Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: ==Sonic 3 bug number 0004== - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

==Sonic 3 bug number 0004== Location: LBZ1's boss in Knuckles mode

#1 User is offline LOst 

Posted 09 February 2004 - 11:15 AM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
==Sonic 3 bug number 0004==

When playing in Knuckles mode, some levels were dynamically redesigned to fit Knuckles gameplay. One of these levels are Launch Base Zone Act 1, where Knuckles can't never reach his path without a complete new level layout. The place where Knuckles throws a bomb at Sonic is totally gone. This is because the place were bombed before Knuckles game started.
Most of us see the acts in a level to be joined together, so where act 1 ends, act 2 continues. This is not the case. Act 1 will, as act 2 wrap and wrap and wrap until the screen coordinates reaches its maximum value. This can be seen while playing with debug, but never without it, OR that's what Sonic Team thought.

Bug 0004 description:
Knuckles sees a hole in the wall and runs into it just to meet another trap! Two mini bosses. Now Knuckles can jump over the hole, and climb up to Sonic's path. Because Knukles' bomb demo handled Sonic's boss by trigger Eggman into leaving the box and also locking the screen coordinates, Knuckles cannot trigger Sonic's boss at all. He will just pass through the box hall and the wrapping bug appears. He cannot get back into the main level again because the box hall is closed behind him. He's trapped forever!

Bug 0004 was never fixed!

The video of the bug (taken from the last version of Sonic 3 & Knuckles ever compiled) can be downloaded here:
http://logotypes.se/tmp/bug0004.avi

More bugs/bug-fixes will be posted later. Post your comments!

#2 User is offline The Wanderer 

Posted 09 February 2004 - 05:25 PM

  • Never really posted
  • Posts: 165
  • Joined: 08-August 03
  • Project:Flash Animations

LOst, on Feb 9 2004, 11:15 AM, said:

Most of us see the acts in a level to be joined together, so where act 1 ends, act 2 continues. This is not the case. Act 1 will, as act 2 wrap and wrap and wrap until the screen coordinates reaches its maximum value. This can be seen while playing with debug, but never without it, OR that's what Sonic Team thought.

Like your given example, there are other ways of pulling off level wrapping without the use of debug (even in Act 1). The best example of this is Carnival Night Zone Act 2 with Knuckles, in which you follow sonic's path up until you get to where the zone will send you through several speed barrels and down into the area where you hit the egg capsule. DO NOT GO THIS WAY. Avoid the speed barrels by jumping up onto sonic's path and getting to the long tube where Sonic would normally fall and see Knuckles, then get spit up to the boss battle. Climb up this tube, and go to the far left. climb the wall, and glide as far as possible. This will result in you accessing the level wrapping area.

As for others, I believe there was one more (act 1 of something), but I can't remember off the top of my head. (Note: I do not have Sonic Jam or any of the collections available to me, but the last time I had access to a copy of Jam, I think it was still there. Don't quote me on this though, as it's been awhile, and I may mixing something up.)
This post has been edited by The Wanderer: 09 February 2004 - 05:30 PM

#3 User is offline Hayate 

Posted 10 February 2004 - 11:54 AM

  • Posts: 2379
  • Joined: 01-February 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Torquay, England
  • Wiki edits:70
I don't understand. Could you explain better, LOst?

#4 User is offline LOst 

Posted 10 February 2004 - 01:40 PM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

bobxp, on Feb 10 2004, 07:54 PM, said:

I don't understand. Could you explain better, LOst?

What don't you undersand?

#5 User is offline Hayate 

Posted 11 February 2004 - 04:32 PM

  • Posts: 2379
  • Joined: 01-February 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Torquay, England
  • Wiki edits:70
This...

Quote

Act 1 will, as act 2 wrap and wrap and wrap until the screen coordinates reaches its maximum value. This can be seen while playing with debug, but never without it, OR that's what Sonic Team thought.


... and this:

Quote

Now Knuckles can jump over the hole, and climb up to Sonic's path. Because Knukles' bomb demo handled Sonic's boss by trigger Eggman into leaving the box and also locking the screen coordinates, Knuckles cannot trigger Sonic's boss at all. He will just pass through the box hall and the wrapping bug appears. He cannot get back into the main level again because the box hall is closed behind him. He's trapped forever!


#6 User is offline Kamek 

Posted 27 November 2004 - 03:44 AM

  • Magikoopa
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 01-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koopa Kingdom
  • Wiki edits:53
Sorry to revive an old topic, but how do you get Knuckles to climb up the wall? Upward screen movement is locked so that Knuckles can't climb above 0x040C once he reaches that area. I had to fly in with debug from another area to bypass the screen lock.

#7 User is offline LOst 

Posted 27 November 2004 - 05:20 AM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

Kamek, on Nov 27 2004, 11:44 AM, said:

Sorry to revive an old topic, but how do you get Knuckles to climb up the wall? Upward screen movement is locked so that Knuckles can't climb above 0x040C once he reaches that area. I had to fly in with debug from another area to bypass the screen lock.

Check the movie. This was a long time ago I recorded it so I don't remember. it worked anyway.

#8 User is offline Kamek 

Posted 28 November 2004 - 04:08 AM

  • Magikoopa
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 01-November 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koopa Kingdom
  • Wiki edits:53

LOst, on Nov 27 2004, 05:20 AM, said:

Kamek, on Nov 27 2004, 11:44 AM, said:

Sorry to revive an old topic, but how do you get Knuckles to climb up the wall? Upward screen movement is locked so that Knuckles can't climb above 0x040C once he reaches that area. I had to fly in with debug from another area to bypass the screen lock.

Check the movie. This was a long time ago I recorded it so I don't remember. it worked anyway.

The movie, from what I can make of it, shows Knuckles already climbing the wall at the beginning of the movie, without demonstrating how to remove the screen lock.

#9 User is offline 8-Bit Dragon 

Posted 28 November 2004 - 11:07 PM

  • Posts: 839
  • Joined: 12-February 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gainesville, Florida
  • Project:Too many!
  • Wiki edits:2

Kamek, on Nov 28 2004, 04:08 AM, said:

The movie, from what I can make of it, shows Knuckles already climbing the wall at the beginning of the movie, without demonstrating how to remove the screen lock.

Indeed it does. I too had to use debug to bypass the screen lock.

All the video shows is Knuckles jumping up from the hole in the wall. That's easy to do once you figure out how to remove the screen lock. So, how is this done without debug, LOst?

#10 User is offline LOst 

Posted 30 November 2004 - 10:18 PM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Crap. I may have passed the screenlock with debug. I'm not sure. I don't know where the screenlock sets into action.

I remember that you can't climb from the other wall. That much I remembered

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users