Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: How to get Chaotix protos working properly in Kega - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
    Locked
    Locked Forum

How to get Chaotix protos working properly in Kega This includes Sonic in Chaotix

#31 User is offline Snake 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:13 PM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 12-December 06
Is that the oldest one? I believe I've had all of them working. I'll take a look at it later.

#32 User is offline King 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:20 PM

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Hmmm, I have to ask, are any of the other 32X prototypes like this? Or is Chaotix the only one special in that way?
This post has been edited by King: 25 February 2008 - 08:23 PM

#33 User is offline SpinelSun 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:23 PM

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 03-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostSnake, on Feb 25 2008, 06:49 PM, said:

One of them seems to run fine but only after a few RESETs. Looks like it's down to startup code/hardware changes during production of the game.

For the record, the "time fix" people are talking about is simply the CPU interleave between the two SH2s. The default works well with most games, Chaotix is one that needed a different setting. Simple really.

> I have to say having hardcoded fixes like that is pretty ugly, they should be in external ini/xml/dat files or something.

Hmm. In my opinion, that'd be the ugly solution. There were only two (IIRC) known dumps of Chaotix. Why complicate things?

Snake, I've tested several of the early ones 1207, 1227, 1229 on my real 32x. They all boot, however 1207 doesn't boot _sometimes_. The PWM ringing that happens on the SEGA screen doesn't happen at all, most of the time the PWM works fine with no screwups except at beginning and end of zone. altho _sometimes_ there are odd beeps during the title music, in fusion this always happens.

Despite the fact that these were bult for a Rev 2.x 32X it seems the PWM and possibly other code was meant for Rev 1.x hardware.... I wouldn't worry about these too much.

Nabaztag, about 1207 don't use JJ-fox's loader and don't use the Genesis security bios and youll have an easier time. If youre using the genny bios anyway, make sure to soft reset (ctrl+tab) , 32X soft reset is a hard reset with the genny bios disabled... but youll have to reset way more times then if you didn't use the bios.

#34 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:27 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
Hrm... What I had to do to get the 1207 beta working was use the real 32x BIOS without the Genesis BIOS active. That's it—worked like a charm afterwards. Or, well, as much as a charm as it can be before crashing. =P

#35 User is offline SpinelSun 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:29 PM

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 03-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostTweaker, on Feb 25 2008, 07:27 PM, said:

Hrm... What I had to do to get the 1207 beta working was use the real 32x BIOS without the Genesis BIOS active. That's it—worked like a charm afterwards. Or, well, as much as a charm as it can be before crashing. =P

that's the way I have it setup, except I have to hard reset 2-4 times... For some reason the genny bios affects the 32X timing... but Snake knows this already.

#36 User is offline Blackbird 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:34 PM

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 11-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Commieland!
Umm..Spinel, I have no Genesis BIOS. I've run it several times through and it just crashes after a couple seconds everywhere but the special stage, for some arbitrary reason. Any theories as to why?

#37 User is offline SpinelSun 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:44 PM

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 03-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostNabaztag, on Feb 25 2008, 07:34 PM, said:

Umm..Spinel, I have no Genesis BIOS. I've run it several times through and it just crashes after a couple seconds everywhere but the special stage, for some arbitrary reason. Any theories as to why?

probly 32x timing related. theres no helping that untill Snake improves the emulation. Otherwise a real 32x is the only solution.

Also, after fiddling around more, 1207 now boots every time if I _dont_ use the real 32x bios.... if I use the genny tmss in addition I'll have to "soft" rest once.
This post has been edited by SpinelSun: 25 February 2008 - 08:46 PM

#38 User is offline Blackbird 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:51 PM

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 11-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Commieland!
Strange. Well, I'll go in-depth on all this stuff tomorrow, try out the lack of BIOS and stuff.

#39 User is offline King 

Posted 25 February 2008 - 09:00 PM

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Yea, I got it to load by removing the Genesis and 32X BIOS and by soft resetting. However the game starts up, turns purple, and crashes.

#40 User is offline Snake 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 03:03 AM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 12-December 06
Ok, forget all previous 'hacks' and do this (until I work out an official solution...)

HexEdit Fusion 3.51:

26b76 : 20

That should get all builds of Chaotix to work just fine.

SpinelSun said:

Despite the fact that these were bult for a Rev 2.x 32X it seems the PWM and possibly other code was meant for Rev 1.x hardware.... I wouldn't worry about these too much.

Yeah, I'd say that is correct, looking at what the code is doing... Also the fact that it suddenly completely changes is a bit of a giveaway ;-)
This post has been edited by Snake: 26 February 2008 - 03:08 AM

#41 User is offline SpinelSun 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 08:25 AM

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: 03-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostSnake, on Feb 26 2008, 02:03 AM, said:

HexEdit Fusion 3.51:

26b76 : 20

That doesn't seem to do anything...

#42 User is offline Auken 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 09:21 AM

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-April 07
EDIT: Never mind. I managed to do the checksum hacks thanks to GerbilSoft helping me familiarize with my editor.

..I'm pretty retarded with User Interfaces today, it seems.
This post has been edited by The Doctor: 26 February 2008 - 10:39 AM

#43 User is offline Meat Miracle 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 12:50 PM

  • Posts: 1617
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Snaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake

#44 User is offline Snake 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 01:34 PM

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 12-December 06

View PostSpinelSun, on Feb 26 2008, 08:25 AM, said:

View PostSnake, on Feb 26 2008, 02:03 AM, said:

HexEdit Fusion 3.51:

26b76 : 20

That doesn't seem to do anything...


Damn typo...

25b76 : 20

Hello Borisz ;-)

#45 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 26 February 2008 - 01:37 PM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7480
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
Doesn't seem to get 1207 to work properly, though.

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users