Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Chrome is periodically freezing - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Chrome is periodically freezing But not the rest of the PC

#1 User is offline JaredAFX 

Posted 15 May 2017 - 09:00 PM

  • SonicManEXE
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • Project:Acquiring a taste for FREE FORM JAZZ
I have a Windows 10 laptop from Dell. 15-inch 1920x1080 display, i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, GeForce GTX 960M w/ 4GB RAM, 1TB hard drive. It hasn't been my most favorite experience in the world--it's definitely bottlenecked, but strangely enough it seems to be caused more by the HDD than the processor. It plays things like SA2 on Steam and Paper Mario TTYD on Dolphin fairly well with only occasional slowdown, and things like web browsing have been a perfectly fine experience--until today. For some reason Chrome is visually lagging. By that I mean as I type this and it freezes I will continue and after several seconds it will catch up and display what I've been typing, and videos play audio and also eventually catch up. I thought maybe it was the website I'm taking summer classes on that was causing the slowdown, but I realized after finishing my work that still, the entire browser freezes for no apparent reason. YouTube videos have become frozen in the past and a simple CTRL+ALT+DEL solves the problem, but now it's every single thing I do. I know my system is bottlenecked but this is a little ridiculous, especially considering the rest of my programs are functional, it's just Chrome that's acting like iTunes. If anyone has any solutions or similar stories and how you solved them, please let me now.

#2 User is offline Billy 

Posted 15 May 2017 - 10:37 PM

  • RIP Oderus Urungus
  • Posts: 1775
  • Joined: 24-June 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado, USA
  • Project:retrooftheweek.net - Give it a visit and tell me what you think!
  • Wiki edits:15
Does this happen in incognito mode?

#3 User is offline Raivop 

Posted 16 May 2017 - 06:22 AM

  • Ze Lurker
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 22-June 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
Dunno if this is relevant for this issue, but I had a similar issue with YouTube while using Chrome, that it would randomly just freeze the whole browser. Disabling hardware acceleration from Chrome's settings fixed this problem, so maybe you could try that? (Settings>Scroll down till it reads "Show advanced/extra settings">scroll down more till you find "System"> Uncheck "Use hardware acceleration if possible".) I hope this will help with your issue.

Oh and mine specs were GTX 1060, Intel i5-6500 and 16 GB RAM. I guess Chrome and especially Youtube doesn't like GTX 1060 at all.

#4 User is offline JaredAFX 

Posted 16 May 2017 - 07:34 AM

  • SonicManEXE
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • Project:Acquiring a taste for FREE FORM JAZZ
This hasn't been happening in Incognito mode and I've already tried disabling hardware acceleration. It's the next day and it seems to be doing better, but it's still strange that this was happening at all. I'll edit this post if it starts to come back.

Nope, it's still definitely happening, but usually only with YouTube videos.
This post has been edited by JaredAFX: 16 May 2017 - 08:00 AM

#5 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:56 AM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1525
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24

View PostJaredAFX, on 15 May 2017 - 09:00 PM, said:

I have a Windows 10 laptop...


There's your problem *shot*


In all seriousness, I get it quite often with YouTube on my laptop, and I have to close Chrome and re-open it again to make it work. It only starts freezing if I pause or skip videos. It doesn't happen anywhere else though.

Do me a favour, load up this forum on one tab and then YouTube on the other tab. As soon as YouTube starts "freezing", does the other tab (the forums) also stop responding? I get that any other tab is working perfectly and it's just the YouTube tab, but I still have to close Chrome completely in order to get YouTube working again.

And no, disabling hardware acceleration doesn't fix this for me.


EDIT: Just to make it clear, YouTube works perfectly fine, but if I put the mouse over the video so the buttons them become visible, and I do this a few times (or interact with the vide in any way like pausing or skipping), it will eventually stop responding, and I mean the whole of the YouTube page will stop responding (can't scroll down, can't load a different video, I can type in the address bar but pressing enter does bugger all, etc). The interaction with the video itself is what starts to cause the freezing. But like I said, if I have another tab open (I can't create a tab though), that will work fine... unless that's YouTube as well...
This post has been edited by redhotsonic: 16 May 2017 - 09:00 AM

#6 User is offline JaredAFX 

Posted 16 May 2017 - 03:56 PM

  • SonicManEXE
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • Project:Acquiring a taste for FREE FORM JAZZ
Yes, I have the same problem with YouTube. Even before this started happening, I had a feeling the overlay with the controls was what was causing the problem.

But the rest of the tabs still freeze. What I've figured out is that it will only affect one tab. I have a habit of placing my cursor on the tab I'm on, so I didn't realize previously that the rest of the tabs are fine while one is freezing. Maybe it's a compatibility thing (Chrome recently broke my theme which is part of the original set that Google released but it's fine on my Mac and my Win10 desktop), but who knows. This is just very frustrating.

