Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Ghouls 'N Ghosts (Genesis) debug mode - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Ghouls 'N Ghosts (Genesis) debug mode

#1 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:51 PM

  • Posts: 631
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
FFF3 = 01

There you go. Nothing too impressive to be honest, it just shows some stats on screen.

Notice the fact that it uses the same RAM variables for cheats as the sonic engines; which isn't a coincidence as you might know :(

I don't know if this was already known (I couldn't find it anywhere else), so trash it if so.
This post has been edited by JoseTB: 07 April 2007 - 05:52 PM

#2 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:59 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
I still stand firmly by the belief that a majority of the stuff in Sonic 1 is built off the official SDK for the Genesis, one way or another (or at least SOME kind of SDK, of sorts...). It uses the SMPS (Sample Music Playback System), common compression algorithms are shared with a lot of other games; and, nearly all these formats used in Sonic are found alongside each other in other games that use them (I.e, a game using both Kosinski and Nemesis compressions... etc).

To clarify further: I think the Sonic engine isn't exactly an original engine, but rather a modification of some sort of stock Sega engine. It certainly makes sense.
This post has been edited by Tweaker: 07 April 2007 - 05:59 PM

#3 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 07 April 2007 - 10:28 PM

  • Posts: 631
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
Of course, is obvious that no game from a comercial entreprise is written completely from scratch, if you count libraries, macros, and all that stuff.

But this case concretely (s1-gg relation) is more interesting considering that both games were programmed (well, reprogrammed in the case of gg) by the same man :P

#4 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 08 April 2007 - 03:23 PM

  • Posts: 11172
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostJoseTB, on Apr 7 2007, 05:51 PM, said:

I don't know if this was already known
I'm fairly sure it was. I remember L0st posting a pic of it, and it might have been brought up in another GnG post I made at the X-Cult forums a while ago (about an unused cheatcode present inside the ROM).

For those who didn't know, this game was also programmed by Naka. There might be some similar debug mode in Phantasy Star, by the way...
This post has been edited by ICEknight: 08 April 2007 - 03:25 PM

#5 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 08 April 2007 - 10:33 PM

  • Posts: 631
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
What started as a search for the debug mode in PSII ended up in this thread: http://forums.sonicr...?showtopic=9116 :P But in short, no, the cheat "system" used in S1 and GG isn't used in any other game, apparently.

#6 User is offline saxman 

Posted 11 April 2007 - 12:40 AM

  • Oldbie
  • Posts: 2626
  • Joined: 08-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States of America
  • Wiki edits:136
I always thought there was some relation because GnG also has the slow-motion trick with the exact button combinations (B to animate, C to advance-frame). And it has the UDLR code combination for level select and AAAAUDLR for debug on the title screen. Interesting stuff.
This post has been edited by saxman: 11 April 2007 - 12:51 AM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users