Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Blue Sphere Plus - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Blue Sphere Plus formerly Blue Sphere Standalone ROM

#1 User is online MainMemory 

  Posted 06 May 2011 - 04:29 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I decided that I'd like to have a ROM of Blue Sphere that wasn't S&K + S1. I started by messing with the init routines in S&K, and got a Sonic & Knuckles ROM that booted immediately into Blue Sphere without a lockon ROM. Then I took a different approach, starting from a file with just the init code, and copying from S&K's ASM until the ROM built. This produced a 0.99MB ROM, of which 48% is padding, because the sound driver requires specific addresses.

So yeah, it's Blue Sphere, alone. You can download it from the wiki: Blue Sphere Standalone ROM.

-------

Now, I've added some new features, which are available here: Blue Sphere Plus
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 04 June 2011 - 12:39 PM

#2 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 06 May 2011 - 06:14 PM

  • The architect of the universe, didn't build a stairway, leading nowhere.
  • Posts: 1844
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16
Cool stuff, though I gave it a go on my Mega Drive, and well, every time a sound effect is played, it completely messes with the music, it sounds as though it's sped it up by x400 or something, and in time, just stopped, no sound.

#3 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 06 May 2011 - 07:01 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I'm surprised it actually runs on a console. I only tested it on Gens/GS, where it works fine. But, all the sound stuff should be at the exact same place as it is in S&K, so I have no idea what could be causing that.

#4 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 06 May 2011 - 11:09 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Updated:


On the menu, pressing A, B or C now cycles between Sonic, Tails and Knuckles. Tails is represented by one blue and one red bumper.

#5 User is offline flamewing 

Posted 06 May 2011 - 11:33 PM

  • Emerald Hunter
  • Posts: 1137
  • Joined: 11-October 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:🇫🇷 France
  • Project:Sonic Classic Heroes; Sonic 2 Special Stage Editor; Sonic 3&K Heroes (on hold)
  • Wiki edits:12
I don't know if you are doing it already, but it may be possible to cut down padding by using the assembled sound driver instead of the preassembled one. In the SVN disassembly, if you cut out lines 207793-208299 and line 208301, you get the assembled sound driver; this driver does not need specific locations for the music other than the banks being aligned at a $8000 byte boundary.

#6 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 07 May 2011 - 01:46 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
After doing that, I get no sound at all.

#7 User is offline Namo 

Posted 07 May 2011 - 09:42 AM

  • take a screenshot of your heart
  • Posts: 2915
  • Joined: 02-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
Thanks for this. I didn't even know it was possible to emulate Blue Sphere, embarrassingly. (Well, I knew it was possible, I just didn't know what rom to use)

#8 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 07 May 2011 - 09:53 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Normally one would emulate Blue Sphere by locking Sonic 1 onto Sonic & Knuckles ("copy /b sk.bin+s1.bin sphere.bin" in the windows command prompt).

Edit: I tried adding SRAM support, but I have no idea where the stage number is stored.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 07 May 2011 - 11:26 AM

#9 User is offline Black Squirrel 

Posted 07 May 2011 - 12:05 PM

  • maybe she's born with it
  • Posts: 4228
  • Joined: 27-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northumberland, England
  • Project:maybe it's maybelline
  • Wiki edits:20,569

You've lost Knuckles.

#10 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 07 May 2011 - 12:25 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Proof that I don't adequately test things. Fixed. And, now has SRAM support to remember the character you selected.

#11 User is offline Tribeam 

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:40 AM

  • I code Lua and Lua accessories
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 08-January 07
  • Gender:Male
I was going through stages with my blue sphere editor, and I found a crash in your ROM

It seems that the results screen crashes when the difficulty counter hits 7.

Here is a code of a pretty easy max skill level for you to test on.
Code: 3348-4270-1748

#12 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 08 May 2011 - 10:51 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
For me it crashes when the difficulty number hits 8 (Chickens). But I have no idea how to debug this.

Edit: It still crashes if I comment out the first two lines of Obj_Difficulty_2CD26, leaving only jmp (Delete_Current_Sprite).l

Edit2: Oh, it's because I blindly copied the routine without noticing it doesn't end with rts and continues into the next subroutine.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 08 May 2011 - 11:37 AM

#13 User is offline Malpass 

Posted 08 May 2011 - 11:09 AM

  • Fell at the Battle of the Wing Fortress, 1992.
  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: 25-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London Town
  • Wiki edits:20
I can't get that link to work, I just get a wall of text...

#14 User is online MainMemory 

Posted 08 May 2011 - 11:11 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4164
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Right click, Save link as/Save target as/whatever.

#15 User is offline Malpass 

Posted 08 May 2011 - 11:47 AM

  • Fell at the Battle of the Wing Fortress, 1992.
  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: 25-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London Town
  • Wiki edits:20
QUOTE (MainMemory @ May 8 2011, 05:11 PM)
Right click, Save link as/Save target as/whatever.


Thank you sir.

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users