Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic 3 "Bad Dump" rom file using Sonic 2 Sprites? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic 3 "Bad Dump" rom file using Sonic 2 Sprites? In Goodgen 3.0

#1 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 25 April 2019 - 09:16 PM

  • Posts: 3484
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:America
  • Wiki edits:2
Hi guys, I don't know if this has been discussed before, but I haven't noticed it before. Found it by accident when retroarch scanned my library and booted the wrong file.

This rom is listed as a 'bad dump' of Sonic 3, presumably listed as final. However a lot of Sonic's sprites are from Sonic 2? This isn't listed as a hack or a beta. Where did this rom come from?

The one in question is: Sonic The Hedgehog 3 (U) [b3].gen, and the filedate is listed 29/10/2000 !

Posted Image

#2 User is offline Covarr 

Posted 25 April 2019 - 09:33 PM

  • Sentient Cash Register
  • Posts: 4219
  • Joined: 05-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The desert of nowhere, USA
  • Wiki edits:1
It's probably a mislabeled hack. GoodTools sets are by no means perfect I just gave it a quick test, and though I didn't play the whole thing or give it anything resembling an in-depth examination, it didn't look like a proto or anything. Everything I saw other than a few of Sonic's sprites was, as far as I could tell, just the final game.

I would be very surprised if this turned out to be a proto sitting under our noses for decades.

#3 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 25 April 2019 - 10:14 PM

  • Posts: 3484
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:America
  • Wiki edits:2

View PostCovarr, on 25 April 2019 - 09:33 PM, said:

I would be very surprised if this turned out to be a proto sitting under our noses for decades.


Stranger things have happened, but I wasn't sure either way. I thought I'd better bring it up for someone to compare as I don't have the tools or experience to do a binary diff.

#4 User is offline Ralakimus 

Posted 25 April 2019 - 11:20 PM

  • Posts: 317
  • Joined: 16-April 13
  • Gender:Male
I checked out the ROM myself. I was greeted with an "incorrect checksum" message and Sonic 2 sprites that are a bit different from the actual Sonic 2 sprites used in the prototype.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Yeah, it's just a hack.
This post has been edited by Ralakimus: 25 April 2019 - 11:32 PM

#5 User is offline Hez 

Posted 26 April 2019 - 10:22 AM

  • Asshole
  • Posts: 2994
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell
  • Project:Your mother
  • Wiki edits:27
Did the proto sonic 2 sprites in sonic 3 have a modified sprite set to use sonic 3s pallette similiar to how tails is?

#6 User is offline Sodaholic 

Posted 26 April 2019 - 01:21 PM

  • frog blast the vent core
  • Posts: 1186
  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lh'owon

View PostHez, on 26 April 2019 - 10:22 AM, said:

Did the proto sonic 2 sprites in sonic 3 have a modified sprite set to use sonic 3s pallette similiar to how tails is?
Nah, far as I can tell, even Tails is unmodified aside from being forced into a new palette: only true difference is Sonic loses a middle shade.

http://info.sonicret...ype_screenshots

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users