Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Netbooting an Intel Mac - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Netbooting an Intel Mac Any ideas?

#1 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 06 May 2008 - 08:48 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2846
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:5,000 + one spin
I can't seem to get an Intel MacBook to boot over the network. At Drexel TechServ, I set up a PXE server such that any x86 PC or PowerPC Macintosh can boot to a menu of OS installs and utilities, but it doesn't seem to be working for Intel Macs. Do I need to set up a special bootloader or something? For x86, I'm using PXELINUX, and for PPC Macs I'm using yaboot.

#2 User is offline LazloPsylus 

Posted 20 May 2008 - 02:07 PM

  • Buried under SSRG Somewhere
  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: 11-October 07
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Academy City
  • Project:SSRG, world domination, a billion and one research projects...
  • Wiki edits:16
Have you tried the Startup Disk preference pane in the Preferences? There should be an option for booting off a network. Also, if you hold Option while booting, you can access a Boot Volume Menu which I believe also has the Network Boot option.

Hope this helps.

#3 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 21 May 2008 - 11:33 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2846
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:5,000 + one spin

View PostIron Sonic, on May 20 2008, 03:07 PM, said:

Have you tried the Startup Disk preference pane in the Preferences? There should be an option for booting off a network. Also, if you hold Option while booting, you can access a Boot Volume Menu which I believe also has the Network Boot option.

Hope this helps.

It attempts to boot over the network, but it doesn't find any boot image.
This post has been edited by GerbilSoft: 21 May 2008 - 11:33 AM

#4 User is offline LazloPsylus 

Posted 21 May 2008 - 09:56 PM

  • Buried under SSRG Somewhere
  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: 11-October 07
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Academy City
  • Project:SSRG, world domination, a billion and one research projects...
  • Wiki edits:16
EDIT: Nevermind, just reread the beginning post again and answered my own question. I'll see what I can find out for you.

EDIT2: Does the Mac see the PXE network at all?

EDIT3: Does the Mac run 10.4 or 10.5?
This post has been edited by Iron Sonic: 28 May 2008 - 10:04 PM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users