Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic 2 changes resolution? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic 2 changes resolution? The Special Stages run at a different resolution, it seems.

#1 User is offline inakilbss 

Posted 19 May 2018 - 12:25 PM

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 02-October 15
  • Gender:Male
I was playing a Sonic 2 hack with window size set to max, when the window just grew as I entered a Special Stage. I decided to set window size to original and saw that the SS had been playing at a narrower resolution the whole time! Naturally, I went to the original game and, surprise, the same thing happened. I took screenshots and discovered that while the normal game plays at a 320*224 resolution, the Special Stages just use a 256*224 area:

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 User is online Black Squirrel 

Posted 19 May 2018 - 12:35 PM

  • match up tails to the cards
  • Posts: 4562
  • Joined: 27-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumberland, England
  • Project:you just can't catch 'em, wiggly worms
  • Wiki edits:20,569
It sure does.

#3 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 19 May 2018 - 01:14 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2844
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:5,000 + one spin
Do note that on actual hardware, the special stages do take up the full screen, rather than "shrinking" like on some emulators. This is because analog video signalling doesn't have a fixed horizontal resolution. Instead, the pixel clock is "slowed down" for 256px-wide mode.

NES, SNES, and SMS also use 256px-wide modes, which is why they're full-screen on actual hardware but not necessarily full-screen on emulators.

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users