Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 320 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) Generations Cracked wide open (Custom Levels are an ongoing event!

#31 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 08:22 AM

  • AGAIN TRY
  • Posts: 1400
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
I was able to rebuild a CPK with one of the XML files slightly modified, and it ran on my JTag. Did it a second time, with too many changes made, and it crashed. I don't really know where to begin with the changes. :x

#32 User is offline MegaDash 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 09:00 AM

  • Pinpricks
  • Posts: 2384
  • Joined: 06-February 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Off
The words "DOWNLOAD NOW" should only be reserved for something playable.

Make it happen, guys. Even though I'm still totally expecting some PC love, demo or not.

#33 User is offline evilhamwizard 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 09:22 AM

  • Posts: 1260
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:109
QUOTE (Trunks @ Jun 24 2011, 09:22 AM)
I was able to rebuild a CPK with one of the XML files slightly modified, and it ran on my JTag. Did it a second time, with too many changes made, and it crashed. I don't really know where to begin with the changes. :x


From what I noticed, most XML files are actually modified in game. What you should try to modify is just the lua files in the #Application ar file.

One thing I should mention about the debugger is that it does use a mouse and keyboard by looking at the executable. I think the F1~12 keys are meant to do something.

EDIT1: There might be some other files that need to be modified to get the debug to work on top of ApplicationSetting.lua. ApplicationMain contains functions of how to treat the settings:

CODE
--
-- 起動後の初期化時に一度呼ばれる
--
function applicationInit(...)
    LoadScript("ApplicationSetting");
    applicationSetting();
end

--
-- 起動後の初期化時に一度呼ばれる(デバッグ用)
--
function applicationInitDebug(...)
    PrintString("Execute [applicationInit]");
    -- アプリケーション設定スクリプトロード
    LoadScript("ApplicationSettingDebug");
    -- アプリケーション設定実行
    applicationSetting();
end

It might not matter if you modify ApplicationSetting.lua to look like ApplicationSettingDebug.lua, but maybe the game takes into consideration ApplicationSettingDebug specifcally for debug related tasks. If that's the case, you could just change LoadScript("ApplicationSetting"); to LoadScript("ApplicationSettingDebug"); like in the second function applicationInitDebug.

EDIT2: DebugLauncher lists the button hotkeys to activating/launching the debug menus themselves. Only two buttons have been assigned, but a total of 6 buttons can be used.

CODE
-- 説明
-- 1.debug_ConfigButton()が呼ばれ、ボタンの数と幅が設定される
-- 2.debug_InitButton*()がボタン生成時に呼ばれる
-- 3.debug_ClickButton*()がボタンをクリックした時に呼ばれる
--
-- debug_ConfigButton()のbutton_numの数だけInit,Click関数のセットが必要
-- 各関数の引数のbuttonはGindows::Buttonへのポインタ


-- ボタン設定
function debug_ConfigButton()
    -- 戻り値 { button_num, button_width }
    -- button_num   : ボタンの数
    -- button_width : ボタンの幅
    return { 6, 200 };
end


-- Button1
function debug_InitButton1(button)
    -- buttonはgindows::buttonへのポインタ
    LauncherButtonSetCaption(button, "Vibration Debug Window");
end

function debug_ClickButton1(button)
    -- buttonはgindows::buttonへのポインタ

    --振動デバッグウィンドウON/OFF
    ToggleVibDebugWindow(button);
end


-- Button2
function debug_InitButton2(button)
    -- buttonはgindows::buttonへのポインタ
    LauncherButtonSetCaption(button, "Story Debug Window");
end

function debug_ClickButton2(button)
    -- buttonはgindows::buttonへのポインタ

    --ストーリーデバッグウィンドウON/OFF
    ToggleStoryDebugWindow(button);
end

This post has been edited by evilhamwizard: 24 June 2011 - 10:07 AM

#34 User is offline Andrew75 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 11:04 AM

  • Technical Artist
  • Posts: 1765
  • Joined: 12-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Project AXSX(Sonic Xtreme) + Misc Projects
Hey Guys, Looking at the PS3 and the 360 versions of the Demos,
seems I could only find 490 textures in the PS3 version so far vs the 1,185 on the 360.(360 numbers represent deleted duplicates)
146 PS3 models vs 572 on 360

