Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Basic Questions & Answers thread - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 

Basic Questions & Answers thread NEWBIES: Start here!

#5221 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 22 August 2014 - 08:16 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 3156
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339

View PostJimmy Hedgehog, on 22 August 2014 - 08:07 AM, said:

That makes sense. Another chunk related question, say I were to add custom chunks to place in the levels in addition to those already placeable/selectable, would I need to find space for these additional chunks?

If the level already has the maximum amount of chunks, you can either delete existing chunks that you aren't using (which will break any other layout that uses the same chunk set) and add new chunks to the end of the list, or edit existing chunks in-place.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 22 August 2014 - 08:17 AM

#5222 User is offline Jimmy Hedgehog 

Posted 22 August 2014 - 08:21 AM

  • Posts: 1210
  • Joined: 13-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England - Slough
  • Project:RAoSTH (Sprite Comic), Sawnik (Still need a better name)
  • Wiki edits:2
Ah, alright, that's cleared things up then. Thanks!

#5223 User is online KingofHarts 

Posted 24 August 2014 - 12:18 AM

  • Amigo
  • Posts: 1330
  • Joined: 07-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Hampshire, USA
  • Project:Sonic Triad Studio
  • Wiki edits:1
Quick help needed. I wanna make the emerald jingle work like the Extra Life does, where the music fades back in afterward.


Tried this in s1.sounddriver.asm:


Sound_PlayBGM:
		cmpi.b	#bgm_Emerald,d7		; is the "extra life" music to be played?
		beq.s	@bgmcont	; if not, branch
                cmpi.b	#bgm_ExtraLife,d7		; is the "extra life" music to be played?
		bne.s	@bgmnot1up	; if not, branch
	@bgmcont:
                tst.b	f_1up_playing(a6)	; Is a 1-up music playing?
		bne.w	@locdblret	; if yes, branch
		lea	v_track_ram(a6),a5
		moveq	#9,d0	; [(1 DAC + 6 FM) or (7 FM)] + 3 PSG

@clearsfxloop:




#5224 User is offline ValleyBell 

Posted 24 August 2014 - 01:17 AM

  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 08-September 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:researching SMPS sound drivers
  • Wiki edits:10
Making a song act like a 1-up jingle consists of two parts.
Part 1 is what you have done already - make a save state of the level BGM.
Part 2 is to make it restart the BGM after the jingle finishes. In order to make that work, you need to hex-edit the SMPS file. Search for the Track End flag ($F2) on the DAC track and replace it with the Fade In flag ($E4).

#5225 User is offline flamewing 

Posted 24 August 2014 - 09:04 AM

  • Elite Hacker
  • Posts: 724
  • Joined: 11-October 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasil
  • Project:Sonic Classic Heroes; Sonic 2 Special Stage Editor; Sonic 3&K Heroes (on hold)
  • Wiki edits:12
Except doing it on the DAC track for the emerald jingle won't work, as it uses 6 FM channels — this would cause premature fade-in. You want to use the flag ValleyBell suggested, but at the end of another track.

#5226 User is offline LovelyAyriana 

Posted 28 August 2014 - 04:30 PM

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 15-August 14
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:CT
So, I am trying to change the background of the Title Screen in Sonic 1 using SonEd2. I followed the guide to create the new files so that the game would call for the background I made rather than the Green Hill Zone background. I save the work that I have done in SonEd2 then build and test the game. Every time I test the game, the title screen has no background and neither does Green Hill Zone. What am I doing wrong?

  • 349 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 347
  • 348
  • 349
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users