Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Arcade Machine - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Arcade Machine The CRT needs-a-fixin

#1 User is offline Bibin 

  Posted 02 May 2008 - 08:11 PM

  • DON'T LET THE SUN LAUGH AT YOU.
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 05-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City
  • Project:Ghost in the Machine
So my arcade monitor is having issues. I think the caps in the PSU and/or monitor need to be replaced, as... 

-The degaussing coil does not work 
-Odd lines on screen 
-Video does not fill the screen (adjustments do not fix it) 
-Cycles between way-too-bright and way-too-dark 
-Odd lines and wiggles on the screen every second or so 
-Inputs occasionally drop out 

Video with the problems: http://www.youtube.c...h?v=KMuU8D9wot8
This post has been edited by Bibin: 03 May 2008 - 12:14 AM

#2 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 03 May 2008 - 02:36 AM

  • Posts: 3473
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:America
  • Wiki edits:2
I had the same problem with my arcade machine. Replace the monitor with a standard TV. Its clearer, newer and you can run windows on it, offering more then a single game on a PCB. Then you can keep the original Board in mint condition.

Here's my arcade machine.

EDIT: Obviously I mean you can run a PC through the normal TV Screen, not that you can run windows from the TV =P
This post has been edited by Vangar: 03 May 2008 - 09:12 AM

#3 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 03 May 2008 - 06:45 AM

  • Posts: 1767
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany
  • Wiki edits:3
I think that the tube is gone. Or maybe parts of it like the line transformator etc. But I think the problem here is that the CRT can't fully load up the High voltage electricity. Also it could be that multiple capacitors are bad. I think it's not worth fixing it, I think you should get a new CRT.

#4 User is offline Moogle! 

Posted 03 May 2008 - 11:11 AM

  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 24-April 08
  • Gender:Male
How old is the machine? I'm not an expert, but sounds like a bunch of old resitors and burnt out caps. TV tubes can last a really long time, far longer tan the afformentioned components.

Stay tuned while I dig for something on Google.

While they aren't talking about arcade machines, the concept is still the same.

http://www.pic101.co...oniq/pswoes.htm
http://antiqueradio.org/recap.htm

Be careful, as I'm sure you already know, things inside a monitor can fuck up your day.
This post has been edited by Moogle!: 03 May 2008 - 11:25 AM

#5 User is offline Bibin 

  Posted 03 May 2008 - 06:34 PM

  • DON'T LET THE SUN LAUGH AT YOU.
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 05-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City
  • Project:Ghost in the Machine

View PostOerg866, on May 3 2008, 07:45 AM, said:

I think that the tube is gone. Or maybe parts of it like the line transformator etc. But I think the problem here is that the CRT can't fully load up the High voltage electricity. Also it could be that multiple capacitors are bad. I think it's not worth fixing it, I think you should get a new CRT.


300 dollars versus 50 dollars (new arcade crt, new caps)? I think I'll pass; the power supply should have the caps replaced anyway for safety purposes.




I don't want to replace it with with a PC and a TV since the TV's composite or RF input (S-Video if I'm lucky) will not look crisp and clear as a properly maintained arcade machine will look; it will have video artifacts which is unacceptable. RGB is the only way to go. Also, a PC will generate noise. The Dig-Dug motherboard as it is generates no noise other than game sound effects, and I'd like to keep it that way. Apart from that, this machine is currently full of genuine arcade parts and I'd like to keep it that way.

#6 User is offline Bibin 

Posted 05 May 2008 - 05:59 PM

  • DON'T LET THE SUN LAUGH AT YOU.
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 05-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City
  • Project:Ghost in the Machine
Ok, so I plugged it in today, and it was all normal, but this time I smelled burning. I unplugged it of course; what do you think that could be?

#7 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 12:48 AM

  • Dem Melons
  • Posts: 3069
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:SMSRPG
  • Wiki edits:10
Perhaps the PSU is just simply on its way.

#8 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 01:30 AM

  • Posts: 1767
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany
  • Wiki edits:3
OK it smells burned and the CRT is working normal, right...?

Maybe, there was several caps / some other parts that were nearly broken, and its brokeyness caused the monitor not to work properly. But there are several parts that the monitor doesn't need to function, so that it works when they're gone / completele destroyed. I can't name them as I'm no expert, but I have seen several monitor repairings by experts, and they also said....

Me: Well, why don't you put a new *PART* there?
Guy: Well the monitor doesn't need it.

So, I think that you can just search for the part that's burned, throw it away and the monitor should have a happy life till it's over ;)
This post has been edited by Oerg866: 06 May 2008 - 01:34 AM

#9 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 01:59 AM

  • Posts: 3473
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:America
  • Wiki edits:2
I really don't think so. I have a brand new TV in my arcade machine using Svideo (All TV's have Svideo now). Any TV with Svideo is 100 times better then some old arcade monitor, the video isn't crisp and bright anymore, because as you've found out, its on its way out and already has many years behind it. I compared mine to many arcades in town and it beats the hell out of them.
This post has been edited by Vangar: 06 May 2008 - 01:59 AM

#10 User is offline Qjimbo 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 10:04 AM

  • Your friendly neighbourhood lemming.
  • Posts: 4444
  • Joined: 17-February 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver
  • Wiki edits:69
S-Video?

RGB is where it's at. Thankfully we have SCART over here =D

#11 User is offline Bibin 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 02:37 PM

  • DON'T LET THE SUN LAUGH AT YOU.
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 05-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City
  • Project:Ghost in the Machine
Yeah, RGB is indefinitely better than S-video, and always will be. A new arcade monitor will kick the crap out of a TV with S-video.

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users