Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Basic Questions & Answers thread - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 410 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 407
  • 408
  • 409
  • 410
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Basic Questions & Answers thread NEWBIES: Start here!

#6121 User is offline sumerhays 

Posted 15 October 2018 - 10:00 AM

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 17-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:provo, utah
thank you! sorry, forgot to mention it's sonic 3 and knuckles. why does it only happen to tails?

#6122 User is offline Neo 

Posted 15 October 2018 - 10:52 AM

  • Clackerjack
  • Posts: 1381
  • Joined: 10-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Project:Sonic 3 Unlocked
  • Wiki edits:1
That's because even in 1 Player mode, Tails always loads his art to the player 2 VRAM slot. (Normally, he does this so he can appear alongside Sonic.) Meanwhile, both Sonic and Knuckles load their art to the player 1 slot, which means their base VDP pattern is the same, which means their art address isn't corrupted when you swap between them.

#6123 User is offline Aerosol 

Posted 15 October 2018 - 12:51 PM

  • FML and FU2
  • Posts: 10036
  • Joined: 27-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Not where I want to be.
  • Project:Sonic (?): Coming summer of 2055...?
Random question, but it's about the Sonic Jam ports.

What's the nature of the Saturn optimisations done?

Edit: I answered some of this myself but any more info would be great. I know the devs used VDP1 for sprites and VDP2 for all background and foreground art. I don't know anything else beyond that. Surely the game isn't running off of the Saturn's sound chip, right? I know it's a 68k but...
This post has been edited by Aerosol: 15 October 2018 - 06:04 PM

#6124 User is offline Neo 

Posted 15 October 2018 - 03:20 PM

  • Clackerjack
  • Posts: 1381
  • Joined: 10-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Project:Sonic 3 Unlocked
  • Wiki edits:1

View Postsumerhays, on 14 October 2018 - 05:11 PM, said:

i wanted to know if there is a way to make it so the sprite doesn't do that by altering the code or adding another one.

View PostNeo, on 15 October 2018 - 03:45 AM, said:

Plenty of ways to fix this problem to be sure, but I'll try to find a PAR-friendly one when I get home.

Okay, I was going to try patching the line that loads the saved VDP pattern so it doesn't run over the player's art address, but it turns out that code actually runs before the player object is even initialized, so uh.

This isn't ideal, but try using the code FFB00B:00A0 when switching to Tails, and FFB00B:0080 for everyone else. Either code can be left enabled to no ill effect, except it'll mess up the preview sprite in debug placement mode.

#6125 User is offline sumerhays 

Posted 17 October 2018 - 01:53 AM

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 17-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:provo, utah
wow yes!!! thank you!!!! i just have to enable them once they have gone into the bonus stage, if i do it before they turn into lines of text, haha it looks like its the copyright info.
i didn't think of this till now, but can you use a code that makes it so the bonus stage doesn't load?

#6126 User is offline sumerhays 

Posted 18 October 2018 - 03:19 AM

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 17-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:provo, utah
the closest i could get was with FFFE2A:0001.... i am going into the bonus stage from the 1st checkpoint in angel island, and its super weird, it teleports me under a random large ring in mushroom hill 2 with no bonus stage in between (which is what i want, i just want to spawn at the same checkpoint), the only other thing i can get with messing with the value is doing the bonus level and then spawning at the beginning of the level

#6127 User is offline Modern 

Posted 18 October 2018 - 01:48 PM

  • what tu hecc is modern!
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 05-August 17
  • Gender:Male
I'm asking this not for help in hacking myself, but just out of random curiosity. I'm well aware not many people hack Sonic 3 and Knuckles because the whole lock-on thing makes things a chore, but is there a reason people don't often mod either of the two games themselves? I get it would be redundant if you could just edit the full game, but it just confuses me. Sorry if this question comes off as dumb.

#6128 User is offline Neo 

Posted 18 October 2018 - 03:29 PM

  • Clackerjack
  • Posts: 1381
  • Joined: 10-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Project:Sonic 3 Unlocked
  • Wiki edits:1
Your confusion arises from this false belief:

View PostModern, on 18 October 2018 - 01:48 PM, said:

I'm well aware not many people hack Sonic 3 and Knuckles because the whole lock-on thing makes things a chore
Since that statement is completely false, a wrong conclusion logically follows.


