Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: S2BETA6 discussion - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

S2BETA6 discussion

#1 User is offline drx 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 06:50 PM

  • <Shade> fuck MJ
  • Posts: 2156
  • Joined: 02-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Project::rolleyes:
  • Wiki edits:8
...

#2 User is offline King 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 06:57 PM

  • Posts: 584
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Appears to be the first prototype with the options selection.

#3 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 09:54 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
you mean the "option" menu

blah, can't find level select >_<
This post has been edited by Quexinos: 23 February 2008 - 09:55 PM

#4 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:05 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
Guess what:

Level Select code: UDDDDU, highlight 1 player, then a+start.
Debug code: CCCCCC UDDDDU, highlight 1 player, then a+start.

Level select is still s1-a-like in this build, as drx posted a while back:

Posted Image

#5 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:45 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
ROFL the final boss only takes one hit XD
It's ALSO the first version of Sonic two to have the full ending. In the others Sonic and Tails just fly off to the right... well.. the ending isn't perfect though:

Posted Image

EDIT:

Posted Image
dunno if it's a mistake or not

The credits run out of music at one point. There's no "End" in the end.
This post has been edited by Quexinos: 23 February 2008 - 10:50 PM

#6 User is offline TweeterMan 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:50 PM

  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: 04-November 05
  • Location:Newburgh, NY
You can run right past Eggman in Death Egg.

#7 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:52 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
he actually just starts in the middle. You can't really run past him... well you can but I thought you meant you can run past him and end the level XD

#8 User is offline Kamek 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:21 AM

  • Magikoopa
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 01-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koopa Kingdom
  • Wiki edits:53
There seem to be two versions of Beta 6; but aside from a couple bytes in the header they're identical, byte-for-byte.

#9 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:36 PM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 16045
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
QUOTE (JoseTB @ Feb 24 2008, 03:05 AM) [post="180033"]Posted Image[/quote]
It's also strange that previous builds and later builds get the layering right on this screen while this one doesn't. Also, why is Sonic black here, and Tails isn't?

#10 User is offline Sanky 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 01:06 PM

  • Random nobody
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 23-October 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Project:Nothing.
  • Wiki edits:3

View PostOverlord, on Feb 24 2008, 06:36 PM, said:

It's also strange that previous builds and later builds get the layering right on this screen while this one doesn't. Also, why is Sonic black here, and Tails isn't?
I think they broke it with the new menu options.

#11 User is offline Krigo 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:30 PM

  • Posts: 2237
  • Joined: 09-December 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Project:N/A
  • Wiki edits:30
I thought they broke it by doing the new title screen art in another layer than the beta art was in, which equals the problem.

#12 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:44 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
QUOTE (Overlord @ Feb 24 2008, 06:36 PM) [post="180405"]Posted Image[/quote]
It's also strange that previous builds and later builds get the layering right on this screen while this one doesn't. Also, why is Sonic black here, and Tails isn't?
[/quote]

Well, you know, Sega cared about Sonic's anonymity =P It's just a palette issue, the first line was the background in previous builds, but it's used by sonic in the new title screen. Of course, the level select pallet remained untouched with the change.

#13 User is offline Sister Miyagi 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 11:55 AM

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 26-February 08
  • Wiki edits:11
I'm putting all this stuff in the wiki, tell me if I screwed anything up:

http://info.sonicret...dgehog_2_Beta_6

#14 User is offline LocalH 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 02:13 PM

  • roxoring your soxors
  • Posts: 3211
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wouldn't you like to know
  • Project:Guitar Hero II: Rhythm Games Community Edition aka Pizza Hero II: Electric Pizza
  • Wiki edits:3
Why do people never remember that debug only requires two C's, in everything from S1 through the last S2 beta that uses the old-style level select codes? And also the game doesn't care when you press the C's as long as you get them in before the final U. Personally, I use UDDDDCCU and it works every time.

#15 User is offline JoseTB 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 04:28 PM

  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 01-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:4
Right so, there's something that bugs me about this build. Located at $A66A, there seems to be present the structure of the final level select. However I'm having no luck in finding references at all in the code...

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users