Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Generations Megathread II - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 226 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 180
  • 181
  • 182
  • 183
  • 184
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Generations Megathread II WORD ON THE STREET: IT CAN'T BE BEAT

#2716 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:36 PM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 5228
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quartz Hill, California
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1

View Postezodagrom, on 19 January 2012 - 09:54 PM, said:

It's normal that it runs like that, netbooks are not meant for gaming (especially those that use Intel integrated graphics). :\


What he said. why are you trying to run it on a netbook, a laptop thats meant to use for normal internet activities only?

#2717 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:57 PM

  • I abuse text smilies way too much.
  • Posts: 3922
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Project:Art Assets for a Game Project
  • Wiki edits:2
You should have played the demo to see if it works decent on your PC.

#2718 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:20 PM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 5228
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quartz Hill, California
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
Appearently this hasn't been brought up so I'm going to help y'all out.

Listen up guys because I want to show you a handy website I've been using for YEARS:
http://www.systemreq...cyri/intro.aspx

Its called "Can you run it?" its a simple website that, after a short web based installation that removes itself shortly after, checks your computers system specs and compares them to the game's minimum and reccommend requirements. Generations is on there so is S4E1.

It'll save you guys allot of questions concerning if your computer can run a game or not.
This post has been edited by Lanzer: 19 January 2012 - 11:21 PM

#2719 User is offline K2J 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:25 PM

  • YOU CAN USE A MACHINE WITH MEMORY DATA
  • Posts: 2067
  • Joined: 19-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:America, The United States of
  • Project:Not School
  • Wiki edits:8
What does lighting the seven Chaos Emeralds do in the Casino Night minigame? Score multiplier?

#2720 User is offline Jaseman 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:44 PM

  • The programmer has a nap! Hold out! Programmer!
  • Posts: 945
  • Joined: 05-June 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greenville, South Carolina, USA, Earth, Milky Way
  • Project:Some unamed Sonic hack
  • Wiki edits:16

View PostW.A.C., on 19 January 2012 - 10:57 PM, said:

You should have played the demo to see if it works decent on your PC.


Yeah I used the demo. I knew it wouldn't run well. Crysis on Max runs better for me than sonic generations.

My laptop doesn't have an intel card, I keep that shit outa my computers. It's an ati radeon hd 4225. It's a netbook if you've read the description. Good ports let you scale down graphics till it works.

EDIT: oftentimes canirunit is wrong simply because the dev given system requirements are wrong.
This post has been edited by Jaseman: 19 January 2012 - 11:44 PM

#2721 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 19 January 2012 - 11:52 PM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 5228
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quartz Hill, California
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostJaseman, on 19 January 2012 - 11:44 PM, said:

EDIT: oftentimes canirunit is wrong simply because the dev given system requirements are wrong.


If I ever see that their system requirements are mislead I email them about it. they usually respond saying they will fix it.

#2722 User is offline Blivsey 

Posted 20 January 2012 - 08:43 AM

  • Charismatic Sonicaholic
  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: 20-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ioway
  • Project:Throwing my support behind others' projects (aka none)
So I'm getting the QuickStep glitch /really bad/ in the Steam demo. Anyone else getting it? I tried playing Classic and switching back, but it did nothing.

#2723 User is offline Neowl 

Posted 20 January 2012 - 10:52 AM

  • A rather dapper Owl indeed!
  • Posts: 455
  • Joined: 27-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, England
  • Project:SAIL HATAN, and also performing necromancy on feelsgoodman

View PostLanzer, on 19 January 2012 - 11:20 PM, said:

Appearently this hasn't been brought up so I'm going to help y'all out.

Listen up guys because I want to show you a handy website I've been using for YEARS:
http://www.systemreq...cyri/intro.aspx

Its called "Can you run it?" its a simple website that, after a short web based installation that removes itself shortly after, checks your computers system specs and compares them to the game's minimum and reccommend requirements. Generations is on there so is S4E1.

