Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 320 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Generations Hacking (and More!) Generations Cracked wide open (Custom Levels are an ongoing event!

#1096 User is offline Joe T.E. 

Posted 12 February 2012 - 02:03 PM

  • All life form data, successfully copied!
  • Posts: 142
  • Joined: 10-May 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:At my home in Florida
  • Project:Big the Cat in Sonic Generations, High-Res HUD for Sonic Lost World, Metal Sonic Lost World (Version 1.0,) Sonic Generations: Episode Metal (Version 3.0.)

View PostHitaxas, on 12 February 2012 - 12:52 PM, said:

I've got a question. Is there anyway to extend the amount of usable skill points? I'd like to mess around with a classic Sonic that uses both the Super Sonic and Homing Attack skills.


Posted Image
I can help you with that.

If you add in Lighting shield and edit Classic Sonic's xml to get 5 shield uses plus less BS ring loss on Super Sonic, the result is really overpowered.
Jump -> Homing Attack -> Double Jump is amazing, as is having the lightning shield attract rings for Super Sonic.


EDIT: I found a way to get it working without having to do a search every time.
Step 1: Download Cheat Engine.
Step 2: Download DWXnd (If you have a way to get back to your desktop during gameplay, skip this step.)
Step 3: Open Cheat Engine, then open Sonic Generations.
Step 4: In cheat engine, press the glowing button on the top left, and pick the Sonic Generations process.
Step 5: Download this file http://www.mediafire...bdf7fhi47l4y535
Step 6: Drag it into Cheat Engine.
Step 7: Click the Advanced Options text on the bottom left.
Step 8: Right click the text that shows up, and select "Find out what addresses this code accesses". A window will pop up. Leave it open.
Step 9: Go back into Sonic Generations, and start customizing one of the skill sets.
Step 10: While on the customization screen, go back to the window that popped up in cheat engine, and double click the address that appears in it.
Step 11: Look in the big white box in the main Cheat Engine window. Click the 100, and type 500 into the window that pops up, then press ok.
Step 12: Now the skill point limit will be 500 for as long as you remain in the skill customization screen.
Step 13: Repeat steps 7-12 each time you need to set up the skills within a skill set.
This post has been edited by Joe T.E.: 12 February 2012 - 11:28 PM

#1097 User is offline Azu 

Posted 12 February 2012 - 07:08 PM

  • I must be stupid.
  • Posts: 1523
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Home
I wonder if it's possible to use Super Sonic one bosses using CE.

#1098 User is offline Lobotomy 

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:49 PM

  • 35% Cognac
  • Posts: 4397
  • Joined: 22-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Traverse City
  • Project:Project: Matter/Energy
  • Wiki edits:94
So let's say I'm totally on board with making a custom level, and I am pretty sure I have the means to accomplish this. Should I start making Terrain Models now in hopes that importing my own terrain will become a possibility?
This post has been edited by Lobotomy: 12 February 2012 - 08:50 PM

#1099 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 12 February 2012 - 09:04 PM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
so what all do I need to have and do to replace music and possibly Modern Sonic with Shadow, Silver, or Metal

#1100 User is offline Aquaslash 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:31 AM

  • Emerald Dragoon
  • Posts: 2810
  • Joined: 17-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hampton, VA
  • Project:The S Factor: Sonia and Silver
  • Wiki edits:1,144

View PostAquaslash, on 08 February 2012 - 12:17 PM, said:

Random question, but does Shadow have his own jumping aura textures? I never did get to get a hold of the final texture pack


This seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle. I'd really appreciate an answer to this. =P

View PostArtFenix, on 11 February 2012 - 05:01 AM, said:

I think you have a point. And I hope porting models from other games will be possible in the future.
Free riders actually has almost no style. It's basically Unleashed/Generations models with different shoes and suits. What is more of importance is this guy.
Posted Image
He has yet to appear in a main modern 3D Unleashed-style game, but he already appeared in Free Riders, so porting his model to generations somehow wiould be awesome indeed. I suppose we just have to wait till the guys figure out model formats in both games (if anyone would bother working on Free riders hacking of course).


Agreed that he's really the only thing that would be important from Free Riders. For what it's worth, he's also in ASR as DLC.

#1101 User is offline ArtFenix 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:31 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 02-January 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
  • Project:New Sonic related Game Music Video

View PostAquaslash, on 13 February 2012 - 01:31 AM, said:

View PostAquaslash, on 08 February 2012 - 12:17 PM, said:

Random question, but does Shadow have his own jumping aura textures? I never did get to get a hold of the final texture pack


This seems to have gotten lost in the shuffle. I'd really appreciate an answer to this. =P

View PostArtFenix, on 11 February 2012 - 05:01 AM, said:

I think you have a point. And I hope porting models from other games will be possible in the future.
Free riders actually has almost no style. It's basically Unleashed/Generations models with different shoes and suits. What is more of importance is this guy.
Posted Image
He has yet to appear in a main modern 3D Unleashed-style game, but he already appeared in Free Riders, so porting his model to generations somehow wiould be awesome indeed. I suppose we just have to wait till the guys figure out model formats in both games (if anyone would bother working on Free riders hacking of course).


Agreed that he's really the only thing that would be important from Free Riders. For what it's worth, he's also in ASR as DLC.

