Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Random Levels Project - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 4 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Random Levels Project v0.1.1

#46 User is offline DigitalDuck 

Posted 17 July 2017 - 01:00 PM

  • Arriving four years late.
  • Posts: 4607
  • Joined: 23-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincs, UK
  • Project:TurBoa, S1RL
v0.1.1: DOWNLOAD

Controls - as Sonic 1, plus:
- down+A/B/C while standing: Spindash (Sonic 2)
- up+A/B/C while standing: Peelout (Sonic CD)
- up while rolling: unroll
- down or A/B/C while airborne: curl in air
- A while paused: regenerate level (only loses progress since last checkpoint)

------------

So, it turns out I got my dates wrong and I'm actually away this week. Today's pretty much the last day I can do anything for a while so I've just built what I have.

As far as generating the data on my end goes, Green Hill Zone is 100% stable. I can make changes without the whole thing breaking now. I've made a few changes to the structure of the data and it's a lot easier to fix things as a result.

The generation in ROM may not be 100% stable, but it should be better than it was. I tested Preset A at 13km and the whole thing worked without problems, so there is at least a fully stable level this time.

Labyrinth Zone is going slower, and still fails to generate anything resembling a level so I've removed it from this version. I'll keep trying, but there are some significant problems that aren't trivial to fix.

------------

New features:
- Full options menu, with ability to choose between random and fixed-seed generation, different level lengths, different cameras, turning on/off certain monitors, starting palette, and how it changes over time, and turning on/off the music.
- Distance counter to keep track of how far you've travelled.
- Four-digit ring counter.
- Goggles monitor. It does nothing.

Fixed bugs:
- Checkpoints no longer load already activated, so no longer prevent the level beyond loading.
- Signposts no longer load earlier than they should.
- Demo no longer locks Sonic's controls and can be ended with the start button.
- Invincibility music plays when collecting the invincibility powerup.
- Ring counter no longer overflows.

Known bugs:
- Dying with speed shoes causes music to stay at the faster speed until more speed shoes are collected. Invincibility music also continues after death.

#47 User is offline Chris Highwind 

Posted 19 July 2017 - 04:14 PM

  • Don't mess with Luigi
  • Posts: 1982
  • Joined: 30-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mooresville, NC
  • Project:Slacking
  • Wiki edits:13
Nice, just downloaded and ran through a random 500m and 1.7km level, and it feels a lot more varied now.

#48 User is offline Brainulator 

Posted 22 July 2017 - 05:46 PM

  • Regular garden-variety user
  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: 11-October 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere. Where? You pick.
  • Project:ideas I shouldn't let out
You left the Internet for a week one day after me. Teehee.

Will have to check out!
This post has been edited by Brainulator: 22 July 2017 - 05:49 PM

#49 User is offline DigitalDuck 

Posted 13 August 2017 - 03:00 PM

  • Arriving four years late.
  • Posts: 4607
  • Joined: 23-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincs, UK
  • Project:TurBoa, S1RL
Status update:

As expected, not much has happened development-wise recently, but I'd still like to keep in the habit of updating regularly. I've been making the most of my time off before more work gets dumped on me later this month, so almost all the work on S1RL has happened in my head rather than in code.

One thing I'd really like to get in for next time is playlist functionality. Choose which songs you want to hear, and the game will switch between songs as you play. This much is already implemented, but I'd like to port music from other games (because 17 tracks isn't much, especially when nine of them are non-looping jingles and one is invincibility), and also have some sort of display that tells you what's playing.

I'd like to dripfeed a few more monitors into the mix as I go too. The aim is to not have the monitors deviate too much from what's already in there, but just add more variety to the way the levels are played.

When I get back to working on it, the biggest focus will of course be on getting Labyrinth Zone levels randomly generating correctly. But there are other things I want to add too, because it's still missing a lot from a game design perspective, so there should be a lot to look forward to.


I've been doing speedruns of the game, partly for the sake of testing, and partly because I can learn the route playing on my phone on the train.

Posted Image
Posted Image

500m - 00:47
900m - 01:22
1.7km - 02:46
3.3km - 05:28
6.6km - 11:14
13km - 21:22
9999 rings - 49:39

All were done using Preset A so I could learn where certain types of monitors are (or at least the ones I can reliably hit). I have only speed shoes and special monitors for the distance trials, and only shield and Sonic monitors for the ring trial.

I also have video of the last two as I did them on stream a few days ago. I could've been faster for the ring trial but I was dicking about with the glitch by the breakable walls.

#50 User is offline Brainulator 

Posted 25 August 2017 - 02:04 PM

  • Regular garden-variety user
  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: 11-October 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere. Where? You pick.
  • Project:ideas I shouldn't let out
https://drive.google...LW1ZbzlUOVU3RzA

I encountered this error, apparently. Also, I hate to be that person, but "General Optons."

#51 User is offline DigitalDuck 

Posted 25 August 2017 - 02:47 PM

  • Arriving four years late.
  • Posts: 4607
  • Joined: 23-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincs, UK
  • Project:TurBoa, S1RL

View PostBrainulator, on 25 August 2017 - 02:04 PM, said:

https://drive.google...LW1ZbzlUOVU3RzA

I encountered this error, apparently. Also, I hate to be that person, but "General Optons."


I swear I fixed that.

Yes, General Optons has been pointed out to me. Would've been nice if you guys had done it when I showed the screen three months ago, though. :v:

  • 4 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
    Locked
    Locked Forum

3 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users