Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Unreal Worlds Open Source release - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 9 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Unreal Worlds Open Source release Unreal Engine 4 port of Sonic Worlds

#31 User is offline Andrew75 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 09:43 AM

  • Technical Artist
  • Posts: 1777
  • Joined: 12-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Project AXSX(Sonic Xtreme) + Misc Projects
You guys should list your Machine's specs when giving results that way STSorm has a little more to go off of than just it worked or didn't work.
This post has been edited by Andrew75: 16 October 2014 - 09:50 AM

#32 User is offline Ell678 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 10:12 AM

  • Am I Annoying You?
  • Posts: 2269
  • Joined: 07-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Barrow, England
  • Project:Sonic Incursion
  • Wiki edits:6
i7 x990 at 4.40ghz, Windows 7 64 bit, Nvidia 780, 12GB RAM.

#33 User is offline StreakThunderstorm 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 10:55 AM

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 10-July 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Mecha Madness
So far it's looking pretty solid in terms of playability. If you're getting anything less than 30fps, it may be time for an upgrade.

#34 User is offline Mr Lange 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 05:06 PM

  • A wise guy eh. I know how to DEAL with wise guys.
  • Posts: 1246
  • Joined: 27-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Waldos
  • Project:Sonic Utopia, Sonic Overture
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostAndrew75, on 16 October 2014 - 09:43 AM, said:

You guys should list your Machine's specs when giving results that way STSorm has a little more to go off of than just it worked or didn't work.

View PostMr Lange, on 16 October 2014 - 04:58 AM, said:

5 fps, and it wasn't possible for me to control the game. No keyboard inputs work, nor did my gamepad (generic joypad input, not 360).

Posted Image

#35 User is offline Tiller 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 06:54 PM

  • Posts: 778
  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:HDK & World Runner
Moderate specs with a gtx 670 + i5-3570K here. Running just fine.

View PostAndrew75, on 16 October 2014 - 04:23 AM, said:

Runs fine on my GTX Titan SLI, Core i7 5960X overclocked to 4.5 GHZ with DDR4 at 3000 MHZ rig. lol


But can it run Crysis?
This post has been edited by Tiller: 16 October 2014 - 06:55 PM

#36 User is offline Andrew75 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 07:14 PM

  • Technical Artist
  • Posts: 1777
  • Joined: 12-December 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Project AXSX(Sonic Xtreme) + Misc Projects

View PostTiller, on 16 October 2014 - 06:54 PM, said:

Moderate specs with a gtx 670 + i5-3570K here. Running just fine.

View PostAndrew75, on 16 October 2014 - 04:23 AM, said:

Runs fine on my GTX Titan SLI, Core i7 5960X overclocked to 4.5 GHZ with DDR4 at 3000 MHZ rig. lol


But can it run Crysis?

Not yet apparently, But it can finally handle Doom 3 lol
This post has been edited by Andrew75: 16 October 2014 - 07:16 PM

#37 User is online Covarr 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 07:45 PM

  • Sentient Cash Register
  • Posts: 3975
  • Joined: 05-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The desert of nowhere, USA
  • Wiki edits:1
i5-3570k @ stock speeds
16GB DDR3
GTX 660Ti w/factory overclock

Ran at a steady 60fps. Could not find how to run at 1080p or 144hz; fullscreening with Alt+enter just surrounded the game with a black box.

#38 User is offline Crasher 

Posted 16 October 2014 - 08:31 PM

  • Why hello there!
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 11-April 11
  • Gender:Male
Intel Pentium G3220 3.00 GHz
4 GB DDR3
Powercolor R7 250

It's a stable 50 FPS at fullscreen.

#39 User is offline StreakThunderstorm 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 08:49 AM

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 10-July 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Mecha Madness
As of right now, the engine will be locked at 60fps ONLY because I can't figure out how to properly implement delta time. The editor itself runs at 120 fps. I've made attempts at making delta time work but the results were inconsistent at different frame rates.

#40 User is offline Mr Lange 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 02:21 PM

  • A wise guy eh. I know how to DEAL with wise guys.
  • Posts: 1246
  • Joined: 27-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Waldos
  • Project:Sonic Utopia, Sonic Overture
  • Wiki edits:1

View PostMr Lange, on 16 October 2014 - 05:06 PM, said:

View PostAndrew75, on 16 October 2014 - 09:43 AM, said:

You guys should list your Machine's specs when giving results that way STSorm has a little more to go off of than just it worked or didn't work.

View PostMr Lange, on 16 October 2014 - 04:58 AM, said:

5 fps, and it wasn't possible for me to control the game. No keyboard inputs work, nor did my gamepad (generic joypad input, not 360).

Posted Image

I should add that I can run Sonic GDK and Sonic Fan Remix at near full speed with moderate settings. I can also run Sonic Generations decently.
There's barely anything to your engine and it struggles at 5 fps. Graphical and memory demands like that are absolutely ridiculous.

#41 User is offline winterhell 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 02:44 PM

  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: 16-October 10
  • Gender:Male
Those framerates are not particularly Streak's fault but a general consequence of using UE 4 and its minimum overhead. Even the stock examples of 2D games run like crap. The creators themselves don't recommend using anything lower than GTX 470. Thats how 'powerful' the engine is.

#42 User is online Covarr 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 03:21 PM

  • Sentient Cash Register
  • Posts: 3975
  • Joined: 05-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The desert of nowhere, USA
  • Wiki edits:1
So Epic is just doing their usual thing. Cool.

#43 User is offline StreakThunderstorm 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 03:23 PM

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 10-July 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Mecha Madness
Unreal 4 uses DX11 and soon to be DX12. Old hardware will not be able to run this properly and that's not my fault.

#44 User is offline Mr Lange 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 03:33 PM

  • A wise guy eh. I know how to DEAL with wise guys.
  • Posts: 1246
  • Joined: 27-August 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Waldos
  • Project:Sonic Utopia, Sonic Overture
  • Wiki edits:1
That's a shame. Greatly discouraged me from trying out UE4, especially considering I wouldn't even be able to use the thing. I want to make games that can run on lots of computers, not just elite cutting edge ones. Unity it is.

#45 User is offline StreakThunderstorm 

Posted 17 October 2014 - 05:22 PM

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: 10-July 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Mecha Madness
With the advancement of technology and how cheap things are becoming, catering to people who choose not to upgrade isn't my focus. Most people who actually play games on computers have decent video cards, processors and RAM.

  • 9 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users