Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: New stuff found in the S2 proto ROM - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

New stuff found in the S2 proto ROM Alternate running animations for Sonic

#1 User is offline ICEknight 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:27 AM

  • Posts: 10113
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
You might have wondered about the reason why they originally made the graphics for Sonic's running legs separated from his body. Well, it looks like he was supposed to have different running animations when he's running much faster than normal (just like happens with Tails), and these animations show the same graphics only differently mapped.

The lost animations just move Sonic's body away from his legs, making Sonic look like he's indeed trying to run faster. Just replace "FF3C3D3E3FF" in the Sonic 2 prototype ROM with "FF40414243FF" (animation 2) or "FF44454647FF" (animation 3) to see them in action.

Attached File(s)


This post has been edited by ICEknight: 14 October 2004 - 11:30 AM

#2 User is offline Syren 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 12:03 PM

  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 20-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teesside, UK
  • Project:Reintergration
Wow, and anyone would have thought the beta was sucked dry! Nice one IceKnight!

The guy at the front of the crowd said:

The lost animation uses 8 frames and looks quite nice, making Sonic look like he's indeed trying to run faster. Just replace "FF3C3D3E3FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF" in the Sonic 2 prototype ROM with "FF4041424344454647FFFFFFFFFF" to see it in action.


What offset would I go to to enter that?

#3 User is offline Wetflame 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 12:18 PM

  • :D
  • Posts: 1718
  • Joined: 22-March 04
  • Gender:Female
  • Wiki edits:3
Does this explain the weird "skidding" animation I wonder?

#4 User is offline McAleeCh 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 01:06 PM

  • Posts: 663
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:27

Soil, on Oct 13 2004, 12:03 PM, said:

Wow, and anyone would have thought the beta was sucked dry! Nice one IceKnight!

The guy at the front of the crowd said:

The lost animation uses 8 frames and looks quite nice, making Sonic look like he's indeed trying to run faster. Just replace "FF3C3D3E3FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF" in the Sonic 2 prototype ROM with "FF4041424344454647FFFFFFFFFF" to see it in action.


What offset would I go to to enter that?

0x10D00

Or just search for the values ICEknight gave; it's the only instance of that particular string in the entire ROM. =P
This post has been edited by Knuckles Prower: 13 October 2004 - 01:18 PM

#5 User is offline Syren 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 02:41 PM

  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 20-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teesside, UK
  • Project:Reintergration
Why tank 'oo Knuckles Prower.

Sweet!

#6 User is offline Wyvernlord 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 03:01 PM

  • Sittin on my Bench, Watchin the sunset.
  • Posts: 1093
  • Joined: 19-July 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
  • Project:Becoming a priest, perhaps?
Sort of like how he runs in Sonic CD. When he reaches a specific point in speed his sprite changes.

Nice find, ICEknight

#7 User is offline 8-Bit Dragon 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 03:11 PM

  • Posts: 839
  • Joined: 12-February 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gainesville, Florida
  • Project:Too many!
  • Wiki edits:2
OMG that is so cool! They should have used this. Exelent find ICEknight!
This post has been edited by 8-Bit Dragon: 13 October 2004 - 03:12 PM

#8 User is offline Lostgame 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 04:24 PM

  • 'There are feathers everywhere, but it's fine...'
  • Posts: 3995
  • Joined: 02-December 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, ON
  • Project:the love orchestra
  • Wiki edits:2
Wow! That's awesome! I think everyone thought the ROM was squeezed totally dry! Kudos on a new discovery!

#9 User is offline LOst 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 09:30 PM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2
Cool. A new find. Congratulations!


However you didn't say who found this.... If it comes from a trusty source I believe this is true. Else it can be a hack or a hoax
This post has been edited by LOst: 13 October 2004 - 09:33 PM

#10 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 09:36 PM

  • Adopt
  • Posts: 5169
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:CA US
  • Wiki edits:4

LOst, on Oct 14 2004, 12:30 AM, said:

Cool. A new find. Congratulations!


However you didn't say who found this.... If it comes from a trusty source I believe this is true. Else it can be a hack or a hoax

Lost, Iceknight explains how to make this happen in the Sonic 2 b ROM. So obviously it's not a hack, or a hoax.

#11 User is offline LOst 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 09:44 PM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

Rika Chou, on Oct 14 2004, 05:36 AM, said:

So obviously it's not a hack

Well, it is a hack and today people can change instructions to make Sonic do whatever wierd things.

#12 User is offline voice 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:24 PM

  • Make any joke you want, you know I look good.
  • Posts: 3725
  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins west of Chicago
  • Project:RSN2.0, PHP:IRC (A attempt at CGI:IRC in PHP)
  • Wiki edits:65
Heh, well the offset was found, but when I did a search for FF3C3D3E3FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF HexWorkshop turned up nothing. *Sigh* I guess its because I'm not a real big user of Hex editing software so I don't fully understand how to use it <_<

#13 User is offline LOst 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:53 PM

  • Posts: 4886
  • Joined: 10-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2

voice, on Oct 14 2004, 06:24 AM, said:

Heh, well the offset was found, but when I did a search for FF3C3D3E3FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF HexWorkshop turned up nothing. *Sigh* I guess its because I'm not a real big user of Hex editing software so I don't fully understand how to use it <_<

First you have to search in the BIN, not the SMD :P

And second, you are 80% in risk at spelling the hex numbers wrong when searching, so try again and again.

#14 User is offline voice 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 10:55 PM

  • Make any joke you want, you know I look good.
  • Posts: 3725
  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:45mins west of Chicago
  • Project:RSN2.0, PHP:IRC (A attempt at CGI:IRC in PHP)
  • Wiki edits:65
Ah, damn file formats.

Quote

And second, you are 80% in risk at spelling the hex numbers wrong when searching, so try again and again.


spelling? no no no LOst, I cheat and use ctrl+c/ctrl+v :D

#15 User is offline 8-Bit Dragon 

Posted 13 October 2004 - 11:28 PM

  • Posts: 839
  • Joined: 12-February 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gainesville, Florida
  • Project:Too many!
  • Wiki edits:2

voice, on Oct 13 2004, 10:55 PM, said:

Ah, damn file formats.

Quote

And second, you are 80% in risk at spelling the hex numbers wrong when searching, so try again and again.


spelling? no no no LOst, I cheat and use ctrl+c/ctrl+v :D

When I tryed that, it said invalid format or some shit. I had to type it in myself. I'm using XVI32 and it doesn't like strings like that, it likes spaces, but it wants to put it's own spaces in, but not when you paste something. It's bitchy.

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users