EDIT: I thought it only affected one tab at a time, but that may not be true. When this tab with the forum, for example, freezes (which I can easily tell because I have the Parks and Rec gif in my sig), I can still switch between tabs, but that doesn't mean all of my tabs are usable. In fact, it seems like none of my tabs are interactive, even though I'm able to switch between them. So the entire browser isn't completely dead. I guess there's that.
This post has been edited by JaredAFX: 16 May 2017 - 04:28 PM

#7 User is offline JaredAFX 

Posted 24 May 2017 - 09:48 AM

  • SonicManEXE
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • Project:Acquiring a taste for FREE FORM JAZZ
I just want to post an update. Everything is fine now. I don't know what was going on, but everything is back to normal now. I did finally install that large Win10 update, so maybe that had something to do with it, but it didn't do anything immediately, so who knows.

#8 User is offline Lobotomy 

Posted 25 May 2017 - 11:25 AM

  • Meme War I Veteran
  • Posts: 4287
  • Joined: 22-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Traverse City
  • Project:Project: Matter/Energy
  • Wiki edits:94
What is the model?

Consider doubling your RAM and switching to a 512GB SSD, with your Hard Drive in a Sata III to USB caddy. I cannot emphasize well enough the night-and-day difference an SSD makes as your OS drive. Is there space in the chassis for a second drive? That would also do.

Also Windows 10 is pretty horrible in every way but RAM management. If you can hop back to W7 (and running aegis-voat-master available on github) or Linux, I would, but that's just a suggestion.
This post has been edited by Lobotomy: 25 May 2017 - 11:28 AM

#9 User is offline Irixion 

Posted 25 May 2017 - 07:59 PM

  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • Project:Life
  • Wiki edits:152
Just sync Chrome with your google account and then uninstall it. Clear all the cache and settings, then get a fresh re-install. I've had other issues with Chrome, so I'm not going to start blaming W10 like everyone else here :v. You could also have Resource Monitor open to see what exactly is bottle-necking when your system chokes.

#10 User is offline Lobotomy 

Posted 26 May 2017 - 01:19 PM

  • Meme War I Veteran
  • Posts: 4287
  • Joined: 22-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Traverse City
  • Project:Project: Matter/Energy
  • Wiki edits:94
That reminds me, Chrome is getting very fat lately. A lot of the slowdown may stem from that. It has used 30% of RAM on my system before, and I have 48GB!

#11 User is offline JaredAFX 

Posted 26 May 2017 - 03:09 PM

  • SonicManEXE
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-September 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
  • Project:Acquiring a taste for FREE FORM JAZZ
I believe my laptop does have a space for a second drive. I originally ordered this model (Dell Inspiron 7000 "Gaming' series, but the last model, not the one currently being sold on the website) with a touch screen, which of course has to mean 4K display. A 4K display on a 15" screen does not display things very nicely, and things that I use on a regular basis, too, like Steam, or really anything else. Everything was too small and even programs like VLC were broken, so I sent that one back and got this one, 1920x1080 no touch. Of course, the touch version had a additional SSD with the 1TB hard drive. I'll have to look into that and the RAM, because when even SA2 lags in certain places but you know the video card is capable of much more intense games at full quality, something else has to be swapped out.

#12 User is offline DustArma 

Posted 18 June 2017 - 07:30 PM

  • Posts: 1247
  • Joined: 27-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Project:Learning Python.

View PostJaredAFX, on 15 May 2017 - 09:00 PM, said:

I have a Windows 10 laptop from Dell. 15-inch 1920x1080 display, i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, GeForce GTX 960M w/ 4GB RAM, 1TB hard drive.


Is that an Inspiron 15 7559?

FYI, and this is unrelated to this but I think you should know anyway, the Inspiron 15 7559 model has a manufacturing defect where the left hinge comes loose and the laptop can open and break, I've seen it on 2 different models already and it seems to be a common issue.
This post has been edited by DustArma: 18 June 2017 - 07:31 PM

#13 User is offline PkR 

Posted 18 June 2017 - 08:50 PM

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 04-August 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:SADX Dreamcast Conversion, The Emeralds' Awakening

View PostJaredAFX, on 26 May 2017 - 03:09 PM, said:

I'll have to look into that and the RAM, because when even SA2 lags in certain places but you know the video card is capable of much more intense games at full quality, something else has to be swapped out.

This probably has more to do with the software side of things because I beat SA2 on a system with much lower specs and never had it go below 60FPS.
If your laptop has switchable graphics, make sure the games are running on the dedicated GPU (they often run on the integrated GPU by default), and Windows and GPU power profiles are configured for maximum performance.
Unless you're into running multiple VMs or something very specific that requires a lot of RAM, 8GB is just fine. My system has 12GB and I've never had the RAM usage go above 8GB even when gaming. My previous system had 6GB and it was just fine.
SSD will make a big difference though. Cold boot lasts less than 15 seconds (probably even faster on newer systems) and all programs start pretty much instantly. The difference is so major even the fastest HDD will seem too slow.
I'd also recommend installing Windows 7 or 8.1 rather than 10. On my current laptop with a GTX 850M Windows 7 has better framerate in OpenGL games than Windows 10.
This post has been edited by PkR: 18 June 2017 - 09:10 PM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users