Ah, how could I forget about him being in Sasasr?^^ Anyways, his model is a bit worse in that game if my memory serves me right, so Free Riders model is more preferable.
This post has been edited by ArtFenix: 13 February 2012 - 07:18 AM

#1102 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 06:36 AM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1050
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl

View PostLobotomy, on 12 February 2012 - 08:49 PM, said:

So let's say I'm totally on board with making a custom level, and I am pretty sure I have the means to accomplish this. Should I start making Terrain Models now in hopes that importing my own terrain will become a possibility?


Generations handles terrain pretty much like this.

-terrain-model file: Your model of any geometry you want(a plant pot, a tree). Doesn't need to be axis aligned to (0,0,0).
-terrain-instance file: A 4x4 position, rotation, and scale matrix

We don't have a way to import custom geometry yet, but it's just a matter of figuring out file formats(and the weird data after the "End of file" part is weird and have no idea what the hell it is). I was planning into making people just exporting an Ogre scene from Max(or any of the other 3D editors who have Ogre exporting plugins), and it would automatically get in all meshes, materials(which are human-readable and can be manually editted), and the .scene file says all the positions of instanced geometry.

Alternatively I was thinking of providing the option to "Import .mesh file" inside the program and you can just place it around by yourself. Do note that for making a custom level you should keep handy an extra mesh that will handle collision of the whole level(and it will be invisible).

We're pretty far off from even attempting to make a stage from scratch though. Also, someone needs to write a path file importer/exporter. It's just a bunch of XMLs, but I have no idea how to create splines in 3D. :( A max script will probably do the trick. (Path files handle quick-step paths, auto-running paths, grind rails, wall walking, loops, etc.)
This post has been edited by Dario FF: 13 February 2012 - 06:36 AM

#1103 User is offline Chimera 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 07:20 AM

  • I'm not a furry.
  • Posts: 1228
  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:TOO MANY. BUT ONE LESS.
  • Wiki edits:5
Aquaslash, I'm not entirely sure Shadow even jumps in Generations, as stupid as that sounds. O.o though I suppose you could use a more red version of Super Sonic's jump.

Anyway, I'm sure splines aren't that hard once you get the hang of making them. All they are are just the XYZ of the anchor point in 3D space plus the positions of the two handles, yes? If anything you could put in some manual imputs in a 3D editor if I remember right? I KNOW you can enter values into UDK (maybe even Unity) to get a working spline curve...

#1104 User is offline KuroBit 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:08 AM

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Gender:Not Telling

View PostLanzer, on 11 February 2012 - 09:07 PM, said:

Ok, this isn't funny anymore. knock it off your starting to scare me guys!:
http://www.youtube.c...h?v=AO2EjbgCotM

I'm sorry.


#1105 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:27 AM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 6721
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
Ok so we won't hack Sonic 4 to make it more classic and yet we will hack Generations, which is essentially a classic game plus, to become Sonic 4?!

...What?! :psyduck:

#1106 User is offline RGamer2009 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:34 AM

  • True Blue
  • Posts: 2533
  • Joined: 27-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wherever life takes me...
  • Wiki edits:3,086
Send that to Sonic Team, and tell them that is how we DON'T want Sonic gameplay to be.

And I second fixing Sonic 4 now that its on Steam.

#1107 User is offline KuroBit 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:53 PM

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Gender:Not Telling
Hah, well, it's much easier to break a game than it is to fix it. Anyway, are we actually able to change the physics in Sonic 4? The lack of any kind of "fix" hack led me to believe that we have no method of changing it's physics so far.

Although I am getting rather off topic, sorry about that.

#1108 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:02 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582

View PostLanzer, on 13 February 2012 - 11:27 AM, said:

Ok so we won't hack Sonic 4 to make it more classic and yet we will hack Generations, which is essentially a classic game plus, to become Sonic 4?!

...What?! :psyduck:



Well you see, you can edit Generations physics in fucking notepad. Sonic 4 on the other hand you would need to disassemble it into either x86 or PPC assembly(depending the version you are editing) then do a few days of work to figure out where Sonic's physics values even are, and even then you have a very small chance of doing anything beyond changing his speed. Honestly I do quite believe you are suffering from a mental deficiency.


Good day sir.
This post has been edited by Polygon Jim: 13 February 2012 - 02:07 PM

#1109 User is offline KuroBit 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:12 PM

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Gender:Not Telling

View PostPolygon Jim, on 13 February 2012 - 02:02 PM, said:

Sonic 4 on the other hand you would need to disassemble it into either x86 or PPC assembly(depending the version you are editing) then do a few days of work to figure out where Sonic's physics values even are, and even then you have a very small chance of doing anything beyond changing his speed.

Oh, so I'm not crazy for thinking that would be quite difficult? I didn't realize we knew nothing of Sonic 4's engine. Though I guess it makes sense, it was just such a simple undeveloped game, I don't think the effort put into trying to fix it would be something anyone would want to waste their time on, since the end result would be somewhat decent at best.

Generations on the other hand... The game is practically a half-closed/half-open source game development engine. I feel like there are going to be a lot of things we can do with this in the future.

EDIT: Or should I say that developing on this closed source engine is half open and half closed?... I don't know.
This post has been edited by KuroBit: 13 February 2012 - 02:14 PM

#1110 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:22 PM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1050
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar Del Plata
  • Project:SonicGLvl
Have another video.


My priority right now is to get the levels playable at least. If it's fun it should hold up on its own anyway... right? :v:

  • 320 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

3 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users