Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Adventure 2 cutscene areas - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Adventure 2 cutscene areas

#1 User is offline flarn2006 

  Posted 04 January 2009 - 03:57 PM

  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 01-October 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SA2 Cheat Table
  • Wiki edits:19
I've noticed that in Sonic Adventure 2, several areas are only shown during cutscenes, such as
Spoiler
. And I'm not talking about pre-rendered video either. Several regular (not pre-rendered) cutscenes take place in
Spoiler
. However, when I look at the level codes (here and here) they aren't listed. A little help please?

#2 User is offline Sintendo 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 04:07 PM

  • Posts: 249
  • Joined: 15-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
A little help with what? You can't load them with the level code, because they're not levels.

#3 User is offline flarn2006 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 07:35 PM

  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 01-October 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SA2 Cheat Table
  • Wiki edits:19

View PostSintendo, on Jan 4 2009, 01:07 PM, said:

A little help with what? You can't load them with the level code, because they're not levels.


AFAIK, the level codes basically tell the game what map to load. The cutscene areas are most certainly stored in the same way, even though they are not playable levels, so it should be possible to access them as if they were.

#4 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 07:39 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
No.

They aren't levels. Levels and cutscenes are not stored the same way.

#5 User is offline flarn2006 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:32 PM

  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 01-October 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SA2 Cheat Table
  • Wiki edits:19

View PostPolygon Jim, on Jan 4 2009, 04:39 PM, said:

No.

They aren't levels. Levels and cutscenes are not stored the same way.


I don't mean the cutscenes themselves, just where they take place. For example, some cutscenes are in levels, like at the end of the boss fight vs. Bigfoot, when Sonic first meets Shadow, that boss level is loaded, and the cutscene plays out there. All of the cutscenes in Sonic Adventure 1 are like this, where internally a certain level is loaded where the cutscene plays out. You can see which level is loaded if you look in Sonic Adventure DX: Preview. Like when
Spoiler
a cutscene is played in Station Square, more specifically the Casino area.

But some cutscenes in SA2 aren't in playable levels, such as the example I gave of
Spoiler
. In the ones with playable levels, it loads the level and plays the cutscene. I'm sure it does the same thing with the other cutscenes, just as long as they aren't pre-rendered videos. Perhaps it loads some small area outside the boundaries of a playable level, like when
Spoiler
in SA1, or as a non-Sonic example, the opening cutscene in Grand Theft Auto III, which takes place in the so-called "ghost town."

#6 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:38 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
No.

The cutscenes are not the same as a level.


SADX is not the same, as the cutscenes take place in playable levels, the SA2 ones do not. They are in a different folder in the disk image called event, and stored differently, IIRC.
This post has been edited by Polygon Jim: 04 January 2009 - 09:39 PM

#7 User is offline Blanche Hodapp 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:40 PM

  • *urp*
  • Posts: 2520
  • Joined: 28-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rural Nowhere
  • Wiki edits:120
Please stop posting with spoiler tags, it gets rather annoying, and we've all played the game.

#8 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:45 PM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7485
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
Well, not all of us have, but it's not like any of those who haven't care very much at this point. Besides, someone not yet initiated with the game wouldn't have much spoiled from what you've got posted.


I'm a bit surprised there's a distinct difference between the stages and cutscene areas; if it had a PC version it might be possible to swap files. I know DC disc images are finicky toward hacking, though, so it wouldn't work well in that regard.

#9 User is offline Dude 

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:56 PM

  • 3ds MAX Help Desk
  • Posts: 3095
  • Joined: 11-September 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southbridge, MA
  • Project:Sonic Adventure Generations
  • Wiki edits:43

View PostPolygon Jim, on Jan 4 2009, 09:38 PM, said:

No.

The cutscenes are not the same as a level.


SADX is not the same, as the cutscenes take place in playable levels, the SA2 ones do not. They are in a different folder in the disk image called event, and stored differently, IIRC.



This man is correct.

Due to wonderful things like sonic running in place, and excessive data, sonic team decided to make the cutscenes completely independent. Its cleaner to do it that way. However this backfired on them when they ported the game to the gamecube and suddenly had over 9000 models to update instead of 1.

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users