Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Adventure 2 Hacking - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 61 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Adventure 2 Hacking Now a general SA2 Hax thread

#901 User is offline Dark Sonic 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 11:04 PM

  • Posts: 9943
  • Joined: 21-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Sonic Lost World: Nonexistent Six/Fixed Edition; Sonic Genesis Adventure (Let's see how long this lasts :V)
  • Wiki edits:10

View PostSven Cakemann, on 20 May 2017 - 11:01 PM, said:

Evening everybody, quick question.

Sorry if this has been a question asked once before, but I decided to drag out my Dreamcast again recently and SA2 got me thinking about something. I looked a few pages back and read a discussion where it was said that Adventure 2's engine is effectively a "pimped out" version of Adventure 1's, with them sharing a lot of the same formatting and values. With that being said, is the emerald radar that Knuckles and Rouge uses one of those things that could be ported over from Adventure 1 so that the radar will work/beep when they're close to any of the emerald(s/ pieces)? I never understood why Sonic Team made that change back in the day and it would be amazing if the SA1 radar could be brought over.

I mean they probably changed it to make the levels more challenging. Knuckles' levels in SA1 could be beaten in under a minute. Having a 1/3 of the game devoted to that wouldn't exactly draw out the gameplay now would it?

#902 User is offline Shaddy the guy 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 11:47 PM

  • Head chef at the crap cafe
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 27-September 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Beaverton OR
  • Project:One Piece English filler-free cut
Challenge is meaningless if the game stops being fun. Lots of people didn't even like it back in SA1, you think keeping them there for longer in the next game is going to improve their view on the game as a whole?

Anyway I'd super hope that more stuff can be ported from SA1 to 2, including this.

#903 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 11:51 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3727
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
It's not a question of "porting", it's merely a question of being able to recode the radar to check all the Emerald shards at the same time. The basic idea is instead of stopping when it gets to the first uncollected shard, we make it continue checking the others anyway. It sounds simple, but sometimes simple edits can require replacing the entire function, which requires a certain level of understanding of all the variables and function calls in it so we ensure we don't produce incorrect code that crashes the game. Furthermore, we barely know anything about how the Emerald radar operates, in either game. I believe Morph has looked into it, but as someone who has written an emerald manager/radar from scratch before, it can be very complicated.

And really, you don't have to ask us to fix the radar, that's been one of the things we've wanted to do ourselves since we first started modding SA2.

#904 User is offline Sven Cakemann 

Posted 21 May 2017 - 12:16 AM

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 19-May 17
  • Gender:Not Telling

View PostDark Sonic, on 20 May 2017 - 11:04 PM, said:

I mean they probably changed it to make the levels more challenging. Knuckles' levels in SA1 could be beaten in under a minute. Having a 1/3 of the game devoted to that wouldn't exactly draw out the gameplay now would it?

No, but I feel like that wasn't the best way to fix the problem. "Drawing it out" was exactly how it felt; the smaller levels were fine because doing a few passes over the area at least lets the player appreciate the geometry of the place and listen to the (admittedly awesome) soundtrack, but the space stages are an absolute nightmare. It's not so bad now that I'm older, but I remember playing SA2:B as a kid and I was miserable trying to hunt those fragments down because even then I knew that after I finally found the first one, unless I was right on top of the next piece, I had a yuuuge area to look back over.

Truthfully I'm not sure what the best way to fix it would be considering they're always in a different spot when you reload the stage; outside of just having better level design or places to hide them, the idea of just getting "lucky" on a specific run makes it an unfair kind of challenging that I think the SA1 radar dealt with better. Maybe Knuckles' levels in SA1 were just too small for the kind of scavenger hunt he was being sent on. Dunno.

Anyway, wall of text aside, I was just asking for the sake of getting gears turning and maybe to find out if it had already been done and I had just overlooked it. Figured since character physics, models, (some) levels, etc. could be change, might as well see about this.

