Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: S2BETA8 discussion - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

S2BETA8 discussion

#1 User is offline drx 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 06:53 PM

  • <Shade> fuck MJ
  • Posts: 2156
  • Joined: 02-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Project::rolleyes:
  • Wiki edits:8
...

#2 User is offline Kamek 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 06:59 PM

  • Magikoopa
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 01-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koopa Kingdom
  • Wiki edits:53
Title screen says "Sonic and 'Tails'" instead of Miles "Tails" Prower.

Posted Image

Level select code is the same as in the final. Not sure how debug is unlocked though.

#3 User is offline VGM 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 07:04 PM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 17-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mobius
  • Wiki edits:4
Hpz is finally gone
Ending sequence and credits are implemented
This post has been edited by VGM: 23 February 2008 - 07:07 PM

#4 User is offline MKAmeX 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 07:05 PM

  • Posts: 279
  • Joined: 27-August 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Project:Needlemouse, Sonic Boom, Graphic Design
  • Wiki edits:7
In chemical plant act 2, the huge shortcut with the three boxes that leads straight to the boss has two super rings and a life, while in the final it's two super rings and an invincibility.

The final boss in death egg is closer to the entrance in this beta.
This post has been edited by Metalkirby: 23 February 2008 - 10:28 PM

#5 User is offline ThunderPX 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 07:28 PM

  • Posts: 1539
  • Joined: 17-May 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Wiki edits:20
Yeah, debug is different. Otherwise from playing around it pretty much seems like the final apart from what's been mentioned.

#6 User is offline roxahris 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 08:55 PM

  • Everyone's a hypocrite. Take my word for it.
  • Posts: 1224
  • Joined: 24-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Doing anything at all
  • Wiki edits:30
Tails is "Tails" instead of Miles.

#7 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:01 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
For the record, the "old" codes work too in this build:

Level Select code: UDDDDU, highlight 1 player, then a+start.
Debug code: CCCCCC UDDDDU, highlight 1 player, then a+start.

#8 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:07 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
19 65 9 17 works in this one too

#9 User is offline Yoshi 15 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:32 PM

  • Posts: 857
  • Joined: 23-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern New Jersey
  • Wiki edits:4
Posted Image

Those monitors are not in the final. Additionally, you can't even destroy the ring monitor here.

#10 User is offline Nemesis 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:32 AM

  • Posts: 454
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Wiki edits:6
The game switches between "Tails" and "Miles" based on the region of the console. If you run the system in Japanese mode, Miles is used for the title screen and probably elsewhere too.

#11 User is offline Sister Miyagi 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 12:09 PM

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 26-February 08
  • Wiki edits:11
I'm posting all this stuff in the Wiki, let me know if I screwed anything up:

http://info.sonicret...dgehog_2_Beta_8

#12 User is offline Lobotomy 

Posted 17 March 2008 - 05:47 PM

  • Meme War I Veteran
  • Posts: 4238
  • Joined: 22-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Traverse City
  • Project:Project: Matter/Energy
  • Wiki edits:94
Now that Hidden Palace is cut, and since I don't have a computer with Gens at the moment, Has anyone tried the ACLA-ATD4 code or equivalent since the level "access values" may have changed?

I didn't book up on previous builds, Disregard.
This post has been edited by Ashura the Hedgehog: 17 March 2008 - 05:50 PM

#13 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 17 March 2008 - 05:55 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
Yeah, that code would still work, considering the level slot didn't change. Then again, maybe I forgot what that code did specifically—does it set the level slot outright, or simply provide a way to access level slot $08 through other means?

#14 User is offline Lobotomy 

Posted 17 March 2008 - 06:01 PM

  • Meme War I Veteran
  • Posts: 4238
  • Joined: 22-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Traverse City
  • Project:Project: Matter/Energy
  • Wiki edits:94
It makes Death Egg the "portal" to Hidden palace. I think it might be the latter of what you said. I know there is (or was) a post here 1-2 years ago about GG codes and what their values represent.
This post has been edited by Ashura the Hedgehog: 17 March 2008 - 06:03 PM

#15 User is offline Neo 

Posted 17 March 2008 - 06:10 PM

  • Clackerjack
  • Posts: 1192
  • Joined: 10-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Project:Sonic 3 Unlocked
  • Wiki edits:1
ACLA-ATD4 changes the pointer for Death Egg to Hidden Palace 1 in the level select, ACLA-AECY changes the EHZ1 pointer to Wood Zone 1. God, why do I still know this stuff?

And if I recall correctly, Game Genie codes are just encrypted RAM patches, right?

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users