Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: For anyone looking to restore HPZ - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

For anyone looking to restore HPZ in Sonic 2. Collision pointer.

#31 User is offline Syren 

Posted 29 August 2004 - 08:05 AM

  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 20-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teesside, UK
  • Project:Reintergration

GenoFox//.Hack, on Aug 4 2004, 04:15 PM, said:

Don't mess it up the least bit though, you might program the all-new hang at title card feature that's 75% off original price. I can make a mostly clean one for you but the in-tile orbs will still be crap (I don't know how to make new ones, I suck at level arting anyway) and the background will scroll up a bit.

EDIT: Wait, did you ever use Esrael Sonic Editor? That can move the collision pointer to, uh, I don't remember really, but check Rika's first post in the topic to see which one is the pointer. Silly me.

:Reply to editreply (what?): Using the editor without using the editor isn't possible, look: "I did not use ESE <snip> I only used ESE <insert scissors here>"... But anyway, did you migrate the levels with ese which "you didn't use"?

I never replied to this, so sorry for bumping.

I didn't use ESE before trying to restore HPZ. I did use ESE to change the level select, and I didn't migrate the levels.

#32 User is offline Mester Keel98 

Posted 29 August 2004 - 09:00 AM

  • Presario Man
  • Posts: 504
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Nada
  • Wiki edits:3
Then, they must have been moved to the end of the ROM already but the offset stayed the same... I'll upload the best one I attempt to restore in a clean Sonic 2 ROM with collision restored and all, but you'll have to restore the in-tile orbs, make it so the background doesn't scroll upwards at start and port the enemies yourself.

RE-EDIT: Download taken down due to ..
1. Ripway being a hell
2. It was unfinished
3. I felt like editing a post
This post has been edited by GenoFox//.Hack: 14 March 2005 - 11:41 PM

#33 User is offline Syren 

Posted 29 August 2004 - 02:04 PM

  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 20-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teesside, UK
  • Project:Reintergration
Thanks alot GenoFox. Would you mind if I used that in a hack?

#34 User is offline Mester Keel98 

Posted 29 August 2004 - 03:03 PM

  • Presario Man
  • Posts: 504
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Nada
  • Wiki edits:3
Use it without even giving credit if you like.
This post has been edited by GenoFox//.Hack: 29 August 2004 - 05:12 PM

#35 User is offline Korou Tenshi 

Posted 14 March 2005 - 01:46 PM

  • WELCOME TO THE MACHINE
  • Posts: 422
  • Joined: 22-January 04
  • Location:England
  • Project:The Album
  • Wiki edits:4
Hey, none of these methods seem to fully restore HPZ for me. I still need backgrounds, water effects, glowing orbs, and many other things. I'll upload the ROM so you guys can tell me what's wrong with it.

Attached File(s)



#36 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 14 March 2005 - 09:37 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male
I don't really want to download that... But what have you restored so far? Remember, you have to port the 8x8, 16x16 and 128x128 blocks from the beta and import them into the final. Once they are in the ROM and in the right format, you have to update the main level load block and pattern load cues to load the correct art and mappings. As for the glowing orbs, you need to import the art for the glowing orbs and update the animated pattern load cues. As for enemies, you have to port the programming. There is a text file somewhere that explains what to do.

#37 User is offline 3588897 

  Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:28 PM

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 17-December 04
  • Project:Sonic 2 Redone
I've got a question and sorry if this is off topic. But anyways is there a way to access this version of HPZ in Sonic Mega Collection Plus? If so do you think you could tell me? And sorry if this is a bump I just want to play HPZ without taking up my computers memory.

#38 User is offline Syren 

Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:40 PM

  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 20-March 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teesside, UK
  • Project:Reintergration
Uh, do you have a game genie? No? No.

#39 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 31 May 2005 - 06:54 PM

  • Adopt
  • Posts: 5180
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:CA US
  • Wiki edits:4

3588897, on May 31 2005, 01:28 PM, said:

I've got a question and sorry if this is off topic. But anyways is there a way to access this version of HPZ in Sonic Mega Collection Plus? If so do you think you could tell me? And sorry if this is a bump I just want to play HPZ without taking up my computers memory.

You can play it using an emulator on the PC, DC, PS2, or Xbox. Your choice.

You cannot play a functional HPZ on SMC+ because S2 final doesn't contain all the required data.
This post has been edited by Rika Chou: 31 May 2005 - 06:54 PM

#40 User is offline muteKi 

Posted 31 May 2005 - 10:04 PM

  • Fuck it
  • Posts: 7502
  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:91
Is the non-functional one on the final accessable from SMC?

#41 User is offline Tweaker 

Posted 01 June 2005 - 02:54 PM

  • Posts: 12389
  • Joined: 27-June 04
  • Gender:Male

muteKi, on May 31 2005, 11:04 PM, said:

Is the non-functional one on the final accessable from SMC?

Of course. It's just the ROM of the final Sonic 2, so everything that you know about is there. It's all about patching the right RAM address.

#42 User is offline 3588897 

Posted 05 June 2005 - 03:25 PM

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 17-December 04
  • Project:Sonic 2 Redone
Well, is there any code I could use to access the non functional HPZ in SMC+? And no I don't have any cheat devices that work. And how would an emulator work on a PS2?

#43 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 06 June 2005 - 01:59 AM

  • Adopt
  • Posts: 5180
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:CA US
  • Wiki edits:4

3588897, on Jun 5 2005, 01:25 PM, said:

Well, is there any code I could use to access the non functional HPZ in SMC+? And no I don't have any cheat devices that work. And how would an emulator work on a PS2?

Without some sort of cheat device, no. It is impossible.

Search on Google. There is a Mega Drive emu for the PS2. You will need a modified PS2.

#44 User is offline C. Shyguy 

Posted 30 June 2005 - 06:16 PM

  • Posts: 221
  • Joined: 29-June 05
  • Gender:Male

Rika Chou, on Mar 3 2004, 11:50 PM, said:

Rika Chou, on Feb 14 2004, 06:45 AM, said:

If your looking to restore HPZ in Sonic 2 final, you will need to know how to restore collision, among other things. Many people get confused and think that HPZ uses the same collision as OOZ, but this is not true. Thus making it hard to find the correct pointer. So to restore the collision data you will need to know where the pointer is, and you must change it to the correct location in the ROM. The pointer is located at offset 004A0C, and it points to offset 045A80. This offset that it points to is where the Offset index of level layouts is located. I hope this clears everything up.

Okay, there is a mistake here. This pointer is for a Sonic 2 ROM that has been edited with ESE. Here are the correct locations for the pointer:

Unedited S2 ROM: 004A09
Edited with ESE ROM: 004A0C

What about if it was edited with ESEII or is it still the same?

#45 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 01 July 2005 - 01:59 AM

  • Adopt
  • Posts: 5180
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:CA US
  • Wiki edits:4
No idea

  • 8 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users