View PostMainMemory, on 20 May 2017 - 11:51 PM, said:

It's not a question of "porting", it's merely a question of being able to recode the radar to check all the Emerald shards at the same time. The basic idea is instead of stopping when it gets to the first uncollected shard, we make it continue checking the others anyway. It sounds simple, but sometimes simple edits can require replacing the entire function, which requires a certain level of understanding of all the variables and function calls in it so we ensure we don't produce incorrect code that crashes the game. Furthermore, we barely know anything about how the Emerald radar operates, in either game. I believe Morph has looked into it, but as someone who has written an emerald manager/radar from scratch before, it can be very complicated.

And really, you don't have to ask us to fix the radar, that's been one of the things we've wanted to do ourselves since we first started modding SA2.

Oh.. Okay. Of course things can't be that simple, heh. I know SA2 isn't the most flexible of Sonic games to work with, so I won't hold out too much hope for it but I just wanted to put in my own thoughts about it to see what I could find out. I appreciate the answer.
This post has been edited by Sven Cakemann: 21 May 2017 - 12:29 AM

#905 User is offline CheatFreak 

Posted 22 May 2017 - 09:23 PM

  • Everything or Nothing.
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 22-May 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Project:BetterSADX Patch

View PostShaddy the guy, on 31 March 2017 - 12:50 PM, said:

You're in luck, I made it modloader-compatible too, where the original files were just the sound folder.

(which isn't saying much, because I just copied what I'd seen from other mods rather than actually looking up the way to do it properly, but it still works)

I might mirror this on my site's mod page much like what I did with Air Chomp's stuff, but only if you don't mind of course.
I'm trying to keep some of these more obscure mods in one place so they're easy to find.
This post has been edited by CheatFreak: 22 May 2017 - 09:23 PM

#906 User is offline Shaddy the guy 

Posted 22 May 2017 - 11:22 PM

  • Head chef at the crap cafe
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 27-September 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Beaverton OR
  • Project:One Piece English filler-free cut
It's not really even my mod, I stole the files from this post and put them in a mod folder, but since the MEGA link there is dead, I guess they're open to whoever. It's a simple enough thing that I don't see why I should hold dominion over it

#907 User is offline Jmtshaw 

Posted Yesterday, 11:27 AM

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 12-September 10
  • Gender:Not Telling
Is it possible to get E0350 to play?

E0350 is the event for the original game's intro. It's in the files for SA2B and the PC version, but for whatever reason (at least through Event Test in the Debug menu) it doesn't load. The Battle-less intro used for the PC version is just an SFD (e401_m) of the original scene.
It also looks like it's been changed a bit prior to being scrapped for the SA2B intro, as the textures for the metallic shine and the space background are slightly different to the ones from the Dreamcast version:

Dreamcast:
Spoiler

GameCube:
Spoiler


#908 User is offline Jase 

Posted Yesterday, 05:24 PM

  • ~~(_ _C^>
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 25-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, Surrey
Hey all,

Anyone able to help me find an address in Cheat Engine? I'm trying to find some sort of value that could alter the speed of the game, I'm guessing a value that is always at 1 but can be set to 0.5 for half speed, 2 for double etc. perhaps maybe even it's a value that's always at 60 due to the game running for that speed all the time.
I could swear I found something like this years ago on the Dreamcast Demul, but it must have been unimportant to me back then and I never recorded it. I've never been good at finding static values that never change, I believe I was randomly messing with numbers one day and came across it, so I have no clue where to start; although I already have messed around the common addresses a bit such as lives, and current stage, checking the 1's, 60's, and 00 00 80 3F's, but so far nothing.
The PC version is what I'm after, but even a rough idea of where it might be relative to other common addresses would be great!

The use of this is to see if I can get a silky smooth experience on my 144hz monitor that some games work great with. Currently, playing on the 144hz monitor will make the game run more than double the speed, so to counteract that, this address might save the day.
Perhaps this may backfire anyway, changing this value, if it even exists, may cause stuttering or something, but who knows!

  • 61 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users