Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Bloody driver updates! - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Bloody driver updates!

#1 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 12 February 2016 - 12:55 PM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
http://rhs.sonicrese...rg/hwinfo64.png
Windows 10 64-bit


Anyway, my driver is currently at version 359.00, works fine (almost). On the 1st of December, 359.06 came out. When updating it (express or clean), halfway through the installation, the laptop's screen suddenly goes blank, and then I'm at the bios screen. Windows loads up, although the colours looked a little washed out. Guessing that means the driver isn't acting right. And what do you know, within 30 seconds (of doing anything), the laptop suddenly dies without warning. Turning the laptop back on loads windows, but again in 30 seconds, dead. Eventually, after turning the laptop back on after the 5th time, instead, windows restore loads up. Thank fuck I did a windows restore before updating. After the restore, Windows loads perfectly fine again, no issues. The driver is back at 359.00 though, obviously.


On the 21st of December, version 361.43 came out, but the exact same thing happens again when trying to update to this. So, I'm on 359.00 again.


To be honest, 359.00 is almost fine. COD:BO3 works fine, Generations is fine, almost everything is fine. There's just 2 problems. Sonic Lost Worlds likes to freeze on the drill part on Silent Forest Act 4 and then crash, so now I can't carry on with my Sonic Lost World playthroughs. Also, when using Sony Vegas Pro 13, not often, but sometimes it will just suddenly crash without warning. When creating a video, or rendering. That's annoying because if a render is going to take 2 hours, and it freezes halfway, then that's just time wasted.


Anyway, a new driver has come out! 361.75 on the 27th January. I created a restore point first. So I've tried installing this. Doing an express installation does the same thing as the other version, but a clean installation actually works! And installs. Now restart your computer to finish the installation. Okay....

Now Windows won't load at all. It just loads the bios over and over again. Eventually, after trying this for about 5 minutes (which I have no control over by the way) it brings up the recovery program in DOS mode (or whatever it's called these days). Luckily, system restore is an option, so I do that, and again, back to 359.00.


Just tried Sonic Lost World and it still freezes (as expected). So, by the looks of it, I can't update my driver. Is this for all 980m users? Or am I being unlucky? Is there anything else I can try? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 User is offline Light Guardian 

Posted 13 February 2016 - 07:24 AM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 07-February 16
  • Gender:Male
How are you updating your driver? Are you doing it entirely manually, though Windows, or through GeForce Experience?

Also, is Windows entirely up to date? I've experienced a similar issue on my laptop with the sound driver. Updating Windows entirely and re-installing the driver resolved the issue for me.
This post has been edited by Light Guardian: 13 February 2016 - 07:25 AM

#3 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 13 February 2016 - 10:19 AM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24

View PostLight Guardian, on 13 February 2016 - 07:24 AM, said:

How are you updating your driver? Are you doing it entirely manually, though Windows, or through GeForce Experience?



Doing it through Windows, Windows just says it's up-to-date already so I can't update it this way. Doing it through GeForce Experience or going to nvidia's site and manually searching for the driver still makes the laptop crash until I revert back to 359.00.

#4 User is offline Light Guardian 

Posted 13 February 2016 - 10:52 AM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 07-February 16
  • Gender:Male

View Postredhotsonic, on 13 February 2016 - 10:19 AM, said:

View PostLight Guardian, on 13 February 2016 - 07:24 AM, said:

How are you updating your driver? Are you doing it entirely manually, though Windows, or through GeForce Experience?



Doing it through Windows, Windows just says it's up-to-date already so I can't update it this way. Doing it through GeForce Experience or going to nvidia's site and manually searching for the driver still makes the laptop crash until I revert back to 359.00.


Windows usually is one or two versions behind the latest driver. Have you tried to see if there's a beta driver available?

#5 User is offline winterhell 

Posted 14 February 2016 - 05:46 AM

  • Posts: 1081
  • Joined: 16-October 10
  • Gender:Male
Uninstall Windows 10

#6 User is offline amphobius 

Posted 14 February 2016 - 06:12 AM

  • where are the japanese shaman girls, lintahlo?
  • Posts: 2117
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland, Belfast
  • Project:Sonic Thrash, Sonic Boom, Super Famidev
  • Wiki edits:165
What a constructive reply. Bravo.

