Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Wii Buzzing Noises - Broken HD Convertor Box - Corrupted SD Card - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Wii Buzzing Noises - Broken HD Convertor Box - Corrupted SD Card Everything is resolved! :D

#1 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 14 February 2014 - 04:33 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Edit from 3/10/2014:

Reformatting my SD card fixed my issues with Gecko OS.

Edit from 3/1/2014:

After fixing my Wii's buzzing issue and replacing my HD converter, my current issue with my Wii is that some games are no longer loading with Gecko OS. I've tested it with NSMBW, DKCR, and Kirby's Return to Dreamland. NSMBW and DKCR won't load with Gecko OS regardless if I enable SD codes, while the Kirby game runs without any issues. Any idea what could be causing these issues? These games work fine run normally. Also, the official forum for Gecko OS is offline. [LINK] Does anyone know if this downtime is permanent?

Edit from 2/24/2014:

So I fixed the buzzing issue with my Wii but for some unlucky reason, my HD convertor box died last night. It went out temporarily last year so I'm not surprised it finally bit the dust this year, but the timing was bizarre since I just fixed the buzzing issue. Anyways, the reason I used that product is because I do gaming on a monitor instead of a TV, so I'm unable to plug my Wii's component cables into my monitor. What product will give me the best picture quality for my Wii at an affordable price with absolutely no additional input lag? God, if Nintendo just made the Wii an HD system, I would've never had to spend $50 on a converter box and $30 on component cables 2 1/2 years ago. -_- Main reason I prefer getting a different product this time is because my old converter box didn't upscale to 1080p.

Original Post:

For whatever fucking reason, I seem to have a lousy history of dealing with buzzing noises. I don't know if this is a sign of me taking shit care of my systems or what, but my Wii has been making terrible buzzing noises for years now and I can't stand it anymore. My Wii sounds like what this guy's Wii used to sound like.



Aggravating to say the least, especially to someone like myself who has been experiencing a headache 24/7 for around five fucking years. So I decided to open up my Wii tonight to fix the issue (which is what that uploader did to fix his Wii). After unscewing 12 nails and screws, I came across two screws that wouldn't let me unscrew them. At this point, I think they might be stripped.

Posted Image

I can't really make any additional progress opening up my Wii without unscrewing those fuckers. What the hell do I do?
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 10 March 2014 - 08:45 AM

#2 User is offline Pexs 

Posted 14 February 2014 - 10:44 AM

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: 01-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Around here somewhere.
Oh yeah. My Wii used to make that noise.

It comes from a small metal part grinding up against the non-data side of your discs. All I did to fix mine was open it and literally bend the part away from the disc drive.

You'll be needing some Triwing screwdrivers to get inside, though. Nintendo uses those to keep people out of their consoles in general. You can apply them to DSes as well.

#3 User is offline SpeedStarTMQ 

Posted 14 February 2014 - 05:02 PM

  • Posts: 2285
  • Joined: 20-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Wiki edits:5
I currently have this issue, was fixed before, but is happening again. Haven't gotten around to sending the console in for repair yet. It's not harmful, so don't fret :v:

#4 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 14 February 2014 - 09:02 PM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

View PostPexs, on 14 February 2014 - 10:44 AM, said:

Oh yeah. My Wii used to make that noise.

It comes from a small metal part grinding up against the non-data side of your discs. All I did to fix mine was open it and literally bend the part away from the disc drive.

You'll be needing some Triwing screwdrivers to get inside, though. Nintendo uses those to keep people out of their consoles in general. You can apply them to DSes as well.

I have a tri-wing screw-driver. It worked for all the other tri-wing nails and screws, but not that those two. :(

View PostSpeedStarTMQ, on 14 February 2014 - 05:02 PM, said:

I currently have this issue, was fixed before, but is happening again. Haven't gotten around to sending the console in for repair yet. It's not harmful, so don't fret :v:/>/>

I can't stand the noise anymore while playing games. >_< It makes my headaches worse.

#5 User is offline SpeedStarTMQ 

Posted 15 February 2014 - 07:20 AM

  • Posts: 2285
  • Joined: 20-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Wiki edits:5
Oh yeah, don't get me wrong, it's annoying, but don't worry about it breaking your games like I originally did, that's all!

#6 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 15 February 2014 - 07:31 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
In the mean time, what do I do about the two nails I can't remove? I think they're stripped and I need to take them out to fix my noise issues.
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 15 February 2014 - 07:31 AM

#7 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 23 February 2014 - 10:30 PM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Best solution I can think of to fix this issue is to use a dremel tool to convert the screws into flatheads. My dad has a dremel tool, but it's on his boat so it could take as long as a month before he brings that tool back. -_- With my Wii's buzzing noise, I just want to fix the issue so I can play it again without worsening my 24/7 headache. Any suggestions for an alternative solution?

#8 User is offline Aerosol 

Posted 23 February 2014 - 10:31 PM

  • FML and FU2
  • Posts: 10143
  • Joined: 27-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Not where I want to be.
  • Project:Sonic (?): Coming summer of 2055...?
Put blu-tac in the screw wells around the screws?

#9 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 23 February 2014 - 11:02 PM

  • Posts: 3473
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:America
  • Wiki edits:2
If you are steady enough, you can drill them out through the middle of the head of the screw. Do that as a last resort though.

