Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: How to get Chaotix protos working properly in Kega - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

How to get Chaotix protos working properly in Kega This includes Sonic in Chaotix

#1 User is offline JJ-Fox 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:54 PM

  • :|
  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: 17-August 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana
  • Wiki edits:17
A lot of you have probably noticed that the Chaotix protos/hacks are very buggy when you try to play them with Kega (3.51). This is because Chaotix requires a different setting for CPU interleave between the two SH2s, and Kega only uses this setting if the ROM matches Chaotix's CRC32 checksum. Protos and hacks obviously have a different CRC32, so this setting is not enabled when playing them in Kega.

Use this modded fusion.exe to solve the problem:
http://www.saveonepiece.com/prototypes/Keg...r%20Chaotix.exe (thanks Quexinos)
This post has been edited by JJ-Fox: 06 March 2008 - 01:59 PM

#2 User is offline Tadashi 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:57 PM

  • Posts: 507
  • Joined: 21-September 06
  • Gender:Male
How about just using Gens?

#3 User is offline SGR 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 10:58 PM

  • It's time for Animaniacs.
  • Posts: 1690
  • Joined: 27-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
  • Wiki edits:84
The early protos crash in Gens after the Sega screen.

#4 User is offline King 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:01 PM

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Actually, seems to me if all the CRC32 checksums can be gathered, I'm sure you guys can submit them to Steve Snake, and he'll may add them to the internal listings as games other than Chaotix? Then again, that probably won't work.

View PostTadashi, on Feb 23 2008, 09:57 PM, said:

How about just using Gens?

No thanks. I rather use the most accurate Genesis emulator out there... well, one of them. Regen being the other.
This post has been edited by King: 23 February 2008 - 11:02 PM

#5 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:52 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
wow... uhm...

I'm just gonna... get Rob on that ASAP =D

#6 User is offline King 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:55 PM

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Blah, give me a couple minutes and I'll edit this post with every prototype's CRC32 along with the byteswapped CRC32 whom are too lazy to do it themselves.

#7 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 23 February 2008 - 11:57 PM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
Don't forget those of us who have no idea what you're talking about =D

#8 User is offline Kat 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:02 AM

  • Posts: 203
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Female
Works like a charm :thumbsup: Thanks!

As a side note, to anyone trying to copy the OP's CRC32, it did not work for the 1207 that I have. I had to calculate it myself and got something entirely different that DID (edit: kind of) work (3F236846).

Double Edit: Meh. It's still not perfect - for some reason going to a purple screen for me every so often instead of the crashing like before. Not sure this is the right offset...
This post has been edited by Kat: 24 February 2008 - 12:20 AM

#9 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:08 AM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
thanks Kat, that one worked =D

#10 User is offline King 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:12 AM

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Prototype 0111: 5523EA78 / 87AE3255
Prototype 0119: 468AD082 / 280DA864
Prototype 0202: 7B32E440 / 044E23B7
Prototype 0208: B099E440 / 044E990B
Prototype 0209: E95D7F57 / 75F7D59E
Prototype 0210: 7B716175 / 571617B7
Prototype 0213: 14F43E14 / 41E34F41
Prototype 0213B: AFF06BFF / FFB60FFA
Prototype 0214: BA0A1108 / 8011A0AB
Prototype 0216: D0B0B842 / 248B0B0D
Prototype 1207: D62AE235 / 35E22AD6
Prototype 1227: 4307D738 / 837D7034

And for the fun of it...

Sonic In Chaotix: 6B39E714 / 417E93B6
Sonic In Chaotix R2: 6E99C291 / 192C99E6

I believe the offset is different for every different version of Kega. If somebody could pack up some working Kega EXE's, that'd be nice. Not holding my breath though. :P

#11 User is offline Quexinos 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:14 AM

  • Since 1997
  • Posts: 1672
  • Joined: 24-April 03
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:11
I'd upload it but it.. still keeps crashing for me.
This post has been edited by Quexinos: 24 February 2008 - 12:15 AM

#12 User is offline Sik 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:15 AM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11
First of all, for what Kega version is that offset?

Second, what timefix are you talking about? By any chance Chaotix does something weird that cause it not to be emulated properly? I would be really interested in knowing it, also it means something is not being emulated properly :P Anyways, it seems like only the two earliest protos crash. But I have to check more carefully.

By the way, doesn't it mean that Chaotix hacks should crash too?

#13 User is offline Kat 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:18 AM

  • Posts: 203
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Female
I've been attempting this in Fusion 3.51... is 1A0008 the correct offset for this build?

#14 User is offline King 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:18 AM

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
As far as I know, any hacks/protos of Chaotix doesn't match the internal timefix of the original Knuckles Chaotix (or in the case of any of the other prototypes), thus becoming screwed up/not working at all. Each 32X prototype will probably suffer from this. Steve Snake will have to eventually update his timefixes to include the prototypes (and hopefully Sonic In Chaotix).

The byte swapped CRC32 for Knuckles Chaotix (JU) [!] is 248B0B0D.
This post has been edited by King: 24 February 2008 - 12:26 AM

#15 User is offline King 

Posted 24 February 2008 - 02:15 PM

  • Posts: 600
  • Joined: 24-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States
Well, if it works with Sonic In Chaotix, shouldn't it be merged with that topic to specifically get it to work in Kega?

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users