Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: DebuGens - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

DebuGens A Genecyst Replacment

#1 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 01:05 AM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
I finally got tired of genecyst not working, and even more tired of finding a program to make it work... So I made this:

DebuGens 1.25

****To be fixed, the 68K Endian Mode bug. This will be released as both a patch and executable. So you don't have to DL the exe twice. :(****

This is an edited version of the Gens Emulator written by me. I edited it to add Debug Dumps, much like those from the Discontinued Genecyst.

Features [1.25]
  • Fixed SEGACD GFX dumping (dumped incorrect amount of RAM)
  • Added layer toggling
  • Added Shadow/Highlight mode toggling
  • Fixed issues with debug dump directory choosing
  • Added SegaCD S68K Ram Dumping
  • Added 32X SH2 Ram Dumping
Woo hoo! That's it. There's nothing extra special about this, which is why it's version 1.25 instead of version 1.3. :o


Regards,
Fuzzbuzz


Qjimbo Edit: DebuGens can now be downloaded from http://www.hacking-cult.org/?utils
This post has been edited by Qjimbo: 16 January 2007 - 12:16 PM

#2 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 02:58 AM

  • Adopt
  • Posts: 5174
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:CA US
  • Wiki edits:4
Finally, something worth downloading. Although Xega also supported dumps, it saves me the trouble from opening another emulator.

#3 User is offline Dracula 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 03:33 AM

  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 03-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I'm watching you!
  • Project:Thunder Force II Music Hacking and Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:12
Your the best. =P *starts download and gives this person credit*

#4 User is offline Dracula 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 04:04 AM

  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 03-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I'm watching you!
  • Project:Thunder Force II Music Hacking and Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:12
There are some bugs on this emulator.

#5 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 04:09 AM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
Probably. It's a beta. Funny how I forgot to mention that. What are the bugs?

I know I have menus that just don't plain work, because I haven't added the code to make it work yet.

Oh, and all the dumps dump directly to the same folder that Gens is in. I don't have it setup where you can pick where to dump it yet. That might come later.

Fuzzbuzz
This post has been edited by fuzzbuzz: 25 December 2003 - 04:24 AM

#6 User is offline Dracula 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 04:50 AM

  • Posts: 599
  • Joined: 03-March 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I'm watching you!
  • Project:Thunder Force II Music Hacking and Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:12
And thr config has some bugs too. It won't save.

#7 User is offline Mystical Ninja 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 09:03 AM

  • For old time's sake.
  • Posts: 3332
  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Castle, Delaware
  • Project:Nothing that concerns this place in the least.
  • Wiki edits:282
Very nicely written.

#8 User is offline XFox Prower 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 09:14 AM

  • Posts: 1196
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Project:x86 Assembly, Tails Search Assistant
This is great. I can see many things coming along with it in the future. I'm not sure, but I tried dumping the Sonic 3k Sega screen's vram and the file was 62.3 kb. Wasn't vram always 64 kb or do you remove unused clusters? (The sega screen couldn't have had that many used in it). I'm curious because there really haven't been many programs to read and display vram (I've always done it manually by making palettes and writing pixels in paint). But you'll probably have a built in viewer by then :(.

#9 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 01:01 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
Well, I've changed the extension of the VRam to *.bin files, so you can open it up straight from Tile Layer Pro, just change the format to Genesis, instead of RGB. Also, I've got it set so you can output CRam formatted for Tile Layer Pro, so you can have the Palettes right with the VRam, also.

I probably will have some sort of built in viewer someday, but not right away. =)

Yes, and the config doesn't save. I've barely touched that part.


Fuzzbuzz

#10 User is offline Timecrash 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 01:02 PM

  • I, Timecrash, will knock you all down!
  • Posts: 1112
  • Joined: 20-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Syrtis Major, Mars
  • Project:College.
Cool, I'll have to give it a download when some of the bugs are fixed! Good luck with it!

#11 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 25 December 2003 - 01:08 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
The bugs don't hinder the performance of the Emulator. All the dumps work fine, except for the VDP Registers, which isn't important at the moment.

Give it a try. =)


Fuzzbuzz

#12 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 28 December 2003 - 09:24 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
I take it back, there really are no bugs at all. They're just empty spaces of code. The 1 menu item doesn't work and you can't choose where to debug. Eh. They'll be implemented, not fixed.


Fuzzbuzz

#13 User is offline Icy Guy 

Posted 28 December 2003 - 09:52 PM

  • Hedgehog. Sonic the Hedgehog.
  • Posts: 777
  • Joined: 23-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Project:GoldenEye 007 level hack
  • Wiki edits:2
Quick question: of the different dump options, which one would I use if I want to do file comparisons to hack Action Replay or Game Genie codes? I imagine it's either the 68K or Z80's RAM, but I want to be sure before I go screwing around with whatever. :)

#14 User is offline fuzzbuzz 

Posted 29 December 2003 - 12:34 AM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 13-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
  • Project:Many Many Programming/hacking tools...
I not quite sure I understand. What did you want the Codes for?


Fuzzbuzz

#15 User is offline Icy Guy 

Posted 01 January 2004 - 07:36 PM

  • Hedgehog. Sonic the Hedgehog.
  • Posts: 777
  • Joined: 23-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Project:GoldenEye 007 level hack
  • Wiki edits:2
I worded that horribly. I should've said "Which of the two dump options is the equivalent of Dump > RAM in Genecyst?" My bad. :)

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users