Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: SonicGMI (Sonic Generations Mod Installer) v1.1 RC6 - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
    Locked
    Locked Forum

SonicGMI (Sonic Generations Mod Installer) v1.1 RC6 Configure your mods easily with some clicks! Now with new Renderer

#31 User is offline TommoPuppy 

Posted 29 July 2012 - 05:07 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
After seeing a bunch of "(optional)" in the bug fixes Google Doc, I'm thinking the ability to actually have customisable options on mods (like in Freelancer Mod Manager) would be really awesome.

#32 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 29 July 2012 - 09:02 AM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1020
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl
While it's a good idea, CPKREDIR might need a bit of a redesign for that. Only thing I can think of is adding toggles for Advanced mode entries.
This post has been edited by Dario FF: 29 July 2012 - 09:02 AM

#33 User is offline TommoPuppy 

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:45 PM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 12-January 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
Yeah I was thinking earlier this morning how that might not work so well with CPKREDIR.

#34 User is offline iGamr 

Posted 26 August 2012 - 12:23 AM

  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 16-April 12
  • Gender:Male
Just to tack on a suggestion, assuming they're still welcome... Obviously this might require some work, but it'd be neat if you could check a mod to see what stage/music it replaces.

#35 User is offline qwertysonic 

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:00 AM

  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 29-April 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:creating the biggest sonic collection
Since the topic has been bumped already, I would like to voice my agreement with iGamr. It's not a big deal, but it would be handy to see what mod replaces what just to make sure you don't double replace a stage or character.

#36 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 14 September 2012 - 11:21 PM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
Alright, sorry for bumping this, but GuessWho suggested I bring this up with Korama or Dario.

I'm having issues with music replacement as far as the mod installer goes. Doing one song (replacing Green Hill Original with Stardust Speedway - CashCash) works fine, but as soon as I add a second song, neither the original song (SSZ), nor the new one are replaced and instead play the original non-replaced tracks. (replaced What I'm Made Of with BigArms). Replacing the whole CPK worked fine, but doing it with the Mod installer reverts to the original file. GuessWho suggested it might be an issue with cpkredir.

#37 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:31 AM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1020
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl
I'm not really following what you're doing. Are you using two separate mods stacked? Music CPK redirection works just like regular bb, bb2, and bb3 CPKs, so the same concept applies.

So you might want to either upload your mod folder you're working with, or go a bit more in detail.

#38 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:46 AM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
sorry that I'm terrible at explaining things. It's the only mod set to be in use, besides logo removal.

Here is what I got so far with my music mod

Hopefully that might help with figuring out what I'm possibly doing wrong, if it's me (which is quite possible)

#39 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:07 AM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1020
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl
You need to add the AAX files to a folder called "Synth" inside of SNG22_ADD, you forgot that. It works fine when I do that. That's how the original CPK is arranged.
This post has been edited by Dario FF: 15 September 2012 - 11:07 AM

#40 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:56 PM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
Thanks, can't believe I did something so dumb. I guess it was the fact that replacing the one track by itself working fine is what threw me off.

#41 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:36 PM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1020
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl
New SonicGMI Update. Check the first post for more details. I'll explain how to set up an Update Server for a mod's distribution later once I'm sure the feature is working alright.



#42 User is offline RGamer2009 

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:08 PM

  • True Blue
  • Posts: 2524
  • Joined: 27-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wherever life takes me...
  • Wiki edits:3,086
This makes mods so much easier to use! Awesome!

A couple suggestions for GMI's interface:

- As of now, you can't hit "Save and Play" until you uncheck and recheck "Enable Mods". Should be allowed by default if a mod is checked.
- It would be nice if you could sort mods by the headers.
This post has been edited by RGamer2009: 11 January 2013 - 10:08 PM

#43 User is offline iGamr 

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:25 AM

  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 16-April 12
  • Gender:Male

View PostRGamer2009, on 11 January 2013 - 10:08 PM, said:

This makes mods so much easier to use! Awesome!

A couple suggestions for GMI's interface:

- As of now, you can't hit "Save and Play" until you uncheck and recheck "Enable Mods". Should be allowed by default if a mod is checked.
- It would be nice if you could sort mods by the headers.

If you didn't realize this already, they ARE actually sorted alphabetically... by the names of the folders within your "mods" folder. Took me a bit to figure that out. :v:

#44 User is offline TheUltimaXtreme 

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:11 PM

  • Breaking logic since whenever
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 10-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nowhere near you
  • Project:LPs
The presentation of the new FxPipeline renderer is interesting. It makes me wonder if we could make different shaders that AREN'T just Unleashed and Generations...

Of course, I can show why you NEED the shaders on in the GMI.



Can anyone say Virtual Boy?

If you'll notice, it actually causes some things to disappear. There's no boost trail, and enemy projectiles are invisible (see Chemical Plant Zone and Sky Sanctuary)

I actually think this is pretty funny to use. I might just play the whole thing to see how fucked up some of the levels can get.
This post has been edited by TheUltimaXtreme: 24 January 2013 - 07:15 PM

#45 User is offline Sky The Destroyer 

Posted 11 February 2013 - 07:22 PM

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: 29-June 11
  • Gender:Not Telling
I'm not sure if this is the right place to report this bug in, but I think it is. I found a very minor shader bug with a tree in Seaside Hill (gasp!). It's a bit trivial, but a bug is a bug.

FxPipeline Renderer with custom shaders
Spoiler

Generations Renderer without custom shaders
Spoiler


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users