Karachi, Pakistan
  • Wiki edits:4,411
To Joaki, as I said before, ESE ASM Edit, to the best of my knowledge, doesn't support Hive's external include program. You're going to either have to use the disassembly with an ordinary text editor and compile it with build.bat, or else convert the disassembly for use with ASM68k - this page covers how.

#72 User is offline Dark Sonic 

Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:53 AM

  • Posts: 11328
  • Joined: 21-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Working on my art!
  • Wiki edits:10
QUOTE (iojnekns @ Jun 19 2008, 03:37 PM) [post="201485"]Posted Image
Of course it doesn't work though but the odd thing is that it works some places

How do I fix this? Also how do I get rid of the rotating palette (Also how to I port the Casino Night rotating palette from Sonic 2 to Sonic 1)

By the way, layout and stuff is temporary. I'm just testing how porting Casino Night over Spring Yard Zone will work out (I hate SYZ)[/quote]

Your strip of top solid collision is set to use the wrong height map. Changing it is covered here.

The whitened blocks should be reading angle FF
[/quote]
Thank you now the collision works. Rotating pallet still is in the way though
This post has been edited by Dark Sonic: 20 June 2008 - 07:05 AM

#73 User is offline Ollie 

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:02 AM

  • DIGGY DIGGY HOLE
  • Posts: 1251
  • Joined: 28-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK
  • Wiki edits:149

View PostMason, on Jun 20 2008, 12:08 AM, said:

Hey, I have another question which may seem "HEY ADMIN PLEASE BAN ME"ish (inside joke), but, ok, here it is.

When I try putting compressed art into my Sonic 1 hack, using TSDC, it won't work. Anyone have a guide?


I'm guessing you are using a Split Disassembly, you could check out this guide, just so that you can check where you actually went wrong and how to fix it.

Basic Art Editing

#74 User is offline SteelBrush 

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:40 PM

  • 603e
  • Posts: 1194
  • Joined: 12-April 08
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:the home of spotted dick, Devon
  • Project:Tramadol, Tamazepam and finding a reason to exist.
I feel that this is a rather stupid question but I can't seem to find an answer to it.

Is there a way of manually dumping (not ripping) sprites, level tiles and backgrounds, so they can then be edited in another program? For example taking the GHZ bachground editing it in Illustrator then re-inserting it into the rom.

#75 User is offline Scarred Sun 

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:50 PM

  • In Defense of Lost Causes
  • Posts: 3761
  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:SD/LA/SF
  • Project:Staying woke
  • Wiki edits:36,091

View PostSteel-Brush, on Jun 20 2008, 08:40 PM, said:

I feel that this is a rather stupid question but I can't seem to find an answer to it.

Is there a way of manually dumping (not ripping) sprites, level tiles and backgrounds, so they can then be edited in another program? For example taking the GHZ bachground editing it in Illustrator then re-inserting it into the rom.


Damizean's Level Ripper may be of interest to you.

  • 404 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

5 User(s) are reading this topic
1 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users

  1. Tech Member: Clownacy