Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Dual Gens Prototype Comparison Utility - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Dual Gens Prototype Comparison Utility Might be useful...

#1 User is offline Qjimbo 

  Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:35 PM

  • Your friendly neighbourhood lemming.
  • Posts: 4414
  • Joined: 17-February 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver
  • Wiki edits:69
Posted Image

What this utility does is run 2 copies of a special version of the emulator gens which I have created, allowing you to load up two roms and compare minute differences. This version of Gens has been modified to have non-foreground access to the keyboard, meaning that you will always be controlling it, regardless of whether the window has focus. In theory you could even run more than 2.
Download: http://jmuz.net/dual/dualgens.zip

To use...

1. Run the dual.exe program, you can then use the options on the right to select the 2 roms you wish to compare, though you can also do this from within the two copies of gens.

2. then click "Run and Detect Instances".

3. Once they have loaded click "Sync Reset" and play!

You are now controlling both emulators at the same time.
This post has been edited by Qjimbo: 05 April 2008 - 08:41 PM

#2 User is offline Scarred Sun 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:38 PM

  • In Defense of Lost Causes
  • Posts: 3710
  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:SD/LA/SF
  • Project:Staying woke
  • Wiki edits:36,091
This looks damn handy. Thanks! :D

#3 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:48 PM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 16577
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
Nice idea, this should make some of the work a lot easier.

#4 User is offline Jetstar 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 10:30 PM

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Project:Kid Chameleon. Putting together a guide that covers all useful offsets.
I haven't tried it, but is there a way to take a screenshot, set the opacity of each image to like 50% then combine them to see the difference? That'd be epic, dude.

Good work.
This post has been edited by Jetstar: 24 February 2008 - 10:32 PM

#5 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 10:47 PM

  • AGAIN TRY
  • Posts: 1409
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
Hahahah, that's a lot of fun. Hard on the cpu to run two instances of Regen, but it was fun nonetheless playing Sonic 2 and Sonic 2 and Knuckles simultaneously.

It has a hard time loading two roms from the same folder, too.

#6 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:13 AM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
uhm... hate to ask but.. is it supposed to crash every time I try to load a save state?
I'd like to be able to load it so I can use debug in some ROMs that don't have them right off the bat
This post has been edited by Quexinos: 25 February 2008 - 01:14 AM

#7 User is offline Qjimbo 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:16 AM

  • Your friendly neighbourhood lemming.
  • Posts: 4414
  • Joined: 17-February 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver
  • Wiki edits:69
Oh jeez, I guess Regen is too buggy to be used in that way... I need to get working on controlling KEGA/Gens.

#8 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:20 AM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
it's a good idea though. I mean I can really see how it'd be useful but... well my computer can't seem to run it properly >_<

it's a 7 year old computer y'know =P

#9 User is offline biggestsonicfan 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:24 AM

  • Model2B Junkie
  • Posts: 529
  • Joined: 09-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Sonic the Fighters ... Always
I am definitely going to be using this, thanks a lot! Also, have you looked into anything that runs mastersystem/gamegear roms yet? Those seem to be the protos with such minute differences that I cannot tell what's different.

EDIT: Actually, can we have a user defined amount of Regens running?
This post has been edited by biggestsonicfan: 25 February 2008 - 10:55 AM

#10 User is offline Delta 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:54 AM

  • Posts: 367
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Wiki edits:47
By the way, 0.41 is the latest version of Regen.
http://board.zsnes.c...pic.php?t=11109

#11 User is offline Qjimbo 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:55 AM

  • Your friendly neighbourhood lemming.
  • Posts: 4414
  • Joined: 17-February 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver
  • Wiki edits:69
Yep, but since 0.3, he's started using Directinput like Gens and Kega.

Anyway I'm currently research Hooking with the directinput interface, looks complicated but it might be feasable.
This post has been edited by Qjimbo: 25 February 2008 - 01:56 AM

#12 User is offline Kamek 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 03:20 AM

  • Magikoopa
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 01-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koopa Kingdom
  • Wiki edits:53
That is awesome, I'll have to play with that tomorrow.

#13 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 05:04 AM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
Don't just change it because of me BTW, I have a really old computer and it doesn't run stuff like this well.
it's a really awesome tool... uhm when I tried the earliest Sonic 3D blast beta with the final... wow, I couldn't keep up because of how different the layouts were. I didn't realize HOW different until this program though so thanks ^_^

#14 User is offline drx 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 09:51 AM

  • <Shade> fuck MJ
  • Posts: 2157
  • Joined: 02-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Project::rolleyes:
  • Wiki edits:8
Nifty idea -- if you figure out the DirectInput hooking, and make it work on Kega, it will help immensely.

#15 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 09:52 AM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 16577
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
Nah, it'd be better if it works for more applications simply for flexibilty purposes. I assume if you can get DirectInput going, it could work with any app that uses that method.... even emulators for other systems? =P

  • 6 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users