Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Alright, this has been bothering me for YEARS. - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Alright, this has been bothering me for YEARS. Concerning Winged Foretress Zone

#1 User is offline Fiz 

  Posted 17 August 2003 - 05:28 PM

  • FACKIN' BIG PENIS
  • Posts: 1985
  • Joined: 17-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:PENIS
I remember years ago, when Sonic 2 first came out (I was about five or six years old at the time), I was playing Winged Foretress Zone, and I got stuck and started wandering around for about seven minutes. Then I noticed something, the flames at the bottom of the ship turned black and grey. I kind of looked at it for a moment, then found my way to the boss.

But, I've never been able to the get the flames to go black again. I've tried several times, but nothing happened. Did the pallette get screwed up or something?

I also remember having some sort of glitch appear several times in Chemical Plant zone where I could walk on air. But I can't do that anymore either, but I'm not concerned about that right now.

Any comments concerning this are appreciated.

#2 User is offline SupperTails66 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 06:38 PM

  • Posts: 1101
  • Joined: 16-August 03
  • Gender:Male
I've had that happen to me, but only if I mess around in Debug mode. I've never been able to figure it out either.

#3 User is offline SGR 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 06:44 PM

  • It's time for Animaniacs.
  • Posts: 1690
  • Joined: 27-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
  • Wiki edits:84
The pallette for the flames are used for 2 things. So, in other words they alternate. The black pallette is used for the conveyor belt, and the orange one is used for the flames (duh!).

#4 User is offline Fiz 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 06:47 PM

  • FACKIN' BIG PENIS
  • Posts: 1985
  • Joined: 17-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:PENIS
Hm, weird. It happened to me without debug on (hell, I didn't even know what that was back then).

Whee, Pallette screw ups are fun.

#5 User is offline SGR 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 06:49 PM

  • It's time for Animaniacs.
  • Posts: 1690
  • Joined: 27-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
  • Wiki edits:84
Hmm...I've seen it a million times.

#6 User is offline Fiz 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 07:17 PM

  • FACKIN' BIG PENIS
  • Posts: 1985
  • Joined: 17-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:PENIS
Alright, I got it to happen again. But then the game froze on me. I should really play it on the Genesis instead of the Nomad, it freezes up too much...

#7 User is offline Rob Jinnai 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 07:31 PM

  • Not really master of theory debunking anymore
  • Posts: 215
  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Custom Game Engine Prototypes
  • Wiki edits:1
Right. The level can active one of two palette cycles for either the rocket flames or the belts. I'm not sure what triggers the switch, but you're obviously finding some way to miss the trigger, thus producing the condition.

#8 User is offline Fiz 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 07:47 PM

  • FACKIN' BIG PENIS
  • Posts: 1985
  • Joined: 17-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:PENIS
I just did it again. The first time I got it to happen I place a bunch of the rotating shelves from the conveyor belts in one spot, and the pallette changed, then the game froze.

This time I put one of the rotating shelves onto a conveyor bely, and then the pallette changed immediatly. I would say this is the main trigger.

But I still have no idea how it happened when I was playing it without debug all those years ago. Ah well.

#9 User is offline Neko Kit Su 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 09:41 PM

  • I've never had a title, and I never will!
  • Posts: 746
  • Joined: 08-March 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Ridgecrest, CA
  • Project:Freelance
  • Wiki edits:10
I've had that happen too =P

O, and there have been several times when I've had Tails slide across platforms in OOZ, only in the final.

#10 User is offline SGR 

Posted 17 August 2003 - 10:33 PM

  • It's time for Animaniacs.
  • Posts: 1690
  • Joined: 27-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
  • Wiki edits:84
Well, in the Beta you can make Sonic stand on air.

#11 User is offline Tom41 

Posted 19 August 2003 - 01:32 PM

  • Pheer the baby EggRobo!
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 18-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
There are invisible trigger lines/sprites in WFZ that are supposed to switch the palette to whatever you're going to see. You'll never see both flames and the conveyor belt simultaneously, so they use the same palette area.
The game actually switches the palette a short time before you actually come across flames or a conveyor belt, so the hidden sprite that does it should be placed at the entrance to and exit of an area.

With the flames turning grey (and the conveyor going firey colors), what's happening is you're simply missing the trigger sprite and the palette is not switching. If you use debug and go through the area which triggers the palette switch, it will not change. Maybe the Sonic sprite itself has to cross the line?

And in response to Sonicguy's post, Revision 02 of Sonic 2 Final seems to have had a bug added in WFZ! If you ride those platforms on the grey conveyor belts all the way to the top, Sonic won't fall down when the platform disappears! He'll just stay in mid-air, occasionally doing the 'balancing' sprite.

#12 User is offline Irondude 

  Posted 19 August 2003 - 01:53 PM

  • I need some doggone help!
  • Posts: 718
  • Joined: 23-January 03
  • Wiki edits:5
Very nice Tom, liked that explanation, and did you all know that Sonic Guy is actualy my younger brother? Yea, heh, annoying somtimes too.

#13 User is offline XFox Prower 

Posted 08 September 2003 - 11:39 PM

  • Posts: 1196
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Project:x86 Assembly, Tails Search Assistant

Rob Jinnai, on Aug 17 2003, 07:31 PM, said:

Right. The level can active one of two palette cycles for either the rocket flames or the belts. I'm not sure what triggers the switch, but you're obviously finding some way to miss the trigger, thus producing the condition.

I think I remember something like this. Fact: The genesis has 4 16-color palettes that it can switch from.

#14 *BombwithNapalm*

Posted 26 October 2003 - 02:28 PM

yeah same as well happens to me now and then in Debug mode ..

#15 User is offline LOst 

Posted 29 October 2003 - 06:59 AM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

Fiz, on Aug 18 2003, 01:28 AM, said:

Then I noticed something, the flames at the bottom of the ship turned black and grey.

This has all to do with the conveyor belt you can find at one place in WFZ. They're using the flame animated palette in the game, which is a bug!
If you some day get that gray color again, go to the conveyor belt, and you can see them spinning :D

The conveyor belt has no effect on Sonic, and also there are some kind of transportation line there too that never got implented

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users