The reason not many people hack S3K is the lack of knowledge of how the game works, which is fueled by a stigma about the higher quantity of hardcoded level events in that game relative to Sonic 1 and Sonic 2.

Between the three given options, hacking Sonic 3 alone would actually be the biggest chore, since a full disassembly of Sonic 3 has yet to be made.

#6129 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 18 October 2018 - 04:01 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
The current S&K disassembly makes working with S3K as a full game totally effortless. The disassembly includes all the necessary code and data from S3, just run buildS3Complete.bat and you get a standalone S3K ROM. You are partially correct in that building a ROM hack with lock-on support would be complicated, but there's really no reason why you would need to do that.

#6130 User is offline lordxernom 

Posted 19 October 2018 - 04:10 PM

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 26-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Tails Adventure LX, Tails Adventure X-L
I have minor trouble, how I can edit S1 HUD art properly in S1 Retro GitHub disassembly? I've tried this tutorial, but the only result I could got with artnem/HUD.bin was this:
Posted Image
Is it different in GitHub disasm case? Did I've missed something in tutorial? Was that method completely wrong? I've also tried SonMapED an Flex 2 in order to extract/edit sprites and mappings, but in this case I've got completely broken images to edit (in SonMapED case) or after editing HUD sprites inside Flex 2 and saving it I couldn't generate new built in GitHub disasm (only ASM-related errors, like it was changed by Flex 2, idk).

#6131 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 19 October 2018 - 04:33 PM

  • It's Saturday TV Toons!! (90's Style)
  • Posts: 1860
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16
The art in "artnem" folder is compressed in a huffman/entropy RLE compresison format created by SEGA, known as Nemesis (named after Nemesis, the one who cracked the compression format), hence the reason it's called "artnem". You will need to decompress the art before you can open it with Fatilety, and once you have edited the HUD tile art, you will need to re-compress it again back into the Nemesis format.

A link to the description of the format (though I think it could perhaps be explained better):

https://segaretro.or...sis_compression

A few links to help you (tools which can compress/decompress data for you):

https://segaretro.or...Data_Compressor
https://segaretro.org/KENSSharp

Here's a link to a compression/decompression series of tools which adds the functionality to your right click menu (I highly recommend this):

https://forums.sonic...ndpost&p=923716

#6132 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 19 October 2018 - 05:57 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Never use TSDC, it uses the old, buggy compressors. There's also a shell extension for FW-KENSC which has better compression than KENSSharp. There's also a set of command line tools for FW-KENSC but I don't know where those would be, you might have to build them yourself.

#6133 User is offline lordxernom 

Posted 19 October 2018 - 08:08 PM

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 26-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Tails Adventure LX, Tails Adventure X-L
Thanks for help! It worked and got the results I've wanted... Well, except that "e" letter issue:

Posted Image

It's pretty nitpicky issue, but I would like to know how to fix that. :) (checked HUD Sonic Icon.bin and searched for other ones, but couldn't find that one piece I've wanted to edit)

#6134 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 19 October 2018 - 10:42 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
The 'E' in 'SCORE' is part of the uncompressed art for the numbers.

#6135 User is offline Modern 

Posted 22 October 2018 - 11:01 AM

  • what tu hecc is modern!
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 05-August 17
  • Gender:Male

View PostNeo, on 18 October 2018 - 03:29 PM, said:

Your confusion arises from this false belief:

View PostModern, on 18 October 2018 - 01:48 PM, said:

I'm well aware not many people hack Sonic 3 and Knuckles because the whole lock-on thing makes things a chore
Since that statement is completely false, a wrong conclusion logically follows.


The reason not many people hack S3K is the lack of knowledge of how the game works, which is fueled by a stigma about the higher quantity of hardcoded level events in that game relative to Sonic 1 and Sonic 2.

Between the three given options, hacking Sonic 3 alone would actually be the biggest chore, since a full disassembly of Sonic 3 has yet to be made.


Sorry for my late reply but I apologize for my big dumb, I'm not sure where I got this misconception from

  • 410 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 407
  • 408
  • 409
  • 410
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users