Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic R on Vista. - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic R on Vista. Any bugfix?

#1 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 10:04 AM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
I keep getting this annoying error.

Quote

The program encountered a problem at address 004801d9 and cannot
continue

Click on OK to terminate the application.


Is there a bugfix for this at all? I want to go Super Sonic racing, got keep your feet right on the ground. Everybody's Super Sonic racing! Theres no time to look around! Sorry... but the song kicks ass...
This post has been edited by GrandMasterJimmy: 09 April 2008 - 10:05 AM

#2 User is offline Spanner 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 10:13 AM

  • The Tool
  • Posts: 3190
  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Hacking Contest
  • Wiki edits:2,193
I tried Sonic R on Vista but I ended up getting a screen saying DirectDraw, last time I checked.

#3 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 10:17 AM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
I'f I tap enter really fast over the .exe I can get to the screen were you choose what graphics type you want, except I can't choose one, nothing on the keyboard works, the mouse, or my game pad.

#4 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 11:46 AM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
I got it working properly one time. I have no idea what I did and have failed to get it working again.

#5 User is offline Skaarg 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 01:40 PM

  • Posts: 3683
  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Wiki edits:4
Have you tried running it in Windows XP (or lower) compatibility mode? I have a couple copies of Sonic R PC, so I can check to see if I can get it to start when I get home.

#6 User is offline Polygon Jim 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 02:00 PM

  • Posts: 3071
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:across town from Hinchy
  • Project:All the bitches.
  • Wiki edits:582
Ya, I've tried every compatibility mode. I have it on Windows 98 compatibility right now.

Does anyone have a rip of the new batch of disks from 2004? They worked on XP correctly, which means it might work on Vista. Because contrary to popular belief, almost all XP games work on Vista.

#7 User is offline PicklePower 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 05:59 PM

  • Posts: 580
  • Joined: 15-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:2,809

View PostGrandMasterJimmy, on Apr 9 2008, 10:04 AM, said:

Is there a bugfix for this at all? I want to go Super Sonic racing, got keep your feet right on the ground. Everybody's Super Sonic racing! Theres no time to look around! Sorry... but the song kicks ass...


http://gaysonicsong.ytmnd.com/

#8 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 06:09 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male

View PostPicklePower, on Apr 9 2008, 06:59 PM, said:

View PostGrandMasterJimmy, on Apr 9 2008, 10:04 AM, said:

Is there a bugfix for this at all? I want to go Super Sonic racing, got keep your feet right on the ground. Everybody's Super Sonic racing! Theres no time to look around! Sorry... but the song kicks ass...


http://gaysonicsong.ytmnd.com/

Oh god, I remember that horrible cover. The instrumental tracks in that album were great, but the vocals were just horrid.

The album was The Very Best of SEGA, in case any of you were wondering.

#9 User is offline Skaarg 

Posted 09 April 2008 - 07:04 PM

  • Posts: 3683
  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Wiki edits:4
Sorry I was only able to find my copy that says it's for Win 95/98. No matter what settings I change it crashes on the first screen which is to choose direct3D or Direct Draw. If I find my other copy, which is a newer version I believe I'll test it. I even tried copying the files to my XP laptop configuring the settings in the game and then copying them back and that didn't work either. Also this copy is the one with the music missing from it which sucks. I'll see if I can find my other copy though which is newer.

#10 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 10 April 2008 - 03:49 PM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 17052
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204

View PostPicklePower, on Apr 9 2008, 11:59 PM, said:

View PostGrandMasterJimmy, on Apr 9 2008, 10:04 AM, said:

Is there a bugfix for this at all? I want to go Super Sonic racing, got keep your feet right on the ground. Everybody's Super Sonic racing! Theres no time to look around! Sorry... but the song kicks ass...


http://gaysonicsong.ytmnd.com/

L-FUCKING-MAO

I have never heard that version before. Jesus CHRIST that's bad. XD

#11 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 11 April 2008 - 04:45 AM

  • Posts: 3458
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2
I might be able to rip it for you. It wasn't long ago I made a topic about these new copies of Sonic R, and yeah they work find on XP but the options screen has been removed and your stuck on a low resolution. I'll see how large it is and ISO it when I can.

#12 User is offline JackSkellinghog 

Posted 11 July 2008 - 01:46 PM

  • Posts: 366
  • Joined: 23-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Wiki edits:13
Having the same problem dudes. This blows.

#13 User is offline Andeh 

Posted 12 July 2008 - 12:43 AM

  • Derp herp.
  • Posts: 2161
  • Joined: 09-June 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buffalo, NY
  • Wiki edits:4
I was sad, I spent a couple hours getting Sonic and Knuckles collection and then just mounting the disc it's like "not compatabile with your system"

Fucking Vista.

#14 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 12 July 2008 - 12:45 AM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7534
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
Incidentally, I got the same error message when running Wine on Ubuntu, so I don't know how much Vista is to blame for some of these compatibility issues.

#15 User is offline Vangar 

Posted 12 July 2008 - 05:57 AM

  • Posts: 3458
  • Joined: 08-January 04
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Australia
  • Wiki edits:2
Get a copy of the new Sonic R for like $2? I could even mail some people copies if they want to pay postage from AUS, which wouldnt be much as it would be light. Vista isn't to blame for any of those errors, I had stacks of problems with S3K on my win98 machine long ago. Did any of you tweak with the compatability settings?

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users