Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sega PC Reloaded - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sega PC Reloaded Four old games, working still/again

#16 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 01:03 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
It says it can't find a valid executable. Here's the SONICCD.EXE file.

#17 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 01:11 PM

  • Posts: 11056
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
This is really useful, great work!

Any plans on supporting Garfield Caught in the Act? The nuances it has on current systems are the following:

-Requires to copy and paste wing32.dll into c:/windows/system32
-Requires the CD for music
-Fullscreen doesn't work anymore
-You can't hit the fifth hole in the bonus stage using the regular cursor keys (I think it requires the center numerical key to be pressed?)
This post has been edited by ICEknight: 03 April 2015 - 01:26 PM

#18 User is offline Korama 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 01:28 PM

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 18-May 04

View PostMainMemory, on 03 April 2015 - 01:03 PM, said:

It says it can't find a valid executable. Here's the SONICCD.EXE file.


The file is identical, as I expected. Something strange must be going on. I uploaded a new build that should tell you exactly what fails in the soniccd.exe validity check. Thanks for your patience.


View PostICEknight, on 03 April 2015 - 01:11 PM, said:

This is really useful, great work!

Any plans on supporting Garfield Caught in the Act? The nuances it has on current systems are the following:

-Requires to copy and paste wing32.dll into c:/windows/system32
-Requires the CD for music
-Fullscreen doesn't work anumore
-You can't hit the fifth hole in the bonus stage using the regular cursor keys (I think it requires the center numerical key to be pressed?)


Thanks! I'm open to suggestions, but I can't promise that I'll be able to include each and every game, of course.
I just started looking into Bug!, Earthworm Jim and Comix Zone have also been mentioned, and now Garfield is on the list as well.
This post has been edited by Korama: 03 April 2015 - 01:29 PM

#19 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 01:46 PM

  • Posts: 11056
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
Let's check the fullscr--YIKES!
Posted Image

Also, for some reason, I can't move the window to my secondary screen.
This post has been edited by ICEknight: 03 April 2015 - 01:47 PM

#20 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 02:07 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
No valid executable found!
Name/Version mismatch (name=SONIC_P, ver=0)
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Edit: as long as I'm here how about Sonic's Schoolhouse? :v:
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 03 April 2015 - 02:14 PM

#21 User is offline Korama 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 02:38 PM

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 18-May 04

View PostICEknight, on 03 April 2015 - 01:46 PM, said:

Let's check the fullscr--YIKES!


Haha, I didn't know that would happen. But I'm not surprised. Ecco PC is quite a different beast from the other games. It's a mess internally with its multiple graphics modes.
Yes, it doesn't allow you to move the window past a screen border, because the programmers were too lazy to handle clipping, or didn't know that there's an IDirectDrawClipper
that would do the work for them...
The Sonic games should go fullscreen only on the monitor they're currently on, because my code handles the switching there. Not so for Ecco.
I am planning to bring it in line with the Sonic games, as far as the window handling is concerned, but that is going to take some major reworking.

View PostMainMemory, on 03 April 2015 - 02:07 PM, said:

No valid executable found!
Name/Version mismatch (name=SONIC_P, ver=0)

Edit: as long as I'm here how about Sonic's Schoolhouse? :v:/>

Hmm, that implies SONIC_P5.EXE gets tested, as it should be.
The code makes a list of every .exe in the folder and then weeds out all the entries that don't have the expected name, version info, or other characteristics.
You could try deleting SONIC_P5.EXE (it's useless anyway), and see if the error message changes.
For some reason I can't explain, SONICCD.EXE is apparently not found on your system, although it is there! Are some compatibility or security settings enabled for it?

Sonic's Schoolhouse? Ok, one more for the list.
This post has been edited by Korama: 03 April 2015 - 02:39 PM

#22 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 02:57 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
No valid executable found!
Could not read list of imports

If you need anything for Sonic's Schoolhouse, Sonic R, or Earthworm Jim Special Edition, I can help with those.

#23 User is offline Korama 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 03:18 PM

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 18-May 04

View PostICEknight, on 03 April 2015 - 01:46 PM, said:

Let's check the fullscr--YIKES!


I uploaded a new build that should constrain the game to the primary screen at least.

View PostMainMemory, on 03 April 2015 - 02:57 PM, said:

No valid executable found!
Could not read list of imports

If you need anything for Sonic's Schoolhouse, Sonic R, or Earthworm Jim Special Edition, I can help with those.


Ok, now we're getting somewhere. So soniccd.exe is found, but the import check fails. The new build should give details why.
And thanks for your offer, I'll get back to it when it's time. I have Sonic R myself, but not the other games.
This post has been edited by Korama: 03 April 2015 - 03:18 PM

#24 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 03:32 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
No valid executable found!
Could not read list of imports: couldn't create file mapping: The parameter is incorrect

I love error messages like that. Completely useless to anyone that isn't actively debugging the program when the error happens.

#25 User is offline Shadow Hog 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 03:41 PM

  • "I'm a superdog!"
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joined: 05-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Wiki edits:10
IIRC the only real issue with Sonic's Schoolhouse is that the audio is completely hosed for everything but movie files.

At least, that was the only issue when I last tried it.

#26 User is offline Korama 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 03:44 PM

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 18-May 04

View PostMainMemory, on 03 April 2015 - 03:32 PM, said:

I love error messages like that. Completely useless to anyone that isn't actively debugging the program when the error happens.

You and me both. "The parameter is incorrect" is coming straight from Windows (calling FormatMessage API with GetLastError).
Anyway, I hope we have found the cause now. New build online NOW.
Which version of Windows are you running, by the way?

I think I got it, used a function that required Windows 8 or newer.
It should work now on 7 and Vista, too.
This post has been edited by Korama: 03 April 2015 - 04:17 PM

#27 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 04:12 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1.

Sonic 3D seems to have an issue with joypad control where it thinks 'Up' is always pressed; and the 'S' key and 'Enter' are both acting as start and there's no spin dash key with the default controls.

#28 User is offline Korama 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 04:28 PM

  • Posts: 272
  • Joined: 18-May 04
Thanks for the info. I forgot I disabled the shift and control keys in Sonic 3D, while trying to implement custom controls. They aren't active yet, so you have to play the game with the default keyboard controls, the S/Enter thing is normal.
The joypad issue is not. It works fine with my gamepad.
Anyway, new build online that should fix the Sonic CD issue and the spindash key in S3D (shift, "B" also works).

#29 User is offline Ch1pper 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 05:19 PM

  • Fighting the Battle of Who Could Care Less
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 01-November 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Life.
  • Wiki edits:40
I'd love to see Comix Zone running on a modern OS. Not sure what would be needed for that exactly, but I've got it here if you need help with it.

#30 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 03 April 2015 - 05:23 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Sonic CD installs now, but it also has the issue with Up being held while my Genesis controller is connected. I tried using the ADX music from Sonic Gems Collection but it's not playing. I suppose I should get the music from the Steam version anyway.

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users