Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Five new Sonic protos - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Five new Sonic protos Dreamcast and Sega CD

#16 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 31 August 2008 - 10:57 PM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
got the Nov 2000 SA2 one running in NullDC, and it seems like it's just the Trail that's included with PSO

#17 User is offline MK 

Posted 31 August 2008 - 11:04 PM

  • Hacker
  • Posts: 309
  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New England, USA
  • Project:Secret :o o:
  • Wiki edits:852

View PostAyla, on Aug 31 2008, 08:23 PM, said:

I want that beta windy valley-ish level. Seems doubtful it would be in anything as recent as an E3 release, though...


That's the first thing I thought of when I saw SA on the list.

I'll be seeding the torrent 24/7 for at least 2 weeks.

#18 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 31 August 2008 - 11:28 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
SA1 is nothing special so far, like DRX told me before :'(

#19 User is offline SaviourDCX 

Posted 31 August 2008 - 11:40 PM

  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: 05-May 06
  • Gender:Male

View PostNioZero, on Aug 31 2008, 07:49 PM, said:

I will help seeding... and I will try these in my dreamcast...



Oh you have a GD-Rom burner and blank GDs? if so awesome otherwise only way would be to extract the data and take out anything unnecessary (or compress data) to make it under 700mb..

Also everyone in Sonic CD 806, you can enable level select but Collision Chaos is missing.
This post has been edited by SaviourDCX: 31 August 2008 - 11:40 PM

#20 User is offline jmzilver 

Posted 31 August 2008 - 11:44 PM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 24-February 08
this is awesome! got a check these out

#21 User is offline D-Man 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 12:11 AM

  • the americone dream
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 29-August 08
  • Gender:Male
Sweet, I'll have to try those out

#22 User is offline SaviourDCX 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 01:47 AM

  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: 05-May 06
  • Gender:Male
Dose anyone know what Dreamcast tools I can use to extract the individual files from the GDI image? I've had a bit of look around and getting no luck, I want to create some self boot images for these. I'll keep looking though. (I've tried iso buster but it dosen't find anything)...

EDIT: Nevermind I figured it out.
This post has been edited by SaviourDCX: 01 September 2008 - 03:11 AM

#23 User is offline Oerg866 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 02:47 AM

  • Posts: 1760
  • Joined: 07-September 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany
  • Wiki edits:3
Holy fuck, drx is surprising us all again.

Thanks alot, I'll seed too.

#24 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:39 AM

  • Posts: 10554
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18

View PostSaviourDCX, on Sep 1 2008, 01:47 AM, said:

EDIT: Nevermind I figured it out.
Out of curiosity, how did you do it? Other people might have those same problems...

#25 User is offline MK 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:17 AM

  • Hacker
  • Posts: 309
  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New England, USA
  • Project:Secret :o o:
  • Wiki edits:852
man, I don't want to go to sleep. I'm going to miss a ton of revelations :(

#26 User is offline BMF54123 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:44 AM

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 13-September 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spokane, WA

View PostSaviourDCX, on Aug 31 2008, 09:40 PM, said:

Also everyone in Sonic CD 806, you can enable level select but Collision Chaos is missing.

Eh? It works fine here (3-x-x). You're probably thinking of the mysterious R2, which is missing in every build we have.

All I've noticed in this build so far is that it returns to the title screen after every zone, and it has a tendency to misplace Sonic when you start/return to an act. It happened once after time traveling (ended up inside a wall) and after selecting Collision Chaos, act 3, good future (fell from the sky above the flower capsule).

#27 User is offline SaviourDCX 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:46 AM

  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: 05-May 06
  • Gender:Male

View PostICEknight, on Sep 1 2008, 01:39 AM, said:

View PostSaviourDCX, on Sep 1 2008, 01:47 AM, said:

EDIT: Nevermind I figured it out.
Out of curiosity, how did you do it? Other people might have those same problems...


I created a cue file for the track03.bin (main file with all the game data and 1ST_READ.BIN), here's the code:

FILE "track03.bin" BINARY
TRACK 03 MODE1/2352
PREGAP 10:00:00
INDEX 01 00:00:00

Simply copy and paste in to notepad and rename the extension to .cue, then use ISO Buster and you can extract the files. I'm still trying to find out how to make it self boot though. :(
This post has been edited by SaviourDCX: 01 September 2008 - 05:49 AM

#28 User is offline evilhamwizard 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 06:32 AM

  • Posts: 1265
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:109
Another way of doing it is by using dreamrip. I'm not sure if this works all the time, but it worked for me. Here's how to use it:

1.) Open track03.bin in ISOBuster
2.) Right click and extract "Track 0#" (right click the DVD text) as RAW data (*.bin/*.iso)
3.) Download extract.exe and open up CMD
4.) Drag and drop extract.exe onto CMD*, press space, then drag and drop the newly generated file we just extracted
5.) Hit enter and watch the program extract all the files

I think the program extracts everything to your User folder (not My Documents, C:/Documents and Settings/*name*). Have fun.

From what I've seen with the SA2 Preview that was released and this one, all the files are dated on the same day. So I guess this is the same build.

*drag and drop onto cmd doesn't work on vista, so you have to do everything manually.
This post has been edited by evilhamwizard: 01 September 2008 - 06:43 AM

#29 User is offline Donnyku 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 09:23 AM

  • yay
  • Posts: 1328
  • Joined: 25-December 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Pony Sprites
  • Wiki edits:2
NullDC doesn't reconise the E3 Trail of SA1 as a DC disc, it just loads to the bios, unless I need different bios

#30 User is offline evilhamwizard 

Posted 01 September 2008 - 09:45 AM

  • Posts: 1265
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:109

View PostDonnyku, on Sep 1 2008, 10:23 AM, said:

NullDC doesn't reconise the E3 Trail of SA1 as a DC disc, it just loads to the bios, unless I need different bios


You need to patch the region of the GDI. Go into Options -> GDRom -> Tick "Patch GDRom Region". Close nullDC and reopen it just to be safe, then try again.

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

3 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users