Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Totem - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked Forum

Sonic Totem

#1 User is offline SABrown 

Posted 29 September 2018 - 07:38 AM

Hi everyone. Over the past year, I've been working away at my first fangame - a demo built within Unity called Sonic Totem. Development started around the launch of Sonic Mania, and barring a break between February and June I've been working on it in my spare time. This is my first time doing anything like this - Knew I wanted to learn C# and thought this would be a perfect means to that end. The demo I've just released (V1.01) contains two zones, the first of which has a boss fight at the end. I'm aware that the Physics is a bit off - it's something that's on my to-do list, and I've found it quite tricky to replicate the OG physics engine in Unity, but... it's playable! ^_^; Future work that will go into this will mainly depend on my spare time, and things may be about to get busy again, hence why I'm publishing this build now. I've done all the scripting independently, and when I go back to it I'd like to completely overhaul the main character controller script.

The concept is as such: Dr Eggman has learned of the Catastrophe Totems, ancient devices rumoured to be able to control the forces of nature. The evil doctor realises with these powers he can hold the world to ransom - literally through rain, snow and shine. After finding the primary control totem in the game's opening act (Firewood Forest), it's up to Sonic to find the other totems first, prevent Eggman from building the Egg Totem, and avert an environmental disaster.

You can watch the trailer here:

Additionally, full gameplay videos of both zones can be found on my youtube channel. You can download the demo, playable in Mac or Windows environments here:
https://www.dropbox....OF4nDzHD0a?dl=0