Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Rez Beta #2 - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked Forum

Rez Beta #2 We got another one!

#1 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 18 February 2017 - 02:23 PM

  • Posts: 1410
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
Rez is one of my favorite games and it looks like someone over at the Assembler forums just dumped a new GD Rom of a second Rez Beta. This one is somewhat newer than the K-Project version, and includes a different audio track for Area 2: Fatboy Slim's The Rockafeller Skank. It was so odd that I had to record a video.

I haven't explored it enough to find other neat changes, and I don't know how to burn a GD-R to a CD-R, but I can't wait to see what else this version of Rez has.

And a million thanks to Woofmute for sending me this link.

#2 User is offline Black Squirrel 

Posted 18 February 2017 - 03:47 PM

  • maybe she's born with it
  • Posts: 4098
  • Joined: 27-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumberland, England
  • Project:maybe it's maybelline
  • Wiki edits:20,569
I can't tell if this would have been a better choice

On one hand, it doesn't really "fit" the style Rez is going for, but its replacement isn't half as recognisable and isn't particularly exciting either.

They could have been trying all sorts of songs, though it might be difficult to find records given it was such a late release in the Dreamcast's lifespan (and practically ignored on the PS2).

#3 User is offline GagaMan 

Posted 18 February 2017 - 05:17 PM

  • Posts: 791
  • Joined: 09-March 09
  • Gender:Male
I'm not really sure if works very well compared to what they used in the final but darn it ain't half cool to see.
Two things I really dig combined. Neeeeeat.

#4 User is offline minichapman 

Posted 19 February 2017 - 05:44 AM

  • I'd like to think I'll be imparting words of wisdom, but the odds are agains
  • Posts: 632
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Staying sane.
  • Wiki edits:1
I absolutely loved REZ. I remember downloading the Vibes beta and being creeped out by the creepy girl image in the options. Looked like something from Silent Hill.

Posted Image

#5 User is offline sonicblur 

Posted 19 February 2017 - 08:01 PM

  • Posts: 1140
  • Joined: 18-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:6
Although Protocol Rain was my least favorite song out of the original 5 stages, I'm glad they didn't keep Rockefeller Skank for the final game. The voice clip gets too repetitive, and the different parts of the song don't transition well from one to another. While the other songs seemed to build up smoothly as they went along, this has some jarring changes where the song seems completely different. During the boss of this you can hear the voice samples that were in the boss for the first level in the Vibes beta as well.

It's pretty neat to see another beta of Rez though. Thanks for posting a video for it.

#6 User is offline Ritz 

Posted 28 February 2017 - 04:33 PM

  • Subhedgehog
  • Posts: 3925
  • Joined: 01-January 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Glimmering Cornhole Zone
  • Wiki edits:2
Rockefeller Skank with fragments of Born Slippy during the boss battle. This is hilarious (and really cool).

#7 User is offline Zeether 

Posted 13 March 2017 - 08:26 AM

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 10-April 14
I wish they'd gone with the Underworld music for the final game considering how Underworld literally had a track/album called "Rez".

#8 User is offline Woofmute 

Posted 13 March 2017 - 11:01 AM

  • Y and -Y and XYZ-X-Y-Z.
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 22-December 08
  • Gender:Female
  • Project:Hacking and researching Rez.
  • Wiki edits:1
apparently underworld or their manager didn't give permission though.

I've got some notes on this beta in my thread at assemblergames but they're migrating server still so ill post when i can.

ill update this post with the memory address to activate debug mode (with cheat engine and demul) when i get home.

#9 User is offline Zeether 

Posted 13 March 2017 - 05:24 PM

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: 10-April 14
Yeah, I figured Underworld might have not wanted to go through with it. Kinda sucks though, because it seemed like they wanted the game to be a tribute to them at first.

#10 User is offline Woofmute 

Posted 13 July 2017 - 10:46 AM

  • Y and -Y and XYZ-X-Y-Z.
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 22-December 08
  • Gender:Female
  • Project:Hacking and researching Rez.
  • Wiki edits:1
Ok, it took a while but AssemblerGames is back, so crossposting my info on beta 899 from there.

Build info for reference:
'Vibes' beta - v0.10 836 2001/06/01 21:56
Rez beta - v0.10 899 2001/07/30 09:53
Rez Dreamcast - v0.10 1039 2001/10/04 17:25
Rez PS2 - v0.10 1038 2001/10/04 16:33
Rez XBLA - v0.10 1038 2001/10/04 16:33

Though the game is unfinished, debug mode is disabled by default in this build. Perhaps it was a demonstration version.
Here's a new memory address to enable debug mode:
Set 2C242E9D (Cheat engine with demul) to C5 once the game has loaded or created your save file.

This beta is a lot closer to the final aesthetically, and is now called Rez instead of Vibes.
Instead of calling itself a beta, this build calls itself "PS2 Start" (Only when debug is on).
There is an intro animation, which seems the same as final. No audio for this though.
The level select now lists the music artist and track name.
This is the build of the game that uses Rockerfella Skank by Fatboy Slim for area 2.
Underworld's songs from the previous beta are mostly gone, though Born Slippy Nuxx is used as the level select song for area 1, and is still used in area 4 even though the level select has Rock is Sponge.
The level select bpm for Area 5 has been slowed to 90 in this build (same as final).
The creepy options menu has been replaced by the final version's.
The score attack level select has been implemented (The model was in the other beta).
The final player form is no longer Massive.
Beyond mode exists.
Boss rush mode exists (stage 21).

Level select tracklisting:
Area 1 - UGAmix by Fiber-Jelly (Keiichi Sugiyama uses this name, and the song is Buggie Running Beeps).
Area 2 - Rockerfeller Skank by Fatboy Slim.
Area 3 - 'Unfixed' by Ken Ishii (This is Creation, though it uses a different audio loop here to the final).
Area 4 - Rock is Sponge by Tsuyoshi, a member of Joujouka (The level actually still uses Underworld music though).
Area 5 - Fear is the Mind Killer by Adam Freeland (Called Fear in the final).

Buggy Running Beeps has a few differences, including a missing percussion track and an alternate pre-boss bass.
Area 6 is closer to the final's design, also using Boss Attacks by Coldcut, from the final.
The Eden battle doesn't seem to be using the correct music, Boss Attacks continued playing for me. Unsure if the correct song is in the game or not.
An ending has been implemented, and the credits music exists.
Lost Area exists and uses F6 GS by Ebz.
Trance Mission exists and uses the level select music file.
Options mode has no music.
Score rankings has no music.

Posted Image

Page 1 of 1
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users