It'll save you guys allot of questions concerning if your computer can run a game or not.


I find that more often than not, if you've got intergrated graphics on a laptop, then Can You Run It will tell you that you can't run a game, regardless of if the intergrated graphics are good or not.

Case in point - I just checked Sonic 4 Episode 1 (Which I've been running on my laptop since it was released yesterday, and running VERY well), and the site gave me a FAIL due to this:

Posted Image

#2724 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 20 January 2012 - 11:25 AM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 5228
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quartz Hill, California
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
Yeah they should really address that bug. I've have had the same problem with other games but if I pass the checkmarks at the bottom then its just the bug acting up.

I should email them about that, maybe with enough complaints they will fix it.

#2725 User is offline Dark Sonic 

Posted 20 January 2012 - 04:51 PM

  • DYNAMIC SONIC! EXCITING SONIC! STYLISH SONIC! UNBELIEVABLE!
  • Posts: 7854
  • Joined: 21-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Making the world know that Lost World 3DS is terrible
  • Wiki edits:10
I finally got Windows back on my computer via bootcamp, and the demo runs pretty well. Perfect? Hell no, but it's definitely playable. Basically, it's like the console version.

For $15 I'm willing to experiment. This game running ok for $15 is still worth a hell of a lot more then Sonic 4 Ep 1 running great for $10

#2726 User is offline Blivsey 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:39 AM

  • Charismatic Sonicaholic
  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: 20-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ioway
  • Project:Throwing my support behind others' projects (aka none)
So it seems my controller is causing the Quick Step glitch, because playing with a keyboard eliminates the problem entirely.

in semi-related news, somehow I am better with my keyboard than I am with my USB controller, because one hour and a 1:53 time on GHZ2 later :v:

#2727 User is offline DustArma 

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:48 AM

  • Posts: 1154
  • Joined: 27-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Project:Learning Python.

View PostBlivsey, on 21 January 2012 - 12:39 AM, said:

So it seems my controller is causing the Quick Step glitch, because playing with a keyboard eliminates the problem entirely.

in semi-related news, somehow I am better with my keyboard than I am with my USB controller, because one hour and a 1:53 time on GHZ2 later :v:


Use Xbox360ce to fix the quickstep glitch (We really need to put a sticky or something about that)

#2728 User is offline prettyugly 

Posted 23 January 2012 - 03:31 AM

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
So I went and bought the Casino Night Zone DLC and I gotta say, this is the most pointless DLC ever. Oh well, at least the money went to a good cause (funding a PC port of Sonic 2006, I hope).

#2729 User is offline Chimera 

Posted 23 January 2012 - 08:24 AM

  • I'm not a furry.
  • Posts: 858
  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:TOO MANY. BUT ONE LESS.
  • Wiki edits:5
>Pinball game pointless
>Hoping for PC port of absolute worst game ever

sir, are you okay?


...alright, I can admit for a Sonic game it's kinda unfitting, and a PC port of 06 could lead to mods that could make it less crap (most of the game is coded in LUA after all!), but eh, I enjoyed the pinball game and I doubt 06 will ever be touched by SEGA again outside of a remake.

#2730 User is offline trakker 

Posted 23 January 2012 - 11:40 AM

  • The guy that's been warned!
  • Posts: 1579
  • Joined: 17-June 09
  • Gender:Male

View Postprettyugly, on 23 January 2012 - 03:31 AM, said:

So I went and bought the Casino Night Zone DLC and I gotta say, this is the most pointless DLC ever. Oh well, at least the money went to a good cause (funding a PC port of Sonic 2006, I hope).


The Pinball is great, its really fun, there are only 2 things wrong with it
1. Sonic will occasioanlly just bounce off the table, loosing you a life
2. As shown by me here, the scorecap is 999,999
Posted Image
I COULDAA KEPT GOING DANMIT!
This post has been edited by trakker: 23 January 2012 - 11:41 AM

  • 226 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 180
  • 181
  • 182
  • 183
  • 184
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users