In the PKG file that I have, a few folders are missing from BB.cpk that are present in the 360 build.
perhaps they are encoded differently and did not extract completely. (Languages, Packed and voices folders)

EDIT: to show numbers of BB.cpk (360 vs PS3)
360 is 444 MB
PS3 is 453 MB

This post has been edited by Andrew75: 24 June 2011 - 11:43 AM

#35 User is offline ultima espio 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 12:04 PM

  • Posts: 457
  • Joined: 29-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
Well, tried the model importer. Doesn't work :/

#36 User is offline Andrew75 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 12:42 PM

  • Technical Artist
  • Posts: 1765
  • Joined: 12-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Project AXSX(Sonic Xtreme) + Misc Projects
QUOTE (ultima espio @ Jun 24 2011, 01:04 PM)
Well, tried the model importer. Doesn't work :/

Think you could PM me that real quick? I'd like to take a look at it .

#37 User is offline ultima espio 

Posted 24 June 2011 - 12:44 PM

  • Posts: 457
  • Joined: 29-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
Sure, sent smile.png

Actually, just got Classic Sonic to import. No Uv's or bones though :/

Knuckles has UVs, no bones. I have no idea how I managed to get it to work lol
This post has been edited by ultima espio: 24 June 2011 - 12:58 PM

#38 User is offline SaviourDCX 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 06:45 AM

  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 05-May 06
  • Gender:Male
When I unpacked bb.cpk I found 2 levels in two folders ghz100 and ghz200. Is it possible to just file switch them to play it?

#39 User is offline ultima espio 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 08:59 AM

  • Posts: 457
  • Joined: 29-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
I should point out that this guy has them imported flawlessly:



#40 User is offline Runner 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 09:07 AM

  • Long time no see, old friend.
  • Posts: 215
  • Joined: 24-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
  • Wiki edits:15
Has anyone found any clue for classic versions from another characters like Tails, Knuckles, Eggman. Or only Sonic will have a classic version?

#41 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 10:07 AM

  • Posts: 10240
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
I don't remind seeing any traces of any classic characters other than Sonic. Which is kind of worrying. =\

#42 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 10:10 AM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 6611
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (Runner @ Jun 25 2011, 07:07 AM)
Has anyone found any clue for classic versions from another characters like Tails, Knuckles, Eggman. Or only Sonic will have a classic version?


Not only that, but was City Escape's music in there or removed?

I'm guessing it was removed since I can't find it in any of the music packs around here.

#43 User is offline Andrew75 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 10:34 AM

  • Technical Artist
  • Posts: 1765
  • Joined: 12-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Project AXSX(Sonic Xtreme) + Misc Projects
If you look in the Textures that I've extracted and converted to TGA,
there seems to be classic Eggman textures, I think its for the end post sign though.

Edit:
also that egg robot texture can be found from Sky sanctuary.
along with all the other badnicks,
as well as what looks like what could be Casino night zone textures.
This post has been edited by Andrew75: 25 June 2011 - 10:37 AM

#44 User is offline evilhamwizard 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 10:54 AM

  • Posts: 1260
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:109
I don't know what Jimmy did to get his modifications to work, but I just thought of something.

Why don't you just copy the bb.cpk from the 360 version to the PS3 version? It sounds elementary and probably won't work, but it might be worth a shot. The only thing that probably wouldn't work are the graphics for the controllers buttons, but who knows.

#45 User is offline Tanks 

Posted 25 June 2011 - 11:01 AM

  • Posts: 990
  • Joined: 01-July 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (Lanzer @ Jun 25 2011, 07:10 AM)
QUOTE (Runner @ Jun 25 2011, 07:07 AM)
Has anyone found any clue for classic versions from another characters like Tails, Knuckles, Eggman. Or only Sonic will have a classic version?


Not only that, but was City Escape's music in there or removed?

I'm guessing it was removed since I can't find it in any of the music packs around here.

Settling this right fucking now.

There are NO. I mean NO City Escape resources in the unpacked demo. No songs. No models. None. Only some textures and brief mentions in the debug code like the rest of the levels, but that's it. Please. For the love of all that is holy STOP ASKING ABOUT CITY ESCAPE. IT'S NOT IN THERE.
This post has been edited by Tanks: 25 June 2011 - 11:20 AM

  • 320 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

3 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users