#7 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 14 February 2016 - 02:23 PM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
I can't seem to find any beta drivers at this moment in time, so I guess for now I will have to stick to 359.00. Although I am beginning to wonder if the crash in Lost World is a GPU problem because it's only when the drill badnik appears on screen that it crashes.


View Postwinterhell, on 14 February 2016 - 05:46 AM, said:

Uninstall Windows 10


The driver I installed was built for Windows 10. I've searched on Google and it looks like I am the only one having this issue. Maybe my GPU is wearing out (even though it's pretty new).

#8 User is offline Light Guardian 

Posted 15 February 2016 - 09:46 AM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 07-February 16
  • Gender:Male
You could try rolling back to an even earlier driver that had no problems. Most of the drivers should only be Game Ready drivers and thus only offer improvements in select titles rather than general performance. Though, given that the one issue only occurs at a specific point, you're probably right that the issue with Lost World is the game itself.

If the issue persists in Sony Vegas Pro 13, then try turning GPU acceleration off (assuming you have it enabled right now). Render times will be longer, but if there are no crashes then we can pretty much confirm that the issue is related to the GPU.

Still, your issues seem rather odd. A display driver issue or defective GPU should not disable Windows from booting at all; you should, at least, be able to boot Windows in Safe Mode. It almost sounds like the driver is being installed into the wrong directory and is causing conflict with Windows. Maybe GeForce Experience installed an update incorrectly; re-installing GeForce Experience might fix the issue.

#9 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 16 February 2016 - 07:09 AM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
Well, I've gone to the previous one before 359.00 (at work at the moment so can't remember the number version) and Vegas hasn't frozen so far. So that seems to work fine. Sonic Lost World still locks up, as soon as that badnik appears so it must be the game. Funnily enough, turning GPU acceleration off in Vegas didn't make a difference as it still often crashed, but it hasn't again so far (with it being open and editing and rendering for almost 3 hours). Maybe a huge coincidence?

As for uninstalling GeForce experience and etc, I've tried all that. Although you could be right about the wrong directory thing. I noticed that ever since I updated to Windows 10, "My Documents" are in the "Downloads" folder by default. And I can't seem to change that (yeah, I can make a new document folder but it's not default). Anyone else with that issue? Or is my laptop lame?

#10 User is offline Light Guardian 

Posted 16 February 2016 - 08:24 AM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 07-February 16
  • Gender:Male
Oh, so your laptop wasn't Windows 10 by default. Huh, could be that the Windows 10 upgrade installed wrong, then. You could try resetting the PC, but that would require re-downloading all your drivers and programs again. However, I'd try running a command prompt (as an admin) first and using the chkdsk command to scan for errors. Also, going to Troubleshooting (in the Control Panel) and trying the "Fix Problems with Windows Update" option could potentially resolve the issue as well.

The whole deal with Vega really has me stumped. Oh well, it works now.

As for Lost World, verifying the local cache may resolve the issue (right-click the game on Steam, choose properties, go to local files, and select "Verify Integrity of Game Cache). Alternatively, messing around with the in-game graphics options could resolve the issue or you could try re-installing the game (your save data should, hopefully, be stored in the Steam Cloud).

BTW, just wanted to say that this whole conversation got me to watch some of your playthrough. You're doing a pretty good job; it was enjoyable to watch. I'm, also, impressed that a laptop is running the game as good as displayed in the video. Hopefully, the issue you're having can be resolved.

#11 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 16 February 2016 - 04:59 PM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
I actually did that chkdsk the other day (because windows 10 start menu failed to appear sometimes). It found errors and fixed them all.

The verifying of the cache, I never thought of, so just tried it... and... well, I don't even know what to think anymore. At the exact same place, the game no longer locks up... sort off. The picture now freezes and it "appears" frozen, although the sound effects now continue and I can fully control Sonic and play the game, I'm just blind doing so. I will try uninstalling and reinstalling the game tomorrow, and if no avail, I may post a video of it. Thanks for the advice so far.

#12 User is offline Light Guardian 

Posted 18 February 2016 - 11:38 AM

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 07-February 16
  • Gender:Male
You're welcome; glad to help. I'm assuming that the lack of a video means that you got it working.

#13 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 18 February 2016 - 01:34 PM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1542
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
No, just haven't got round to it lol. Maybe the weekend =P

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users