Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Making PAL MegaDrive games 60Hz-friendly - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Making PAL MegaDrive games 60Hz-friendly

#31 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 06 March 2009 - 10:14 AM

  • Posts: 11106
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostThe Jackal, on Mar 6 2009, 05:59 AM, said:

I've got some spare time over the weekend; I might try and make some new PAR codes to get some Uk games region-free...
Hey, that would be sweet. :colbert:

#32 User is offline The Jackal 

Posted 11 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 04-March 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lost Village of Lo'don.
  • Project:Life.
I never did get around to doing it. :colbert:

But I WILL tonight - if I don't succed, I still have a stash of codes that I think can't be found on the 'net.

#33 User is offline The Jackal 

Posted 12 March 2009 - 01:38 PM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 04-March 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lost Village of Lo'don.
  • Project:Life.
Here they are:

-------------------------------------------------
MINE:

COMIX ZONE (UK)

00032266600

Bypass region lockout and corrects music. Several graphical glitches; this was NOT meant to work at 60hz...

------------------------------------------------------

DATEL's:

ALADDIN UK

0003406000
Play on US and JAP.

ART OF FIGHTING JAP

0073D24E71
Play on any machine.


ASTERIX AAND THE GREAT RESCUE UK

0004B46660
Play on all machines.

BARE KNUCKLE III JAP

0003826700
0006DE6700
Play on any machine.

BOXING LEGENDS OF THE RING

00813E6008
00030C4E71
Play US version on UK machines.

CASTLEVANIA BLOODLINES US

0001F04500
Play on UK machines.

0001f04a00
Play on JAP machines.

DRAGON BALL Z JAP

00037A6004
0003526700
Play on US and UK machines.

MORE TO COME!!

#34 User is offline NeoGeoThai 

Posted 10 August 2018 - 01:15 AM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 14

Quote

EDIT: New fix that works with more games.
For Animaniacs, Castlevania, Probotector, Sparkster, Turtles 2, Zombies:
·Look for the first "00A1 0001" and replace it with "00A1 4E71"
·Fix checksum.



Hello ,

I try to unlock Probotector, but I still got the freezing Konami logo...

I'm not sure if I did correctly the replacing with 00A1 4E71.


I used a hex editor and line 000003B0 I found 00 A1 00 01 , then I replaced it with 00 A1 4E 71


Is that correct ?


Thanks for any help

#35 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 10 August 2018 - 11:22 AM

  • Posts: 11106
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostNeoGeoThai, on 10 August 2018 - 01:15 AM, said:

Quote

EDIT: New fix that works with more games.
For Animaniacs, Castlevania, Probotector, Sparkster, Turtles 2, Zombies:
·Look for the first "00A1 0001" and replace it with "00A1 4E71"
·Fix checksum.
I try to unlock Probotector, but I still got the freezing Konami logo...

I'm not sure if I did correctly the replacing with 00A1 4E71.


I used a hex editor and line 000003B0 I found 00 A1 00 01 , then I replaced it with 00 A1 4E 71


Is that correct ?

Yes, that is correct and I've just tried it and it does work properly... Make sure that you're using the correct altered ROM that you're saving.

#36 User is offline NeoGeoThai 

Posted 11 August 2018 - 03:09 AM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 14
Thanks Ice Knight ,

I tried again , and still freezing konami logo on Gens32 emulator. (I fixed the checksum)

Also tried on real hardware (repro cart) , got black screen.

I have no idea what I did wrong....

Possible to upload the modified rom somewhere Ice Knight ?

#37 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 11 August 2018 - 10:04 AM

  • Posts: 11106
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
Okay, I guess I shouldn't have used Kega Fusion for testing... Real hardware gives me a red screen even after fixing the checksum.

I wish I knew how to fix it, sorry. :(

#38 User is offline NeoGeoThai 

Posted 11 August 2018 - 10:21 AM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 14
No problem ,

Thanks a lot for your test.

#39 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 11 August 2018 - 11:07 AM

  • Posts: 11106
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
Oh wait wait wait, didn't Konami games need a different kind of checksum than usual? Something like the checksum of just half of the ROM or something like that?

That might be the problem.

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users