EDIT: One drastic solution is mod the wii and load games through the HDD, so there is no spinning.
This post has been edited by Vangar: 23 February 2014 - 11:03 PM

#10 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 24 February 2014 - 12:55 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Well, after many attempts to get the screws out, I ended up destroying both screws. However, it turns out the part I wanted to access could have been accessed without all that hassle and destroyment of parts...if only I finished watching some video tutorial. Words cannot describe how stupid I feel right now.

#11 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 25 February 2014 - 01:17 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
I edited the first post. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Quote

So I fixed the buzzing issue with my Wii but for some unlucky reason, my HD convertor box died last night. It went out temporarily last year so I'm not surprised it finally bit the dust this year, but the timing was bizarre since I just fixed the buzzing issue. Anyways, the reason I used that product is because I do gaming on a monitor instead of a TV, so I'm unable to plug my Wii's component cables into my monitor. What product will give me the best picture quality for my Wii at an affordable price with absolutely no additional input lag? God, if Nintendo just made the Wii an HD system, I would've never had to spend $50 on a converter box and $30 on component cables 2 1/2 years ago. -_- Main reason I prefer getting a different product this time is because my old converter box didn't upscale to 1080p.

As for how I got rid of the buzzing issue, I just loosened a couple of screws like that one guy did who made the video I embedded in my first post.

Edit-

I'm considering this product.

Edit-

Looks like this product is the successor to the previous product I had. Also looks like it doesn't have the overheating issue which is what probably killed my old device.

Edit-

Turns out the actual successor is a piece of crap. lol Wait, that looks identical to the one I was initially considering. Fuck. Also turns out my first link only has one actual review out of the 136 reviews...which was a 3 star review. I guess the second converter I considered (this one by CE Compass) is probably my best choice. A guy mentioned the colors look "good and are richer, but darker" which initially concerned me, but he also owned the product I had and some reviewers complained about colors looking washed out with my old converter. So he's probably used to seeing things lighter with the other product. I used to use one of my monitor's modes that made things brighter and darker, so it's possible I didn't realize for a long time that it probably made things look too washed out. Unless someone suggests a better product that's affordable, CE Compass's product seems like my best bet. I won't be able to order anything until Wednesday at the earliest. The product also isn't eligible for Amazon Prime, so fucking hell it'll probably take awhile to arrive.

Edit-

Guess I'm best off ordering it through eBay. [LINK] If any of you are able to suggest an even better converter, that would be great since the earliest I can order this is tomorrow.
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 25 February 2014 - 04:57 AM

#12 User is offline Chibisteven 

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:03 PM

  • Posts: 1249
  • Joined: 20-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Wiki edits:11
Shit happens. I had an A/V Switch (over 10 years old), die and take out an entire VHS decks composite video system, even the RF don't work. Sound works with full Hi-Fi audio and it plays tapes just fine (no picture). Not even broadcast TV displays anything nor do the menus or anything. Boggles the mind how something external (like an old switch) can do that level of damage.

The HD Converter likely was poorly made or subject to conditions that caused it to fail. My case was all the traces were becoming exposed and just failed in a way that was damaging to my connected devices. Mind you I was using a composite video selector. They make stuff like that of such poor quality that just about anything can go wrong.

If all that's dead is your HD Converter, count your blessings and replace the damn thing with something that lasts and isn't a risk in damaging your connected equipment.
This post has been edited by Chibisteven: 26 February 2014 - 07:07 PM

#13 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:23 PM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Judging from all the research I've done, the one I ordered today seems to be my best option under $50. I think my HD converter died from overheating. Lately I've noticed it's been pretty warm when I've touched it and I'm glad the one I ordered is unlikely to have overheating issues. When it arrives on Monday (or hopefully earlier), I'll let you guys know how well it works. Regardless of quality, it should be better than my last one.
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 26 February 2014 - 07:23 PM

#14 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 01 March 2014 - 12:02 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
It came today and works great except for one issue: my wiimote's pointer controls aren't detecting. I recently had that issue with my previous converter box as well so I know it's not my box that's causing the problem. Any idea what could be causing the interference?

Edit-

Could've sworn I got it to work on my mom's TV recently, but it's not working right now. I think the sensor stopped working.

Edit-

Now I have the sensor bar working on my mom's TV, but not my monitor. wtf?

Edit-

Okay, I think I just need to put all the screws and nails back together and my Wii should be fine.

Edit-

Putting all the screws and whatnot together fixed everything. Well, most of the screws. I lost some. >_>

Edit-

For some reason, I'm unable to get certain games working with Gecko OS anymore. NSMBW and DKCR flat out refuse to load, while Kirby's Return to Dreamland works just fine. This happens regardless if I have SD code enabled. I wonder why I'm experiencing this problem.
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 01 March 2014 - 04:13 AM

#15 User is offline W.A.C. 

Posted 08 March 2014 - 06:18 AM

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
After much trial and error, I realized something.

If I load Gecko OS with my Wii's USB port, games launch fine but I always get a code not found message.

If I load Gecko OS with my Wii's SD card port, most games will not launch regardless if I try to use codes. It just freezes on the Gecko OS screen, but SD codes can be enabled if I go this route.

What can I do to get Gecko OS working properly when I use my SD card port? Or alternatively, how can I get SD codes working via USB? This is driving me nuts. All I want to do is play certain Wii games with a Classic Controller Pro. >_<

Edit-

I would make another post but after triple posting, I feel it's best I make an edit instead. I was able to fix my issues by reformatting my SD card with the official SD Formatter.
This post has been edited by W.A.C.: 10 March 2014 - 08:39 AM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users