Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: SatAM Robotnik in SegaSonic the Hedgehog Final - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

SatAM Robotnik in SegaSonic the Hedgehog Final What... the hell?

#1 User is offline Shadow Hog 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 12:32 AM

  • "I'm a superdog!"
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joined: 05-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Wiki edits:10
I was casually browsing EspioKaos' message board when I stumbled upon this post:

"Kilid" said:

For those of you who have an emulator and SegaSonic the Hedgehog(the arcade game) final version. In the tile viewer, do you see the American Robotnik in address ranges 700-720 and 3E40-3E60. I know if you'd try to fit together the tiles, they don't match up quite right, but the point is that they are there.
I tried bringing this up to someone I thought would like to know and share this stuff years ago, but he said I was making a hoax. <img src="http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/mad.gif"> So if anyone's got the time and the interest to check it out, it would put my mind to est.
Well, I checked it, and you know what?

<I>He was right</I>.

<a href="http://mywebpages.comcast.net/shadowwing/Images/important/segasonicsatam1.png">Freakin' huge image 1</a>
<a href="http://mywebpages.comcast.net/shadowwing/Images/important/segasonicsatam2.png">Freakin' huge image 2</a>

Sorry if this is old hat, but I'd have thought something <I>this</I> quirky would be better publicized if it was known. Oh, and the large image size is due to my desktop just being that freakin' huge. Sorry.

Resulting sprites:
<img src="http://mywebpages.comcast.net/shadowwing/Images/important/segasonicsatamrobotnik1.gif"> <img src="http://mywebpages.comcast.net/shadowwing/Images/important/segasonicsatamrobotnik2.gif">

Second one is anti-aliased with the blue, so I COULD remove said blue, but it'd look pretty freaking ugly.
This post has been edited by Shadow Hog: 12 December 2006 - 12:59 AM

#2 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 12:47 AM

  • Posts: 5206
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:4
Ewwww....it's conehead.

This is indeed new, AFAIK.

#3 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 01:44 AM

  • Posts: 3465
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2
Hey hey, that is an awesome find! They probably wanted to localize the game, but then canned it when the game didn't go so well in japan.

#4 User is offline Tom41 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 02:19 AM

  • Pheer the baby EggRobo!
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 18-August 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
It seems that the two Sonic Arcade games (SegaSonic and Sonic the Fighters) may have much more beta leftovers than we would have originally thought! Someone needs to do a full disassembly of the ROM and see if there's any more hidden stuff in there.

Regarding the first Robotnik sprite (where he's facing away from the camera), notice that nearby you can see the Japanese Eggman sprite in the same pose on the tile dump. It could well be that there are more tiles for this SatAM Robotnik, showing him facing the camera - like the Eggman sprite when he pops up at the top of the screen to taunt you and set off traps, for example.

Anyone care to provide a complete tile dump of the game? ;)

#5 User is offline Shadow Hog 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 02:36 AM

  • "I'm a superdog!"
  • Posts: 4341
  • Joined: 05-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Wiki edits:10
Out of the tiles that MAME will display in this particular menu... that's it. There are only two poses for Eggman/Robotnik. Both poses have Sega-Eggman and SatAM-Robotnik versions, however (in the case of the latter pose, they're considerably more spread out - but they're close enough to draw comparisons).

Still, if we're going to find more SatAM Robotnik sprites, we'd need to figure out how the sprites are stored inside the files, since it's apparent MAME isn't gonna do all that work for us. Of course, given how much we've hacked the living daylights out of <I>Sonic 2</I>'s art compression stuff, I wouldn't doubt it's <I>possible</I>... there just isn't going to be an easy way out, is all.

Although, seeing SatAM Robotnik animated quite as nimbly as the sprites used in the final... THAT would be awesome. And I'm not even a fan of the design.

#6 User is offline Shade 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 03:33 AM

  • Posts: 2990
  • Joined: 02-November 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Wiki edits:137
Excellent. This is quite an interesting find, great work to all involved!

#7 User is offline Rockman Zero 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 01:58 PM

  • Hello there, my little friend.
  • Posts: 1027
  • Joined: 27-October 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Videos for Hellfire Commentaries.
  • Wiki edits:6
I bet if there was a region switch option within the rom, (which is highly unlikely) the American Dr. Robotnik could be brought out.

Very interesting find indeed...

#8 User is offline Tadashi 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 02:23 PM

  • 3fast5u
  • Posts: 535
  • Joined: 21-September 06
  • Gender:Male
Splendid. Absolutely unexpected. I guess they were going to use SatAM Robotnik to promote the show in the US. But the game didn't go so well in Japan, so the US version was canned, along with SatAM Robotnik art.

#9 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 06:56 PM

  • Posts: 3465
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2

View PostOmegaEX, on Dec 13 2006, 06:23 AM, said:

Splendid. Absolutely unexpected. I guess they were going to use SatAM Robotnik to promote the show in the US. But the game didn't go so well in Japan, so the US version was canned, along with SatAM Robotnik art.


Quote

Hey hey, that is an awesome find! They probably wanted to localize the game, but then canned it when the game didn't go so well in japan.


Come on man, I already said that ;)

#10 User is offline Billy 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 08:28 PM

  • RIP Oderus Urungus
  • Posts: 1815
  • Joined: 24-June 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado, USA
  • Project:retrooftheweek.net - Give it a visit and tell me what you think!
  • Wiki edits:15
Ha ha, awesome. The facing-away sprite doesn't have cape though, curious.

#11 User is offline Bowser 

Posted 12 December 2006 - 11:08 PM

  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas
  • Project:Music, Art, Photography, etc
  • Wiki edits:11
Ah. Nice. AoSth Robotnik in a game, this robotnik in another.. Awesome find, Though. 'would make a nice signpost, though.

#12 User is offline Tadashi 

Posted 13 December 2006 - 03:58 AM

  • 3fast5u
  • Posts: 535
  • Joined: 21-September 06
  • Gender:Male

Quote

Come on man, I already said that rolleyes.gif


Quote

Splendid. Absolutely unexpected. I guess they were going to use SatAM Robotnik to promote the show in the US. But the game didn't go so well in Japan, so the US version was canned, along with SatAM Robotnik art.


You didn't mention it.

#13 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 13 December 2006 - 05:30 AM

  • Posts: 3465
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2
Localize, promote, same old.

#14 User is offline Super 

Posted 13 December 2006 - 06:45 AM

  • The always vigilant GSWAS.
  • Posts: 1501
  • Joined: 14-January 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Project:Youtube
  • Wiki edits:31

View PostOmegaEX, on Dec 13 2006, 03:58 AM, said:

Quote

Come on man, I already said that rolleyes.gif


Quote

Splendid. Absolutely unexpected. I guess they were going to use SatAM Robotnik to promote the show in the US. But the game didn't go so well in Japan, so the US version was canned, along with SatAM Robotnik art.


You didn't mention it.

He said that it was canned because it failed in Japan... then you did. He did mention it. Just not what you thought he was mentioning.

#15 User is offline Crysta 

Posted 13 December 2006 - 08:44 AM

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: 11-January 03
how about checking the orter times you see eggman in game?

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users