Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Gens/GS r7_pre5 - Preview Release - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 

Gens/GS r7_pre5 - Preview Release

#16 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 08 October 2009 - 12:57 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
Introducing the new Gens/GS Bugzilla! I set up a bug tracker to make it easier to track bugs in Gens/GS.

If you find a bug in Gens/GS, you can file a bug report at http://gs_server.gerbilsoft.ddns.info/bugs/ . (Registration is required in order to file bug reports.)

#17 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 10 October 2009 - 11:18 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
Bump for Release 7, Preview 5. smile.png

#18 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 11 October 2009 - 11:28 AM

  • Mako Retro
  • Posts: 2786
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest, Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:2,193
You should fix the window issue with Vista and 7:


#19 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 11 October 2009 - 12:12 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 12:28 PM)
You should fix the window issue with Vista and 7:

I'm not sure what the issue is.

Unless you're referring to the menu wrapping, which I can't really do much about. (I did rework the code so that it takes the total menu bar size into account when resizing the window, though.)

#20 User is offline HighFrictionZone 

Posted 11 October 2009 - 12:15 PM

  • Hi.
  • Posts: 855
  • Joined: 27-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Katy, Texas
  • Project:Nothing
  • Wiki edits:7
Perhaps reduce the Help menu to a simple ">>" that can be clicked to display the help menu. Since the help menu is in many cases not all that used, it could perhaps do with this change?

#21 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 11 October 2009 - 03:03 PM

  • Mako Retro
  • Posts: 2786
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest, Other Stuff
  • Wiki edits:2,193
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 11 2009, 06:12 PM)
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 12:28 PM)
You should fix the window issue with Vista and 7:

I'm not sure what the issue is.

Unless you're referring to the menu wrapping, which I can't really do much about. (I did rework the code so that it takes the total menu bar size into account when resizing the window, though.)

Well, if you resize the window yourself in Aero it goes into Basic mode. :O

#22 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 12 October 2009 - 12:03 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 04:03 PM)
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 11 2009, 06:12 PM)
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 12:28 PM)
You should fix the window issue with Vista and 7:

I'm not sure what the issue is.

Unless you're referring to the menu wrapping, which I can't really do much about. (I did rework the code so that it takes the total menu bar size into account when resizing the window, though.)

Well, if you resize the window yourself in Aero it goes into Basic mode. :O

I can't do much about that, since I don't have a Windows Vista or 7 machine and/or VM. Then again, Gens/GS is an "incomplete" version of Gens, so stuff like this should be expected.

#23 User is offline Phos 

Posted 12 October 2009 - 03:29 AM

  • Going for the high score on whatever that little bar is
  • Posts: 3318
  • Joined: 21-February 08
  • Gender:Male
Either way, it's an improvement over regular Gens which tended to force my computer into 16 bit color mode.

#24 User is offline Sik 

Posted 12 October 2009 - 03:43 AM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11
Any chances that it has to do with this?
http://www.opengl.org/pipeline/article/vol003_7/

#25 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 12 October 2009 - 08:12 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (Sik @ Oct 12 2009, 04:43 AM)
Any chances that it has to do with this?
http://www.opengl.org/pipeline/article/vol003_7/

I am planning on adding OpenGL support to the Win32 version in a future release. However, I won't be able to test the Vista/7-specific stuff myself. I'll need someone using Vista/7 to assist me with that.

EDIT: I filed a bug for Win32 OpenGL support: http://gs_server.gerbilsoft.ddns.info/bugs...w_bug.cgi?id=11
This post has been edited by GerbilSoft: 12 October 2009 - 08:34 AM
Reason for edit: Added Gens/GS Bugzilla link for Bug 11.

#26 User is offline Chris Highwind 

Posted 12 October 2009 - 08:55 AM

  • Bubble wrap makes everything better
  • Posts: 1633
  • Joined: 30-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Statesville, NC
  • Wiki edits:13
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 04:03 PM)
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 11 2009, 06:12 PM)
QUOTE (SOTI @ Oct 11 2009, 12:28 PM)
You should fix the window issue with Vista and 7:

I'm not sure what the issue is.

Unless you're referring to the menu wrapping, which I can't really do much about. (I did rework the code so that it takes the total menu bar size into account when resizing the window, though.)

Well, if you resize the window yourself in Aero it goes into Basic mode. :O


Odd, it doesn't do that to me.

Then again, when it starts, it uses the Double Render for me, but I've resized it a bit, and no Basic mode switch for me. Wonder why it does that to you?

#27 User is offline Supakitsune 

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:46 PM

  • well I guess I'll sega. I'll sega
  • Posts: 1477
  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Jazzy NYC
  • Wiki edits:7
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 12 2009, 09:12 AM)
However, I won't be able to test the Vista/7-specific stuff myself. I'll need someone using Vista/7 to assist me with that.
You know, the latest VMWare betas support Aero in Vista/7...

#28 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 13 October 2009 - 10:01 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (Supakitsune @ Oct 13 2009, 08:46 PM)
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 12 2009, 09:12 AM)
However, I won't be able to test the Vista/7-specific stuff myself. I'll need someone using Vista/7 to assist me with that.
You know, the latest VMWare betas support Aero in Vista/7...

You know, Windows Vista and 7 cost money. And I'm not pirating them, either.

Would you like to donate a retail copy of Windows 7?

#29 User is offline SwissCM 

Posted 14 October 2009 - 01:37 AM

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:1
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 14 2009, 01:01 PM)
QUOTE (Supakitsune @ Oct 13 2009, 08:46 PM)
QUOTE (GerbilSoft @ Oct 12 2009, 09:12 AM)
However, I won't be able to test the Vista/7-specific stuff myself. I'll need someone using Vista/7 to assist me with that.
You know, the latest VMWare betas support Aero in Vista/7...

You know, Windows Vista and 7 cost money. And I'm not pirating them, either.

Would you like to donate a retail copy of Windows 7?

The RC works until June next year and is legal to evaluate until then. Just grab the RC iso from some torrent site and grab a key from here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/download.aspx

Would you like to be less of an asshole when people suggest options?
This post has been edited by SwissCM: 14 October 2009 - 01:43 AM

#30 User is online GerbilSoft 

Posted 14 October 2009 - 08:20 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 1956
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (SwissCM @ Oct 14 2009, 02:37 AM)
Would you like to be less of an asshole when people suggest options?

The amusing part, of course, is that you've never actually downloaded Gens/GS. You just came to this topic because I said something negative about Windows 7. (EDIT: Did I even say anything negative about Windows 7? I'm looking up, and all I see is me stating I'm not buying a copy myself and I'm not pirating it.)

Mind posting something constructive instead of "LOL YOU'RE AN ASSHOLE"?

By the way, I'm not getting Win7 RC. I don't have enough space on my laptop's hard drive to install it in a VM, and it probably won't support Aero on my Win98SE test laptop (a ThinkPad G40). (Aero's what seems to be causing the above issues.)
This post has been edited by GerbilSoft: 14 October 2009 - 08:54 AM
Reason for edit: lolwut

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users